We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a hidden gem!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sake Thai and Sushi of Debary

Sake Thai and Sushi of Debary
2845 Enterprise Road, DeBary, FL
13866685710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in DeBary
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Debary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a hidden gem!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

One of our favorite places to eat!! We go there at least once a week. Everything we've tried has been amazing and is always fresh. The service is great and the owners are so kind and humble.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not a good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

For $8 I expect more chicken than the four tiny morsels I got in my curry. My husband's chirashi was almost $20 at lunch and featured four types of the thinnest slices of fish I've ever seen in a sushi restaurant. I think we need to stop at another restaurant before we go home. I'm still hungry.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always fresh sushi ! Red Dragon roll is to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

From the miso soup to the entrees....delicious! We get the Red dragon roll & last night tried the Green dragon roll, Satey & another different roll and we are never disappointed! The staff are always eager to see us. JUST WISH OTHERS WHO LIKE SUSHI WOULD VISIT THEIR PLACE & YOU WON'T GO ANYWHERE ELSE, ESPECIALLY THE LARGER CHAIN RESTAURANTS OR THE ALL YOU CAN EAT PLACES. THERE IS NO COMPARISON! GOOD FOOD IS NOT FAST FOOD! SERVICE IS POLITE & QUICK, SO NO COMPLAINTS HERE! Just darn good food with lots of choices. Take a few minutes to go over the entire menu!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had Crispy duck with medium spiced curry sauce on the side, it was very good, hubby had crispy duck with basil sauce over entire dish, it was also good but the duck was no longer crispy.
Friends had two other dishes and we all agreed that food, service, price and atmosphere makes this place a keeper.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It's always in the last place you look--or would think to look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sake is an unexpected pleasure, hidden as it is among the little office-center buildings on Enterprise Road between Deltona and Debary (or is it Orange City?). The owners clearly value their patrons and during both our visits we found them to be pleasant and welcoming. The service exactly what we would expect from a small, family-run business--attentive and engaged. We were treated like guests--and from the looks of things, regulars are treated like family. We look forward to achieving that status. :)

The curries are properly rich-tasting, a feature which I've found lacking in some other Thai eateries in the area. My family found medium heat to be quite satisfactory--although I might try 'hot' just to see what it's like. The green curry was nicely spiced, with basil notes popping up here and there to keep it interesting. The Amazing Sauce has a very peanut-forward flavor (the menu points this out), with more peanut in it than their panang curry. The Pad Thai finished with the tang of tamarind on the palate, rather than the flavor showing up earlier.

The Chicken Pops appetizer is very much along the lines of Thai Angel Wings, but in a different shape. They're fun, and one could conceivably make a lunch of them along with a salad.

Sake is now on our regular "rotation" of restaurants to visit; the location is a little out of our way, but it's worth the trip in every way that matters. We will be visiting often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake Thai and Sushi of Debary also viewed

 

Been to Sake Thai and Sushi of Debary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake Thai and Sushi of Debary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.