We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of the pier and beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JB's On The Beach

JB's On The Beach
300 NE 21st Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
954-571-5220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JB's On The Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hillsboro
Transit: There is a public bus stop just a few feet from our restaurant entrance.
Description: JBs on the beach offers the best service, food, and views of the Atlantic ocean in south Florida. We are a classy casual restaurant and bar with an upbeat atmosphere. We offer breakfast on the weekends, a great menu selection, fantastic happy hour in our bar areas with $5 appetizer menu, and live entertainment nightly. Whether you are looking for a place to entertain guests, clients, or a great view of the full moon, JBs on the beach is the place to be and is perfect for any occasion. JBs on the beach...what could be better than this?
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good view of the pier and beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Late night meal in Deerfield Beach. The food was OK and the service was about the same. In the day you could have a nice view of the beach.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    189
    71
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprise on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were looking for casual beach dining and JB's was recommended to us by a colleague who lives in the area. Well, JB's very large patio is definitely on the beach, as in "step off the patio and sink your toes in the sand" on the beach. The inside restaurant resembles a 80's-style brasserie so definitely call ahead to make a reservation outside on the covered patio.

The food was better than I expected and I noticed they were feeding plenty of locals, not just catering to tourists. The fish was fresh and the sauces/seasonings were more creative than your typical beach restaurant. The prices did reflect this, but we got what we paid for in a beautiful location. We weren't drinking much that night, but understand that the bartenders here have a great reputation for giving you your money's worth!

Unfortunately, our waiter wasn't the best, but I didn't see his lack of performance as an indication of the overall level of service, since other servers were VERY attentive and picked up the slack.

Overall, it was a great night and an excellent meal. We will definitely return and plan to stay later for live music and dancing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great fun on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We liked the lively atmosphere, great value and fun and tasty food. We ate outside and it has the right amount of hustle and bustle to create a fun vibe. The mixed drinks are great and all are fairly priced.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The blackened mahi was delicious! The crab cakes were great and the banana coconut cream pie was worth the calories.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice lunch on a busy Friday. Despite being busy, service was very good...fast friendly, and we ordered at our pace. Conch chowder was good...large bowl so we shared. Rocket flat bread was very good. You're tempted to take off some of the arugula but it adds a nice taste and texture. Special pastrami sandwich with mustard onions on pretzel bread was very tasty and interesting. Coconut shrimp was average. Key lime pie was an okay imitation of true key lime pie. Overall a nice experience in a great setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to JB's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.