We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love our HoJo's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2096 NE 2nd Street, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Deerfield Beach
Maplewood, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always love our HoJo's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stay at the Deerfield Beach HoJo's a few times a year and have been for the past 4 years. We used to stay at the Embassy Suites but find the HoJo's more centrally located and a lot more hopping. I can't say we have ever had a bad stay - the ocean front rooms are the best around, I haven't found a better location near Boca (where we visit relatives). The pier is great and we love walking on the beach and playing in the surf. Also, love the breakfast place at the end of the pier.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    723
    323
    71
    25
    22
See reviews for
425
382
50
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

The worse hotel I have been too in many many years ! The room (booked directly through the hotel's web site), supposedly their best, top floor, king bed, ocean front, was disgraceful. Reeked of urine. A/C (wall unit) smelled of mold. Ended up keeping the window open - to enjoy motorcycle noise and odor of overcooked food coming from the downstairs restaurant. Uncomfortable bed, 2 little pillows, 2 worn out towels... Bathroom was not clean. Hair, mildew, etc.

Low ceiling, dark corridor, rickety elevator. . Very uncaring attitude by front desk. Business center has 2 old PC's, printers out of ink. No one knows where the ink cartridges are....

Loby is a mess. small, 50's furnishings... at $285/night- a total rip off !

Skip the beach, stay someplace nicer or cheaper. This place does not deserve any traveller's business.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

Stayed at the Howard Johnson for eight days, my second visit in two years. The property is very well located, just across the street from the beautiful and well-kept Deerfield City beach. There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend JB's or Oceans 234. On both my visits I booked an eighth floor king room which I recommend for the great ocean views and also the higher floor rooms are more quiet than the lower floor rooms. This is a very busy and often crowded beach area so sometimes the noise and traffic is a bit much. The ocean front rooms are of average quality, but very clean and well-maintained. Housekeeping has always been excellent with the room always serviced before noon. The hotel's patio bar and restaurant was just remodeled and looks very nice. Unfortunately, the restaurant just had its grand re-opening and the two meals I had there were not that great. I brought a laptop computer with me this time and the free wireless internet in my room worked very well. Overall, I continue to highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

My husband and I knew we liked the Deerfield Beach area and had the opportunity to spend a night after a recent cruise. We were able to get a room at this newly renovated hotel for a reasonable rate and were very pleasantly surprized! We had an ocean view room with a king bed. Room had a microwave and bar fridge. Very clean. Staff at front desk and poolside bar were great. New pool area with large hot tub is very nice as is patio with super view of the wonderful beach. This property is steps away from great food (JB's and Whale Rib are wonderful!), an awesome beach and miles of walkway.
Nicest H.J. we have stayed at.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to take a chance on this hotel. Boy were we sorry we did.

Maybe they were just having a bad night but whatever could have gone wrong did go wrong. When we got to our room it had a strong smell of urine. We immediately complained and were switched to an ocean front room.

The second room smelled like disinfectant (which I guess is better than urine but still not pleasant). Though it smelled like disinfectant, I could hardly say it was clean.

Then we received a call that they were flushing the hot water. Little did we know that they were going to turn the water off completely for several hours so we had a hard time showering off after a day at the beach.

When the water did come back on it was brown for hours. Now if they had a problem, I cannot fault them for trying to fix it. But go up to the top floor and turn all the water on in all the rooms and the brown water will go away much faster. Also, if you're going to turn the water off, say that. Don't say you're merely flushing the hot water.

The location is convenient to the beach though there are nicer spots in Boca nearby. We were treated to motorcycles riding by most of the night as well as a nice loud domestic disturbance.

We changed hotels the next day.

In short, the hotel is in serious need of renovation, is not in the nicest neighborhood, and was not terribly clean.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I had my wedding here in May plus all my guests stayed for at least a week. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Our reception was excellently done, the staff were so enthusiastic and we all had fun with them. I could not have picked a better spot. Wonderful hotel, across from a gorgeous clean beach in a fantastic town atmosphere. I will definitely be returning and recommend anyone else going to Deerfield to do the same. A 5 star resort with 3 star prices and some of the nicest hotel staff I've met in FLorida. Thanks you guys, you really made our wedding a wonderful experience.
A and L Rowlands xx

  • Liked — Clean, the friendly staffa nd it was across the street from a great beach and fishing pier.
  • Disliked — The party ends at midnight.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel July 5-7. What a great experience. The hotel was clean, the staff were extremely nice and helpful and the location can't be beat. You walk out the front lobby and are within steps of a beautiful beach. The pool and jacuzzi were very nice and relaxing and for use of guests of the hotel only which kept it private and great to take a dip in after being on the beach all day. We did not have to get in our car for the three days we were there, everything is within walking distance. What a relaxing three days for my family.

  • Liked — so close to the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort

Address: 2096 NE 2nd Street, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Deerfield Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning new Oceanfront resort with incredible views, beach access and Ocean-side dining.  Just 33 footsteps from the pristine Deerfield Beach. This 8-story hotel is conveniently located 5 minutes from Boca Raton, 25 minutes from Fort Lauderdale, 40 minutes from Palm Beach and 1 hour from Miami.  Within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and nightlife, the resort features include: Oceanfront guestrooms and Deluxe Suites with awe-inspiring views of the Atlantic, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with Ocean views, fitness center, on-site bar and grill, banquet facilities, complimentary WIFI and wired Internet.  Unbeatable hospitality makes this a perfect romantic, family or social event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Hotel Deerfield Beach
Howard Johnson Deerfield Beach
Deerfield Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.