We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Newfoundland Canada
1 review
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff were very friendly. Disadvantage of staying at this hotel was that it did not have a restaurant onsite. There is a very small cafe but only open from 7 am - 2 pm and a very limited menu variety. Hotel also didn't have a safe in the room.
Should I return to Daytona in the future, I would definitely look for a place closer to the pier.

Room Tip: ocean front - beautiful sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    135
    39
    15
    19
See reviews for
107
167
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martin, ky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were here the first week of April as a chaperone for my school's senior trip. While the rooms were nicer and cleaner than expected, I found the front desk staff lacking. We needed five rooms for all of our kids and chaperones, which is not a whole lot. Even though the rooms were booked in advance as one group and one trip, when we arrived to pay they insisted we had pay for each room separately and as a separate transaction. Also, they told us we had to be split up and the rooms could not be put together. If you've ever chaperoned a group of teenagers, you know this is not a good idea. Though they told us when we booked we'd be accommodated, I felt we were not upon arrival. I give the place four stars for the cleanliness and rooms itself, but the front desk staff receives a zero.

Room Tip: The one king bed rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport Massachusettes
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a failing review for the Tropical Winds, it's sad because besides carpeting in our room that needed a more thorough cleaning and better quality pillows, the room was okay.
The problem, on the night of 4/28/13 the hotel was rented to a very bad crowd of guest that seemed to be occupying different floors in the hotel. So bad, that they were even urinating off the balconies as we were coming back for the evening. They were fighting , screaming , smashing things until at least 3am in the morning. Why the hotel let this go on was completely beyond reasoning, however, the 3 - 11 pm desk clerk was confused and didn't want to bother the owner who was away on vacation.
I talked to another couple who had been there for the past 3 weeks and were scared our of their mind on what was taking place.
In this business, these things can happen, but its how the business handles the situation that will have more favorable results. In this case, the evening and overnight staff were completely lost on how to handle this bad situation.
We made it through the night with little sleep and found our car the next morning surrounded by beer cans, trash and cigarette butts on the hood.
I mentioned this to the morning desk clerk, who I was sure was probably overwhelmed with complaints all morning and low and behold by her lack of compassion, her reply, ' I wasn't working here last night!!'; that was the extent of her showing any remorse for us at all. This clerk knows better because she has been working here for sometime.
As we were leaving, I witnessed guest drinking and packing their cars and throwing their beer cans all over the parking lot. I would bet my last dollar that this hotel suffered some serious damage from this unruly bunch of disrespectful guest.
In ending, our night was ruined, my advice for management, when these things happen, is bad as it may seem, when security looses their grip on these types of situations, call the police. It may be the last resort, but the guest you want to have return, will see that you had no other choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were hesitant about going back to Daytona Beach because a few years ago when we were there we did not have a good experience with the prior resort or the beach. This time was completely different.
Check in was quick and easy. Woman at front desk was very nice. Loved our room and the view from the balcony overlooking the beach and the outdoor pool. We never used the outdoor pool but we did use the indoor. The kids absolutely loved it, couldn't get enough. The temperature was perfect.
The only thing that would have made our stay better was more place settings in the kitchen. There were only two bowls and we are a family of four.
But other than that our stay was perfect and we won't hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked several hotels for our vacation and one might with tropical winds oceanfront hotel through hotels.com. Because we had a slight change of itineary we had to cancel one night 15 days in advance of our expected stay. They have a one day 'No Refund' policy which we were not aware of.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. When my girlfriend booked this hotel I was a little skeptical because the rates were so reasonable but, the pictures looked like it was clean and in a good location. When we got there I could not have been more pleased. The place was clean and airy. The rooms were bright and very clean with everything you need. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Especially Ms. Gwen. She answered all our questions and got us checked in right away. We even got an upgrade to the penthouse at a very reasonable price. I was worried that it might get a little noisy since it was Easter week but everyone was quiet and relaxed. Ms Gwen runs a tight ship! If I'm ever in Daytona again this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this hotel has become our favorite "getaway place" on the worlds most famous beach.Outstanding staff and service,and consistently clean and updated rooms, all with great views.Nice quiet part of the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.