We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickle Barrell

Pickle Barrell
133 E Hillsboro Blvd, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441-3535
954-427-0650
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 181 restaurants in Deerfield Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were staying at the DoubleTree and decided to have a bite to eat. I am familiar with this Deli and come by on our way going or coming from up north. Very good food, they will make it lean if you ask unlike some places, very clean and great people. Good value for the huge sandwiches.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    25
    11
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Real Deal NYC Deli in Deerfield Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

How lucky was I when I found this awesome NYC style corner deli on my first visit to DFB? From the outstanding favorable pastrami, the tender thinly sliced corn beef, the great tuna, chicken and egg salad sandwiches, this place is just plain delicious. The size of their sandwich menu in only exceeded by the size of the sandwiches themselves. I suggest doing take out, the atmosphere is simple sandwich shop and not real cozy, but it is very clean. Did I mention the rye bread?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It is not Katz's Deli in New York but it is Good !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Best Pastrami Sandwich in these parts for the prices and they have too many other selections to mention as well which are equally as good. If it is a Nice size sandwich you are looking for at lunch time this is the place but expect to wait a while as they do tend to get crowed because they are that good !!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best deli ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Pickle Barrel on Hillsboro Drive in Deerfield Beach - wow! Quirky little place with gigantic sandwiches, awesome salads and crunchy, garlicky homemade pickles.
They are your traditional NY deli - great breads, great meats, huge portions. Corned beef and pastrami are crazy good. The wife likes the hot corned beef. Even the meatball sub is huge - really good meatballs.
My favorite is the Italian Bird - a true italian sub on a hoagie. It has a mixture of chopped peppers on it - some sweet, some hot, all contributing to this being the best sub I have eaten in 45 years. It's so big....no really, will feed 2 people who are hungry.
Get some extra pickles - they are tasty. The potato salad is my favorite - great flavor.
They deliver up and down the beach - very speedy and accomodating. I really love this place - they have a great menu and lots of choices. www.picklebarrelfl.com

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“HOLY PASTRAMI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place makes HUGE sandwiches!!!
If the lines at lunch time are any indication of how good it is - it is a four star restaurant. The locals know!!!
I was blown away by the freshness and quality of the food.
It's a sandwich shop with long lines and no atmosphere but that's what the Pickle Barrel is!!!!
Bring your appetite!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickle Barrell also viewed

 
Deerfield Beach, FL
Deerfield Beach, FL
 

Been to Pickle Barrell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickle Barrell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.