We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Awesome Resort Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Resort Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carriage House Resort Motel to your Saves list
Carriage House Resort Motel
250 S.E. 20th Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Major Renovations Done
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Deerfield Beach
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Awesome Resort Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Carriage House Resort Motel exceeded all my expectations. The owner's take pride in their business and it shows. The prices are beyond reasonable. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, and well appointed. The grounds beautifully landscaped. The staff friendly and accommodating. I loved my one bedroom efficiency, I could see the ocean from my kitchen window. I couldn't ask for more. It's the perfect place for a vacation.

Room Tip: One bedroom efficiencies are fabulous. Everything you need is provided, right down to dish liquid a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    38
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
48
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Yes close to the beach. Don't stay here unless you want to get soaked. I stayed there. They asked me to switch rooms. I did because I wanted to be nice. They decided to charged me for 2 rooms . When I challenged them on it they threatened to call the police and turned off my hot water. There are other options. Choose any other place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daencro, General Manager at Carriage House Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
The Carriage House Resort has been under the same management for over 11 years. Our top priorities are to offer clean, comfortable accommodations in an inviting, friendly atmosphere at a fair price. The staff takes great pride in providing the service that guests expect and is always ready to assist in making their experience more pleasant. Our reviews show that most of our guests find that the Carriage House Resort does provide accommodations together with the service that meet their expectations to the point that most of them return year after year. We are members of the Superior Small Lodgings Association which is an organization that only accept small properties that meet very strict guidelines in cleanliness and offer accommodations and level of service that pass very thorough yearly inspections done by independent hotel inspectors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here our second time- June 28 to July 1, 2014. Our first stay we had a 1 bedroom suite (May 2013) and this time we had an efficiency. While this is not a modern fancy dressed up near beach hotel, what it does have it does very well. WiFi is free and great signal, each room has its own central air, most rooms have a refrigerator, free parking for 1 car, 2 minutes from the beach, and an excellent small pool. Rooms were very clean. Beds very firm. We were lucky to stay on the back side where it is more private. Smoking is allowed in all outside locations. Plenty of outdoor seating. I feel it is better for the independent traveler that has a car. 5 minutes walk there is a Subway Sandwich shop and Haagen Dazs. Further away is the best gelato I have had since Venice Italy, and still further restaurants and small shops (walkable IF you can stand the heat) If you have children, and there were some there, there is only the pool to entertain them. Couples on a budget or couples on a getaway weekend I can recommend.

Room Tip: adjust wifi adapter to B only mode to connect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daencro, General Manager at Carriage House Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with noisy guests next to the pool very late one night. This behavior is not acceptable at the Carriage House Resort. The office closes at 8:00 PM but we have a resident manager that lives in the premises. When the office is closed the resident manager will see that everything is under control and is also ready to assist guests with any emergency or complaint that is brought to his attention. The emergency phone numbers are inside every room next to the telephone. We encourage guests to call the night manager to report any situation that requires our attention. That night the night manager didn't notice anything, no calls were received from any guest and the next morning no one reported anything unusual. If it had been reported we would have contacted the persons responsible and asked for them to be sensitive to the fact that they behavior was bothering other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. The first night was pleasant and I had a good night's sleep. The second day, was fine. It was a little noisy in the afternoon and early evening as there were many children at the pool, which is to be expected. The last night was awful. There was a loud group at the pool until 11pm. I finally fell asleep, but was awoken at 2am by some rowdy guests who were drinking by the pool. They stayed until after 3am. The front desk of the motel is staffed until 8pm. There is no staff at the motel overnight, only a number to call in case of emergency.

I stayed in a King Efficiency room. It was large with a full kitchen including stove, kitchen, and microwave. The room and bathroom was very clean. The rate is very reasonable, significantly less than the other hotels in the area. It is a three minutes walk to the ocean and five to ten minute walk to the Deerfield Beach Pier and many good restaurants.

Although I was liked the motel given the price and quality of the room, I would not stay here again. The lack of overnight staff to make sure the guests are quiet at night. If you have children and noise does not bother you, this motel would be a good value option. If you do not have children and/or are looking for a quiet stay, this is not the motel for you.

Room Tip: Rooms 13, 14 and 15 are set back from the pool with the office in between. They are the quietest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The place is wonderful. We were there for more than a week and everything was what we were looking for.
Very clean and well maintained.
The hotel is just steps from the beach. Easy walk to supermarket.
We wished we were staying longer.
The staff are very friendly especially Suzana she helped us in everything we needed.
We strongly recommended to stay there.
Cris & Ossie

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

You know that national chain advertised by Tom Something-or-other that says they have a clean, comfortable room and they'll leave the lights on? Carriage House fits that description. It's not new. It's not flashy. It does not feature designer beds or a pillow menu. But it does the job if you need a clean basic place to stay. One block off the beach, about 3 blocks away from the center of the action at Deerfield Beach. I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the Boca Raton Resort & Club, and would do it again because of the relative cost savings over most of the other hotels in the area.

