We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT UP TO PAR FOR A TIME SHARE RESORT.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

Avalon Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deerfield Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Resort
Save
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
735 SE 20th Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Deerfield Beach
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“NOT UP TO PAR FOR A TIME SHARE RESORT.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed at time share resorts but this one was a total dissapointment. Location was across the street, one block away from the beach. That was fine. Size of room and cleanliness good. Reception reminds me of a low class motel unlike others I have been to that were much better to say the least. . Nice pool but nothing else. I was up at 5.30 every morning because the light was glaring through the vertical blinds right
in the way of the bed, which by the way was horrible. very sunken in and uneven. I have no idea how anyone would buy a share in this property. I was given a shopping bag with one little bar of soap, 1 shampoo sample and conditioner. They give you rules that are very tacky. There were no other annemities other than the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am very glad we booked the Avalon before reading some of these reviews. I feel as if I went through Alice's looking glass for our experience was very different from qtrready. Our room was clean, fresh and spacious. The kitchen, while small, had new counter tops and cupboards and was well equipped. We used the oven, stove top and microwave and never lacked for tools. The dishes were amazingly lovely. No, there is no dishwasher, but really, is it so hard to wash the kinds of dishes you use on vacation? We were well supplied with dish detergent, towels, etc. You could always ask if you needed more. The check in was quick and efficient and neutral in tone. As the week progressed we got to know the ladies in the office and they were friendly and chatty - once you were a real person, not just an unknown. The guests at the Avalon are welcoming but no one forces themselves on you if you prefer to read or swim quietly. Many are repeats. Nice balance. We had a studio with a high ceiling which made it feel so lovely and airy. Bathroom is older but everything worked well and it was functional. So many towels, we had to put a few away in the closet. Towels are exchanged during the week. Pool was clean and warm and we could always get deck chairs (an issue in many places). The Avalon is located just one block from the glorious beach. We walked for hours as well as using the beach to sit and swim. There are many restaurants nearby (although we self catered most of the time, Publix is not far, and there are other small markets around too.) Very high end mall in nearby Boca if you want to spend money! The only downside for us was the wifi was spotty, but we found ways to manage this. We have rebooked for next year, and when we did so the ladies took time to really discuss the best room choice(s) for our needs.
After reading some of the other reviews I looked for plastic flowers (I was oblivious), there are some, but they don't fill a room, they don't clutter the office, etc. so maybe they have been reduced. My husband, who hates fake flowers, did say (when I asked) that he had noticed them.
The office is clearly a working office, as opposed to a sterile front desk with a hidden office, but that working office makes a small non chain resort work well. I would rather have clutter and a good week than sterile hotel with hidden disappointments. In a way I hate to fill out this review as Avalon is a hidden gem, and we don't want to compete for the few available rooms (most owners use their weeks so only a little is free in high seasons). :-) However, they deserve acknowledgement.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Avalon every year for 12 years. It has gotten a lot nicer. They are very nice rooms, ours was newly redone. With a ocean view right across the street, we love it. You can walk right across to the beach, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I hate to have to write a not so great review of the Avalon resort. However, I feel compelled to do so, since my stay got off to a very rocky start. It is on a very rare occasion that I will write a review that isn't good to great. BTW: What makes me credible as a hotel reviewer? I have a Master of Science in Hotel and Tourism Management from the University of New Orleans. Both I and New Orleans knows hospitality.

