We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Isle Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deerfield Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Isle Beach Resort
Save
You added Tropic Isle Beach Resort to your Saves list
370 SE 20th Ave A1A, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Deerfield Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenience and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed at the Tropic Isle for a week while visiting family. This is a great little family-owned hotel! Joe and Linda are super nice and very responsive. All units come with kitchens which is convenient as you can make your own meal - grocery stores are nearby. The hotel is a block away from the beach, you don't need to cross any major roads to walk there - very convenient! We could walk to the beach in our swim suits and run back to grab any forgotten items (or beach chairs, which the hotel supplies for free!).

The value is amazing - especially when you realize that all beach parking costs money, and you have free parking a block away from a gorgeous beach! There was always plenty of parking.

I must say I really enjoyed the pool - they keep the pool clean and very warm - a comfy 91 degrees! The property is older but well maintained and quiet, it was nice that all the guests were respectful and there weren't any obnoxious kids running around - loved it.

To set expectations - the rooms are older but the kitchens have been nicely remodeled with tile and granite. Kitchens include a full fridge, an oven, a microwave, and dishes are stocked! Bathroom fixtures are older but functional. There is some fluctuation in water temperature though (your hot shower may turn cold suddenly). The bed is comfortable but the bedding is not the best so bring PJs. Lots of clean towels! Bring your own hairdryer and shampoo - the hotel does not carry those.

The only suggestion I would leave for Jo and Linda is to offer recycling bins. I felt guilty throwing away empty plastic water bottles, paper or soda cans - all those can be recycled but there were no facilities at the hotel.

We will definitely stay again if Jo and Linda are still the managers at this property! It felt very comfortable, convenient, and a great value!!! Thank you for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

To say this is a "resort", is truly an overstatement. This is simply a 50 year old, 12 unit, former apartment building/motel. It is typically rented for multiple weeks and even months during the winter season, although there are short-term guests.

On the positive side, the property has a very nice pool, and is one block from the best beach location in the area where there are many places to eat, drink, and shop within walking distance. In addition, the on-site property managers are nice people, and many of the winter guests have been there before and are also nice people.

On the negative side, I had to change rooms twice during my 10 week stay, which I understand was the case for other long-term guests as well. This seems to be an organization and planning issue on the side of the PM's. So I stayed in 3 and visited guests in 2 other of the 12 total rooms. In general, the rooms are old and run down. Just about everything is 50 years old; sinks, toilets, faucets, doorknobs, etc. The windows leak badly, rattle in high winds, and allow lots of outside noise. While the exterior of the property doesn't look too bad, during my 10 week stay, the grass was only cut once, weeds often over-run the landscape beds, and the sight of guests hanging their laundry to dry, including bras and panties is not aesthetically pleasing.

Specifically, it seems there are problems with all he rooms I saw. It's apparent that a thorough "walkthrough" of a room is not done before a new guest arrives. The rooms were not really clean. There were leaking faucets, running toilets, lights not working, TV remotes needing batteries, etc. Some of the problems are not being fixed. Guests are asked to accept it. The last room I was in had a refrigerator that had a major condensation problem, causing large amounts of water to pool at the bottom. At times it would leak out and form puddles on the floor. The PM's simply suggested adjusting the thermostat, which I did with no success. I almost fell after stepping in water one time.

