We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good breakfast but slooowwww internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 West Hillsboro Blvd., Deerfield Beach, FL 33441   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book AAA and Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Deerfield Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good breakfast but slooowwww internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn and the staff was very friendly. The room was big with a fridge and microwave. The service was good but the internet is the slowest I have ever seen. They have 2 stations where you can read your e-mails but it can take easily 5 minutes to load a page. So if internet is important for you , stay somewhere else.
They do have a nice pool outside and you can do laundry on-site also.

There wasn't any restaurant close so you would need a car for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello farm2099,

Internet connectivity is extremely important and because of that we are changing our standard and some equipment on site to aid and add to a better outcome then the one you experienced. As of this posting were are 90% near completing our revamping of our system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, but thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
64
65
12
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Based on my family's recent experience, this is a well-run hotel with a manager dedicated to making the hotel's guests feel welcome. My wife and I recently stayed here with our two young boys for a week. We booked what we thought was a suite through hotels.com (big mistake, but that's a different story). When we got to the hotel late in the evening, we were placed in a regular room and not the larger suite we believed we had booked. The next morning, my wife politely explained our disappointment to the hotel's manager, James Lalanne, and he couldn't have been more accommodating. He promptly moved us to a larger room and whenever he saw us around the hotel throughout the rest of our stay, he made a point of asking us how everything was going. Another nice touch was on the morning of Valentine's Day, Mr. Lalanne walked around the breakfast area handed a rose to each female guest. A nice little touch to bring smiles to guests' faces. The rest of the staff was equally friendly to our kids throughout the week, no doubt following their manager's lead.

As for the actual hotel, it's about what you expect with a Hampton Inn. It's not the Four Seasons, but it is clean, the rooms are decent, the service is friendly, and the free breakfast is a nice bonus (especially with young kids). The location is a little odd, nestled between some office buildings, but it's only a 10-minute drive to Deerfield Beach and a 2-minute drive to I-95. The pool is nothing too swanky, but certainly nice enough.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again, especially with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed overnight on a Saturday before taking family to the Ft. Lauderdale airport. The hotel was filled with young people, dressed to the nines, and I groaned at the thought of getting no sleep while they ran up and down the halls all night. I had heard the desk clerk on the phone when I checked in that the hotel was full that night. Thankfully, the group was quiet and I got a good night's sleep on the usual comfy Hampton Inn bed. My room was huge, with a sofa, two side chairs, a coffee table, desk and desk chair, refrigerator and microwave, plus the king size bed. It was clean and the air conditioner wasn't too noisy.

This hotel is in the back of a corporate business park, so it would be easy to miss the entrance if you didn't know where it is. But it is very convenient to I-95, although there don't seem to be too many restaurants nearby. Not being familiar with the area, it was a trial to drive in the dark, but we found a Boston Market that fit the bill for our needs.

The man at the desk was very friendly and helpful at check-in, although he was busy. The man in the breakfast room was very friendly, too, and very efficient. The breakfast was a typical Hampton Inn breakfast (which I happen to like), and there was a lot of it.

I would stay here again if I was in the area. It seems to be more of a corporate hotel catering to groups on the weekends. Luckily, our group was quiet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and just great. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Rooms were great. Would stay there everytime. Great location 10 minutes from the beach. Near restaurants. Pool area was great

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just a completely underwhelming experience . . . the bad points (and there weren't any good ones):

1) Dated decor - they really need to upgrade the hard and soft goods.
2) Bad desk chair - old fabric, no arms, terrible seat - had to use the other chair instead.
3) Slow staff - lines at check-in, no sense of urgency, no speed at all.
4) Horrendous internet speed - I was basically unable to work. They have an old network that is still up and running; when I complained about it they told me to use a different one which was faster (then why is the old one still up?), but it was only slightly faster. It's the overall network because it took me 5 minutes to access and print a boarding pass on the lobby business computer.
5) Carpet was filthy - not visually, but when I took my morning shower dirt ran off my feet as if I had been outside barefoot.
6) Weak breakfast - rubbery, processed "omlette" and "bagel tops" that were just awful. I know these are common at HI's but they are just bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Frank C,

Thanks for taking the timeout to share with us some of your findings at our property. He is what we are doing to address some of your findings.
1) Dated decor - they really need to upgrade the hard and soft goods. Bad desk chair - old fabric, no arms, terrible seat - had to use the other chair instead.
a. WE WILL BE RENOVATED SHORTLY – STARTING JUNE TO BE EXACT.
2) Slow staff - lines at check-in, no sense of urgency, no speed at all.
a. OUR STAFF HAS BEEN TRAINING USING ROLE PLAYING SCENARIOS – INCLUDING USING YOU EXAMPLE TO MAKE THEM BETTER UNDERSTAND, HOW A SPEEDIER CHECK-IN PROCESS ENHANCES THE GUEST EXPERIENCE.
3) Horrendous internet speed - I was basically unable to work. They have an old network that is still up and running; when I complained about it they told me to use a different one which was faster (then why is the old one still up?), but it was only slightly faster. It's the overall network because it took me 5 minutes to access and print a boarding pass on the lobby business computer.
a. WE ARE IN THE FINAL STAGES OF AN ENTIRE HSIA REVAMP. SO THAT EXPERIENCE SHOULD BECOME NONEXISTENT AT OUR PROPERTY.
We are proud to report that… all your observation are either in the final stages of being addressed or they have been addressed completely!

Our most sincerest apologies for your findings, but your feedback will help ensure that no other of our valued guest make these same findings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Typically nice Hampton Inn property but a bit pricey.
Clean, service-oriented, conveniently located.
Very nice pool area, limited work-out room, good complimentary breakfast.
WiFi was easy to access and above average in speed.
Check in was smooth and friendly. Check out was excellent in all respects.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed here MANY times, once for more than a month. The breakfast is disgusting and limited, and the internet is slower than dial up. AT&T (servicer) said they couldn't do anything about it because there was just not enough bandwidth for the hotel network. The doors are often messed up and you have to slam them to shut them. A bathroom light was out the entire month I was there recently. Also, getting in and out of the hotel parking lot is quite inconvenient. I will say the staff is friendly. Overall, I'd avoid this hotel if it wasn't so close to work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello GatorCraig09,

We are currently revamping our entire wireless HSIA system and slow connection speeds will be a thing of the past. Also, we are due to renovate our guest rooms come July so that should clear up your other findings. Again our most sincerest of apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach

Address: 660 West Hillsboro Blvd., Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Deerfield Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach Hotel Deerfield Beach
Hampton Inn Deerfield Beach
Deerfield Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.