We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Central Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked in for a one night stay. First impression was average. Room has missing amenities - adequate plug ins for electronics and designated work desk with light - that I would expect to find in any hotel. The room was, however, roomy,clean and neat with a large closet area. Our room was right above what I assume is the hotel's laundry - very noisy generator- like noise for the entire evening up to around 9 pm. What bumps this property up from average to very good is the atmosphere. There were many returning guests here at the time we were who had clearly come here for many years. We quickly saw that this property treated guests like family. If one were to stay for an extended time, you would enjoy the homey atmosphere provided here. Pluses are both an indoor and outdoor pool - perfect for those cooler winter days. Onsight laundry facilities were also a plus. Average quest age seemed to be retirement age, so property was overall quieter than you would expect from a resort - also a plus. Property is about one mile south of shopping areas, so traffic is less. Also has beach access for vehicles immediately adjacent to property if that is what you like. Would I return? Sure! I just know what to expect next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    164
    38
    14
    20
See reviews for
131
208
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stay here last Christmas to get away from the cold of England. Once again treat to behold. So welcoming. Now almost feel part of the family as have stayed here for the past two summers.
This place is a gem. It just hits the right level of quality and service so that you can relax and enjoy your holiday.
The staff throughout the hotel want to help you and are very approachable, just as much they leave you alone to enjoy your stay.
Nothing is too much trouble and without any ado will be returning in .

Room Tip: For a little pice, the higher the room is the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a hotel really worth staying at. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are exceptional. We were really made to feel at home, with the staff going out of their way to help make our stay enjoyable. The views from the balcony of the ocean are superb and you can see the Dolphins in the mornings and evenings. I am also a keen fisherman and I have never fished anywhere in the world where I have caught so many large fish from the beach. We will most certainly be returning next year.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the top floors for the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARENVILLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been travellling to Florida for a fall vacation for the past 18 years, and had been staying in numerous hotels during the first 13 of those years; however, 5 years ago we lucked into the Tropical Winds. We've been coming back to this hotel every year since for a month, and staying a few days longer each time; we love it! We meet friends there from several states and they enjoy the place as much as we do. Miss Gwen, Chris, Tonya, and the remaining staff are very friendly and helpful and make every guest feel welcome and at home. The rooms are clean, and the deck and swimming pool area are clean and tidy, and quiet. We have just come home to Canada and are looking forward to next year's trip already! Thanks to you all and we'll see you next year!! Bill and Virginia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I and our "group" from several different states (including Canada) stay here every October and sometimes into November ( we can't get enough pampering). We had originally stayed at the Beachcomber on down the street until the Hurricanes came through a few years ago. My husband and I THOUGHT we had the best place to stay, but after finding the Tropical Winds we found out we were wrong. The Beachcomber didn't get rebuilt after the hurricane and the staff put us in one of there other properties (what a disaster) we knew we had to find another place. A couple from Indiana that we knew found out about the Tropical Winds, it didn't take long for our group to check it out and get some reservations set up, and we have not regretted it. Christine will do anything for you and the front desk staff are great Miss Gwen and Tonya will help you out with anything you need. The cafe is family as well, Billy and Franz do a great job. It is so great to catch up with what is going with the staff from year to year. We just finished year # 7 and we are looking forward to year # 8 already. This year I was having some health issues and the staff did everything they could to help me with the stay this year, hopefully I will be better by next year.
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like being treated as family!

Linda Wise

Room Tip: We always like the sixth floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel was a little tired but located on the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was good and dependable and coffee making facilities were welcome. Cost £35 for the night with was acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel. Service and staff was terrific. Very friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience.Pools were clean. Rooms was very nice. Excellent access to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.