We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracked Egg Diner

Cracked Egg Diner
3280 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
3867887332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 344 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Family Fare, Diner, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We eat here any time we are in the area and have never had bad service or bad food. Whether it is just me & my husband or a big group of us (for race or other event) we get great service & food. There is almost always a wait because the food is so great, but it goes by fast and you can have a mimosa (several flavors) while you wait :) It is a charming diner…one visit & you will not want to go anywhere else for breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    200
    76
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The place was packed and the food was fabulous. My corned beef hash had big beautiful chunks of corned beef. Everything and everyone was wonderful!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Apple friters were the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is going to be a two part review. My review and my husbands. I loved the food, friendly people. It was a really nice place to go. It was very crowded at 8 am on a Sunday morning so I knew it would be good. But, my husband had the sausage gravy and was very dissappointed. He makes the best and of course he compared it to his. I told him to go show them how to make it but he didn't. he didn't finish it. Other than that my food was great. I enjoyed it. Oh yeah he enjoyed the Apple Friters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our only regret was not going back to the Cracked Egg instead trying other local breakfast places.

We were there during "Turkey Run" the temperature dropped into the 40's with a wind chill of 20 below (maybe a slight embellishment) the day we went and people were standing outside waiting for tables. Momma always said "when you see throngs they can't all be wrong".

The "greeters and seaters" are the owners and they move very fast to get everyone seated as quickly as possible (seems they might have a "vested interest"). One downside here, they offer you a mimosa while you wait without explaining that it will be charged to your bill. Silly me, I thought it was free :(

We did have to wait a long time for our breakfast while several tables of two, seated long after us, ate and left. That was no fun ...no free mimosa for that either! I finally asked the waitress to check on our order and low and behold, it soon arrived. The food was hot and good all cooked as requested. Then, guess what, we got an order of Apple Fritters (FREE) for our wait! Never liked mimosas that much anyway. I can see where the mixed reviews come on the Apple Fritters, for my taste, they're right up there with mimosas. Only two of my five companion diners found them "deviate from your dietable" but hey, good price though. The up side of our wait...we met a really nice couple from Wisconsin, got to know them pretty well before we got breakfast.

This was one of our better breakfast experiences in Daytona. I guess the restaurants don't manage crowds that well, so plan to eat really super
early if you go during "Bike Week".




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Eggs Benedict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor Reviews we ate here for a late breakfast. Had to wait for a table on a Wednesday (a good sign). Wonderful locally sourced food. They serve breakfast and lunch (breakfast all day).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Egg Diner also viewed

 

Been to Cracked Egg Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracked Egg Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.