We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "Condo" for a budget friendly vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Jewels Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Jewels Club to your Saves list
Ocean Jewels Club
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   935 S. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Perfect "Condo" for a budget friendly vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I have stayed at the Ocean's Jewel Club three times over the last year. It has to be one of the most affordable "owner owned" OCEAN FRONT condominiums on Daytona Beach.

We've actually stayed in three separate units and have had the opportunity to view two other units that the people we travelled with were staying in. Each unit, either one bedroom or studio were clean and well supplied with necessities to get our holiday started. Every unit in the North building and South building blocks have a view of the ocean with balconies or patios to catch those awesome sunrises.

I think the most important thing travellers have to keep in mind when staying at the Ocean Jewels Club, *you are renting the apartments from those that OWN the unit*. The manager (for the owners), John Clare, goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortably checked in, you have your keys and answer any questions you may have to start your holiday. If a specific unit is unacceptable (when you first walk through the door), you may ask to see another (if available) or go somewhere else based upon your expectations.

The condition and appearance of a unit falls under the responsibility of the owner. Some owners have taken pride in ownership and have upgraded their units to beyond beauty where, others have left their units furnished, carpeted or painted as it originally was. Regardless of who's unit you rent, if you are renting a unit managed by John Clare, you can be guaranteed cleanliness and fully operational.

There is NO MAID SERVICE unless you want to pay for it. Again, you are renting from the owner of a condominium at extremely reasonable rates. Rooms are equipped with towels, bedding, kitchen appliances and utensils.

This condominium is not pet friendly to renters. This is a rule of the condominium association and owners. There is a pet walking area adjacent to the south block parking lot for OWNERS and their pets. The area is kept extremely clean. I have never once been disturbed by any pet on the property.

Location of the building is great. It's far enough away from the main strip to give you a quiet, private relaxing atmosphere but close enough to walk comfortably to the center of things. Grocery stores are close. For those who like public transportation there is a bus stop right out the front of the main lobby but the best part.......... The BEACH is nothing more than a short walk across the back patio and down the stairs. FABULOUS.

The common areas of the condominium are for the most part beautiful. The beachfront gardens, beachfront patios, pools (2 large, 1 kiddy) are well maintained DAILY (I've watched the maintenance crew arrive every morning at 6:00 a.m.). The large pool (in front of the south block) has three tables with umbrellas and the smaller pool (heated at the side of the north block) has two tables with umbrellas (the lack of more tables and umbrellas around the pool areas is because of accessibility reasons). There are numerous lounge chairs around each of the pools. There are quite a number of other tables and chairs with umbrellas around the patio area beach front which gives you a place in the shade away from the pool activities. There are at least three BBQ's available on the north side of the patio for the use of anyone preferring to grill. The pool and patio area are locked and are only accessible to the owners or those renting and are in possession of a key. There are three laundry rooms available on site which was a huge convenience the last time down. Also for those that can't leave technology at home, John Clare provides WIFI access to owner's units he rents at no extra charge.

The price??? More than reasonable. We use Ocean Jewels Club as our quick gettaway'n stay. A place we can go, know that we are getting what we need (clean accommodations, better weather than home and a view to calm the most rattled nerves), when we need it, at a very affordable price. The price of Oceans Jewels Club units also depend on the time of year you go. Go during race week and/or bike weeks don't expect to pay the same price you would pay during off season. That's totally understandable. In a nutshell, I give Ocean Jewels Club a 5* on the price for weekly vacations or for winter snowbirds. If a traveller is expecting 5* hotel with maid service and all amenities, may I suggest the Hilton up the street at potentially 5X the cost.

Note to the Condominium Association of Ocean Jewels Club ~ The hallways, walkways to each condo are in need of a spruce up. The stairwells are in definite need of a clean up from the maintenance crew. These common areas are all outdoor and are exposed to the elements of the weather, specifically the sand and salt from the ocean. These areas could be painted to add to the curb appeal of the building(s) themselves. Now in defence of the condominium corporation there is constant activity going on at the buildings. Last winter, the balconies in the south building were being replaced, this past September, there were some improvements being made in the patio area and then again a couple of weeks ago, contractors were working away on the North building block roof.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The manager of this condo complex needs to retire. I've never met a more unpleasant grumpy old man in my life. We booked our stay several months in advance and then were given a sub par condo without a view when we had booked a ocean view room with a pull out couch. The unit we were given was also under maintenance and had the balcony roped off. The entire complex was dirty and the manager was a class A Jerk!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This used to be our go to hotel years ago when it was the Travel Lodge Ocean Jewel. I stopped in recently to check rates and look at a room. We passed it was not up to par. The place need a total rehab to bring back it's reputation as a good place to stay. This is a condo hotel and all room are owned be individuals.

Room Tip: If you have kids with you they have nice one bedroom suite with 2 baths. Kids get the sofa bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place could be beautiful and the location is perfect, but it is need of a good cleaning. There is a lot of green areas with tropical flowers. The exterior is shabby and run down.
While swimming in the pool, which we did a lot, you could see the undersides of the lounge chairs and they were gross. Don't forget to put on your shoes when you walk back and forth to the room either as the building walkways and deck seem to seldom see soap and water. At the bottom of the steps is a patch of sand spurs with an narrow opening to the beach every time I forgot to carry my toddler one of us ended up needing surgery. We are a family of 4 with fair skin, thank heaven we had a view of the ocean from our room because if you don't get out early and grab one of the 2 umbrella'd tables near the pool you have full summer sun. My husband has already had Melanoma removed so he chose to stay in the room when we missed out on a table and believe me that was more often then not. We found an umbrella at the smaller pool but i wouldn't recommend this pool for some reason every time we tried it, it was always covered in bugs.
I would of enjoyed this trip much more had my husband been able to stay outdoors with us.

Overall the people were friendly and we felt very safe. There is lifeguard stand right out in front. The children loved the wading pool and walking up to Sunsplash Park and the Entertainment Pier, which is why we will return but next time we will be bringing our own umbrella, water shoes and disinfecting wipes for the chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Ocean Jewel Club, Room 262 for 8 days in June 2014. The exterior is a bit shabby, but our condo was very nice and clean on the inside. It was nicely updated with granite counters and new cabinets. The room was 2nd floor,ocean front with a small balcony. My only complaint inside the condo was the bed. It was small, squeaky and uncomfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the landscaping was lovely. The building itself could use some refreshing. The pools are nice and it wasn't crowded while we were there. This was my first VRBO experience and I was pleasantly surprised. Overall, it was a nice relaxing and affordable family vacation. I would definitely recommend this condo.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The place a good place. The service was okay.
The place was clean but they didn't clean it afterwards
The Location was Very Good directly on the beach
The Rooms were Excellent but there was no Room Service

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great location and the views are unbeatable,people super friendly, price way good!!!
definitly coming again very soon!!!
Hotel has a little bit of noise because repairs but other than that we love it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Jewels Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Jewels Club

Address: 935 S. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Jewels Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Jewels Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Jewels Hotel Daytona Beach
Travelodge Ocean Jewels Hotel
Daytona Beach Ocean Jewels
Daytona Beach Travelodge
Daytona Beach Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Daytona Beach
Travelodge Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Jewels Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.