We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK VISITORS: NOT TO BAD AT ALL.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“UK VISITORS: NOT TO BAD AT ALL.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed or eight night in June/July 09. We had an ocean front amenity (bedroom with a kitchen in it.). And it was exactly what you pay for. The hotel had that “just cleaned carpet smell” about it and the rooms were a bit dated. There was just the bare minimum items in the kitchen with some plates, four knives and forks, pans, coffee maker, toaster and big fridge, also the smoke alarm was next to the cooker. I was to afraid to use the cooker. Which defeated the idea of self catering? The staff was friendly and helpful. You need a car, as it is a hard walk to where the action is, it means that the hotel is quiet. Great value for what you pay. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    181
    40
    14
    22
See reviews for
149
225
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Yes this is a fab place to stay ALLthe staff ate very helpful the rooms were cleand every day and you are right on the beach AND WE STAYED THER ALSO IN JUNE 2008.PLUS you have a cafe in the hotel you realy have to youse it the people in it are so entertaning plus it is realy good value HAVE A FAB HOLIDAY

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, VT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We just returned from a very short stay here during the week of June 15th. We planned on staying for two nights at Daytona Beach and picked this Hotel after reading several reviews on tripadvisor. Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted by the personnel at the front dest. We had originally rented a City View apartment for 2 nights as we were traveling with 4 teenagers and thought this would be the ideal place for us even though we would not have a view of the ocean. While we were checking in we were told that the room we rented was not available because of some things that needed minor repairs so they were moving us up to the penthouse. What?!? Are you kidding me?? What a pleasant surprise. They put us up on the top floor with an ocean view at no extra cost. What a way to start your vacation. The room was absolutely beautiful and the view was even better. I found the hotel to be in a very convenient location. We were able to access the Publix for a few groceries and our older children even walked downtown during the day and did a little bit of shopping for themselves. My only regret is that we didn't plan more time at the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was a great first time visit to Daytona Beach! My finace had never been to Florida before and I had been there numerous times. I wanted to make this the best exsperience I possibly could for him as I love coming to Florida and wanted him to love it just as much and he did! Our room was everything we had expected and more. We do know the difference now between "ocean Front" and Ocean View" and will try to get the "ocean Front" on our next stay. The "view" was still wonderful, we could see the ocean perfectly but I love to sleep with the doors open and awake to the crashing surf when I can and with the "view" it wasnt the same.The people were fantastic at the hotel. Very accomodating and i must add that the lil cafe was perfect for breakfast and lunch. Needless to say we will be returning next year and quite possibly might just go back for our honeymoon :O)!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Got a sweet view of the Atlantic Ocean. Even with a king bed there was still a lot room ro move around. Lots of TV channels. Had to watch alot of TV because of the tropical storms in the area (can't control weather). Didn't get a chance to swim, but it was still pretty warm. The people running the restaurant were very interesting and entertaining. Only problem we had was our air conditioning did not run properly. So we had our balcony door open the whole night... the waves were pretty rough, during our whole stay, so our room got pretty misty. Overall was a good stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We just got back from a two night stay at this hotel. It was a very pleasant weekend. When we first arrived we were given a room right by the elevator. We requested another room as I am a very light sleeper and the noise would have kept me up all night. The staff were very accomodating and immediately reassigned us. Our room was an oceanfront with a kitchenette. It had a 4 burner electric stove and oven, sink, refrigerator, 2 coffee makers (individual cup and multi-cup), toaster microwave. In addition, there were dishes and silverware settings for four. Everything was clean and in good operating condition. The hotel supplied a dishrag, a drying towel, dish soap and a dish drainer. The cooking utensils included 2 saucepans, a fry pan, a broiler tray, a collander, a spatula and a can opener. They thought of nearly everything! My husband and I travel quite a bit, so we always take our picnic backpack with us. The only thing we used from it this time was our wine glasses (there are no glasses in the room, although they do supply the standard plastic cups and ice bucket, and coffee cups). The staff were really friendly, and the grounds were well kept. We really enjoyed sitting out by the pool and looking out on the ocean. They also have an indoor pool. The cafe was good food at an incredibly reasonable price. We can't wait to book our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. We spent three days here and LOVED IT!!! The place was clean, the people VERY FRIENDLY!! And the breakfast at the Poolside Cafe was awesome. They even have beach chairs and sand toys for those who like to build sand castles. On the north end of Daytona and close to good restaurants and shoping.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.