The place is for sale, and the word is that money is not available for repairs. You can do better!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicis, manager at Tropic Isle Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
To TripAdvisor
We would like to respond to a complaint sent in by CLARKSTON TERRY on 02/08/10.
More than 1/2 of our guests visit us because of TripAdvisors honest reviews, For some reason one of our guests will send in a review that has some untruths or twisted facts.
The writer writes that he had to move 2 or 3 times during his stay. Every guest is told when he inquires about an extended stay how many moves he will have to make. This is before 1 cent is asked or taken from the guest. He definately knew about the moves beforehand because he was here the year before and also had moves.
We have a 90 % return rate because our guests feel the Tropic Isle as a home away from home. We are like family . Even our long time guests had to move until there was a cancellation and they could stay in the room with no moves. Once you are in with no moves the apartment is yours for life or until you cancel out.
The writer states the building is old. It is but we do our best to respond immediately and correct any problem such as replacing a battery in a remote or replace a light bulb in a lamp which the writer also complained about. The are replace within minutes. No guest has ever sat in the dark because we did not replace a light or not watch tv because we did not replace a battery in the remote.
Being that most guests are like family , we leave the storage rooms open and they can help themselves to any item they might need. Even this writer used our tools to work on his truck while staying here.
He then goes on to claim that the windows leak and rattle in high winds. Only one room had a leaky window last year and that was the writers room. No other room has ever had a leaky window in the 6 years we have been here. We even upgraded the guest to a bigger room at no extra charge. As far as the windows rattle in high winds, we can only say that we had between 25 and 40 knot winds this year. Not only did a couple windows rattle during these high gusts but the chairs and anything not nailed down outside was blown around. The he wrote about broken doorknobs. We did have two bathroom doorknobs break in two days. This was not in the writers room but found out about it because we told him that in 6 years here that was the first door knobs that ever broke. They were replace as soon as the guests called us. Even one of our friends who own a resort had to change a door knob because it broke. How do plan for this?
Then he questions bras and panties being hung up to dry not very pleasing to look at. We have a clothes line in back of our property which is behind our back building. IT CANNOT BE SEEN BY ANYONE UNLESS THEY WALK BEHIND THE BUILDING TO WASH CLOTHES. We enjoy and like that our guest feel so much at home here that they do not think twice about doing what they would nornmally at home. You have to under stand that at our resort everyone is treated like family not a guest. The writer then claims that he almost slipped in a puddle of water that leaked out of his refrigator. When he told us we immediately walked in to his room. We opened the refrigator in front of him and noticed 3 cases of liquids had been put in refrigator. THen we notice that the cold setting was on its lowest setting almost off. He stated that he must have hit it when he put the cases in refrigator. He said he will watch it for a couple of days. 2 days later he informed us that the problem was corrected and no water was on floor. This was stated in front of guests.
He then claims that the resorrt is for sale and that is why we do not make repairs. How much does a battery for a remote or a light bulb for a lamp, or a door know cost. Beleive me the ownere loves when we keep the resort in good shape. The reason the resort is for sale is personal reasons, nothing to do with repairs.
He then claims that most of our guests do not do a walk through. They do not need to because TripAdvisor does it for them with there their honest reviews. We feel if a guest is unhappy they will let you know like this writer did. We never ask our guest to write tripadvisor because we want honest reviews not ones that they sent in to you to make us happy.
He evens questions why we call our place a resort. To my Family and our Family of Friends who visit us each year this is better than a hotel or motel. We have dinner with our guests, They are invited into our home . We have wine and cheese with them. When they leave everyone hugs and gives best wishes to everyone. Did you ever get this at other hotels or motels? We do everything a family does together and that is why we call our home a RESORT.
We want our guests to feel that we are people who care for them and treat them like family. We do not want any unhappy guest on the property. They can go else where. This guest is no longer welcomed on the property, not because he wrote to you but because he is not happy here. The strangest part of all is this writer has already reserved for next year. How unhappy was he .
Thank you very much
Joseph & Linda & Jo'Lynn Augustine
Proud Managers of a Family Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I'd been coming to Deerfield for year with my girlfriends and finally decided to show my family how great it is. We always stayed with a friend's family so I've never used a hotel there. I'd read the great reviews here and was not disappointed! The resident managers were wonderful. They met us at the car and insisted on helping us with our luggage when we got there pretty late in the evening. They made you feel like you were staying with family. Our daughter who was 9 at the time really enjoyed playing with their daughter. It was like taking a friend on vacation! We had the efficiency apartment with a huge veranda off the back with a view and half block walk to the beach. A great deal. If you want ultra fancy with 300 people in the pool next to you, then maybe this isn't right but if you want something that is clean and comfortable and gives you everything you need, stay here! I should have gotten on here long ago to write a review. My friend reminded me because I've gushed to her about the place and she just asked me again because she's coming down so I thought it was time.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Joe and Linda were warm and welcoming proprietors who made me feel very comfortable. The efficiency unit was immaculate and every convenience wa sat my fingertips. I enjoyed its proximity to the beach, shops on the main street and the lovely swimming pool. A real bargain for the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed in July and are coming back in November. Joe and Linda are just "Great Folks" We can't remember feeling so at home in any of our travels all over the world. With family living in the area we travel here often and the discovery of this little gem was wonderful.
Everything is spotless and well maintained.
The only reason we would not reccommend this place is that if too many of you find out how great it is we won't be able to get a room.
Please tell Joe and Linda you heard about them here but don't book our weeks.

  • Liked — Joe and Linda
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floersheim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Traveling Deerfield Beach since almost 23 years having spent my time at different locations over there I can just recommend a stay in a definitely nice and charming place to be found close to the beaches. This is the Tropic Isle Beach Resort, professionally managed by Joe and Linda Augustine since a few years. Pretty warm and friendly people who gives their guests some feeling of being family members. They are always on the run and do their best to answer all requests and to fulfil all wishes. They even organize B-B-Q´s for the vacationers sometimes. The resort is clean and fully equipped and excellent shopping , dining and golfing is nearby. Last but not least it is to be mentioned that the managers "have an eye" on those who ask for vacancy, what in the end is useful to ensure the high standard of this resort. There is no reason not to come back yearly.

Doc Holliday, Floersheim, Germany

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

My wife, me and our two children stayed this year in August for 3 weeks in the Tropic Isle Beach Resort and we really loved it. This was our third stay at this resort.

Joe & Linda, the Managers, and Jo’Lynn their daughter, treated us like family members. If we have any questions or problems, Joe and Linda help wherever they can.

We like to stay there because we feel like at home.
All you need for a great vacation is you and your clothes.
Everything else, such as towels, beach towels, beach chairs, etc. you will find there.

We can only recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Isle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Isle Beach Resort

Address: 370 SE 20th Ave A1A, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deerfield Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Isle Beach Resort is a well cared for older beachside resort with recently remodeled rooms and a beautifully maintained Palm-filled courtyard. With only 15 studio and one room apartments, we take extra care of our guests as if your were family. We are less than 100 yards away from the award winning "Blue Wave" beach in Deerfield Beach, Florida, as well as just a few blocks from the Pier, the shops and restaurants. Our heated pool is always a welcomed relief and a great place to unwind. Tropic Isle Beach Resort suites are all non-smoking. We strive to make Tropic Isle a perfect place to stay! We are a favorite vacation destination for everyone. Come and enjoy our wonderful tropical weather, and our beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Isle Beach Hotel Deerfield Beach
Tropic Isle Beach Deerfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Isle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.