This property seems to have a lot of "well seasoned" (old) international visitors staying for 1-3 weeks at a time. Avoid the impulse to initiate CPR on some of the more sedentary visitors lounging about the pool.

Office is only open during the daytime, so call ahead if you'll be arriving late, and they'll tape an envelope to the office door with instructions about your room.

There is a small pool. No gym. Free parking. Subway restaurant one block away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daencro, General Manager at Carriage House Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are very happy that your stay was to your full satisfaction and look forward to your next opportunity to visit us. We are happy that most of our guests have stayed multiple times. There are families that come every year and we have had the pleasure to see their kids grow into adults who then come back with their families. Our guests are more than just guests, they are persons with whom we get to share special moments and get to know. We feel that we are being visited by friends. Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived after the office had closed (office hours are 7:30am-8:00pm) and an envelope was taped to the door with our last name. Instructions inside gave us our room number and told us our room was unlocked with the key inside. Also included was the Wi-Fi password and general information about the "no noise after 10pm" rule and that the pool closes at 7pm.
Upon entering our room (a 2 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor, facing the street) we found it to be very clean, although dated. We had a small living room area (one couch and one chair), dining room table with hutch, a small kitchen and two bedrooms, each with their own full bath. The unit had central air (a very nice change from the in-wall units we are used to) and a television in the living room and in each bedroom. There are no guides available, so you have to scroll through all the channels to find the news, etc.
The mattress in one room was very hard, the mattress in the other was softer but crackled when slept on (some sort of plastic sheeting beneath perhaps?). All the pillows were old and lumpy and definitely need to be replaced. Because we faced the main highway, it was very noisy and I turned on a sleep app to try to mask it. It's also bright in the rooms because of the street lights and the lack of blackout curtains.
The bathrooms provide no amenities other than towels and soap. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap, hair dryer, etc. Also, bring your own tissues as there are none throughout the entire unit. The towels are the standard hotel type and are replaced daily, except on Sundays when there is no maid service. The hotel must have a real problem with people using the towels to remove makeup as there was a permanent red sign above the outlet with the words "PLEASE HELP US KEEP OUR COST DOWN BY NOT USING OUR TOWELS TO WIPE OFF YOUR MAKE UP THANK YOU". There was a green washcloth on the counter with a small piece of paper taped on the wall above it, saying "For Makeup Removal". The bathrooms are impressively clean, especially for an older hotel.
There is no coffee or tea in the kitchen, although there is a coffee maker and an electric hot water pot. It would have been nice to have the standard coffee/tea service instead of having to purchase filters, a can of coffee and a box of tea bags for our short stay. There are also no paper towels in the kitchen, although there was a brand new sponge and a small bottle of dish soap. There is a $5.00 charge for the maid to wash your dishes.
There is plenty of patio furniture around the property and we observed many guests taking advantage of these to read and nap (and smoke - there is no smoking allowed in any of the rooms). We did not use the pool, but saw people swimming laps in the morning and relaxing on the deck.
Parking was always available and the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and a 7-11. It is a very short walk to the beach (less than 3 minutes) and walking path.

Room Tip: Ask for the room farthest away from the highway and street lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daencro, General Manager at Carriage House Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We appreciate your review especially from someone that obviously is an experienced traveler.
Amenities such as hair dryers, shampoo, tissues for the bathroom are available upon request. Our bathroom towels are soft and of superior quality of those found in most other motels. In the kitchen we provide kitchen towels and dish rags and are changed daily. Coffee filters should be available in every kitchen. For your peace of mind all mattresses are protected against bed bugs. This summer aside from replacing the kitchen cabinets we are renewing many of the units and many mattresses with be changed. The changes should take place during the next three months.
There are some units that are quieter than others but in general the traffic along A1A dies down before sunset; occasionally a proud Harley rider will go by asking for attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Resort Motel

Address: 250 S.E. 20th Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deerfield Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Deerfield Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Resort is located only steps away from Deerfield Beach’s beautiful award winning public beach. It is an intimate two-story building of Georgian colonial architecture with a mix of very comfortable standard rooms, efficiencies and one-bedroom apartments, these last two with full, well equipped kitchens. The heated pool is surrounded by an inviting tropical garden which gives you the sensation of being in a secluded oasis. Walk along the beach promenade lined by coconut palm trees to restaurants, grills, sports bars, shops, the fishing pier. But best of all you will experience a friendly place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Carriage House Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Deerfield Beach
Carriage Hotel Deerfield Beach
Carriage Motel Deerfield Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.