1. First off, I read the review about the remodeling, painting, new furniture, and no more plastic plants. I called to confirm that this was the case. I even asked if all of the rooms had been remodeled and was told that they were.
2. After driving 900 miles by myself, I arrived in Deerfield and the Avalon at 1:15PM. My first thoughts upon entering the office: "so much for the plastic flowers", they were everywhere, cheap plastic poinsettias. As I walked into the lobby (which is nothing more than an entrance to foyer with a chest high counter between you and the front desk person. I looked to the left and there was a whole room full of cheap silk and dried flowers. There were so many another small business may have been run out of this particular room. It iis Florida. Any type of flowers or greenery will grow there. Fake flowers are just cheap and tacky.
3. The office needs to be cleaned out and all the paper clutter gives off a bad impression. In the hospitality industry we call it "the moment of truth" when someone arrives at their destination and that person gets their first impression of a hotel or restaurant. "The moment of truth" can be good or bad depending on that person's expectations and perceptions. There is only one "moment of truth" that cannot be reversed. Unfortunately, my "moment of truth" with the Avalon Resort was not good.
3. My "moment of truth" was an immediate disappointment, because I was met with plastic flowers, a cluttered office, and an older woman named Kim, whose first words spoken to me was "You Are WAYYY Early". My reply: " I would'nt say, "way" early at 1:15 PM" . How about saying something like "did you just drive in from New Orleans? That is a really long drive. I am not sure if your room is ready, but I will check. If it's not ready, maybe you could take a walk on the beach or go to lunch and it will be ready upon your return. Why don't I go ahead and check you in, that way you will be good to go when you return."
4. Kim immediately said my room was not ready and the only way for her to give me a room was to switch it to a room that I was not originally assigned. I mentioned that the person on the phone and the tripadvisor ad said all the rooms had been remodeled with new carpet, new granite countertops and had new furniture. Her reply, "well, we try to put a new piece of furniture in every year, the carpet was replaced three years ago, and that they loved to decorate" with silk and dried flowers.
5. I asked if I could see the room first and this made the woman down right angry. I have played many a dog and pony show where the front desk person takes a disliking to you and he or she will end up giving you the worst room in the house. Especially, if the room is booked through Hotwire or RCI. We walked into the one bedroom and I was bombarded with some kind of floral bouquet that I later found out was 2 aroma therapy plug ins. The smell was overwhelming making me think they were trying to mask the smell of the unit. I asked her about a balcony room (again she gave me attitude) and she showed me the worst room ever, it obviously was not even in use, since the refrigerator was unplugged and there nothing new in the room. I mean nothing! I told her I would take the other room. Also, each time she showed me a room, she would not get on the elevator with me and told me to ride up and she would meet me there. Strange.
6 By this time I was having an anxiety attack because my vacation had just taken me in the wrong direction. I called RCI and unfortunately they could not book me anywhere else in the area. . The customer service rep asked me what was going on and I told her "the lady and I were still not communicating". While I was on the phone with RCI, Kim stated that "you came in here and demanded new furniture". Trust me I never demanded anything.
7. Once I got into the room, it was indeed large, but there was not a dishwasher and I don't like to do dishes on vacation. The kitchen table and chairs were the metal type that one would play a game of cards on. The living room furniture was nice and there was a HDTV that does not have HD, only basic cable. Plus I was never given the code for the internet and since the front desk lady was so rude, I was afraid to go down and ask.
8. Now, just a couple of more gripes before I get to the "good". The pool was supposed to be heated, but it was cold my entire stay. I also did not care for having to go to the office everyday to get beach towels (a mixed matched assortment, where most were just old bathroom towels, not big enough to cover you up when you get out of the water at the end of November,).
9. The bed was awful. The pillows were not good either. They were so flat that I hurt my neck, shoulder, and upper arm due to problems with my cervical spine. It may take months to heal. Yes, I awoke to a stiff neck from that bed and flat pillows.
10. Did they really need to put up Christmas lights all over the compound. They should have used the money to put some plants in some pots.
11. Now the good. Close to deerfield beach, boca raton beach, and ft. lauderdale. The weather wad decent and the water was still warm enough to get in the ocean. Any colder and the ocean would have been be too cold for me.
12. I tried to stay away from the front desk for the rest of my visit. Overall, I had a good time despite the rocky beginning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just stayed at the Avalon (August 2012) and had to add some comments. The pool deck and all walkways were recently redone in a beautiful, non-slippery marble. Everything has been repainted both inside and out and there is all new carpet in all rooms. All the one bedrooms have new furniture that is very pretty, soft and comfy. The building is old but well maintained and immaculate. The pool is small but clean and updated. The plastic flowers are gone. There is a nice putt putt golf area and picnic tables with new gas grills in the back. Bikes are available for free. We stayed in a very spacious one bedroom on the second floor that was quiet and had a lovely view of plants and trees out the living and bedroom windows. The kitchen had new granite countertops and modern metal tile backsplash. All rooms have a full, well furnished kitchen. The bath also had a new granite countertop and nice fixtures. Don't expect to be staying at a luxury resort, but this is a bargain. It is a few steps from a terrific beach and there are restaurants and activities galore within a very short drive.

Room Tip: Large one bedroom/2 bath is Ok for small families as they are spacious and have pull out sofa. Effi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We just got back from a short stay at the Avalon in Deerfield Beach. We booked here because we had an RCI coupon that was going to expire, so this was the best we could find before our kids went back to school.

Although the room was clean, the hotel was generally old (50's), run down and decrepit. Clearly, it needs to be knocked down or a complete gut renovation. The carpets were stained; the paint job was awful; the drains were clogged; there was an odor in the room; and everything was just old, rusty and nasty.

Oh and the pool: once again, clean, but I've seen bigger hot tubs... And get this: the garden had plastic flowers! Actually, old plastic flowers that were starting to wilt or melt.....

During our stay, only three or four rooms in the whole place were occupied. Apparently, everybody else got the memo. Why didn't we?

When we got there, the first thing my wife and I did was scour the place for vermin--my wife had a prior incident in another RCI property -- but thankfully the Avalon was OK (as I said, it was clean!). We then gave careful consideration to moving to another hotel. But we ultimately decided to stay and make the best of it, using this hotel as a subject lesson for our kids before going back to school -- If you don't work hard in school and get good grades and go to college, this is where you going to vacation when you grow up.... Good lesson; and they heard it loud and clear.

On a positive note, we enjoyed Deerfield Beach. Great beach, nice people, good restaurants -- especially the Mona Lisa Cafe, which was the best! We would return to Deerfield Beach, but not the Avalon.

And RCI, what a waste!! Absolutely never again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobo77bobo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

My son and I had a studio for one week in March 2009. I didn't know what to expect other than previous reviews on the internet. We had room K3 on the second level tucked in the corner of the building. The building is fairly old on the outside but is well maintained. The studio itself was very nice and comfortable. It appeared to have been recently renovated. The paint was off white and light and airy. The furnishings were tasteful and nothing was broken. The carpet was light and very clean. There was a fan in the living area and kitchen. The bathtub/shower looked brand new and the water pressure was great. The kitchen was adequate if you plan on cooking which I did. The refrigerator was small but worked fine. You have to fill the ice trays with water. There was an assortement of pots and pans for cooking and plates and bowls. I never had a problem getting more paper towels, toilet paper, etc...I would keep the door open once in awhile and a wonderful breeze would circulate from the kitchen window throughout the studio. The beach was one block away but you have to cross a busy two lane road called S. Ocean Drive or the A1A. The walk along the beach to the Deerfield beach pier is about 3/4 of a mile. The beach front is well maintained and thoroughly enjoyable to walk, sit on benches, and get a tan on the sand. I would definately stay at the Avalon again. I would upgrade to a one bedroom for more room but the studio was fine for two people.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropic Isle Beach Resort
Tropic Isle Beach Resort
#2 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Oceanside
Comfort Inn Oceanside
#13 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield Beach
Hampton Inn Boca Raton-Deerfield...
#6 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 735 SE 20th Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Location: United States > Florida > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Deerfield Beach
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.