We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel; great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
HAMILTON NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel; great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a nice clean, comfortable hotel right on the ocean. Very quiet and has nice balconies. The staff could not be more pleasant and met our every need. They have a cafe on the premises which is delicious. Would stay there again and would have no problem recommending them. Very pleased. It was a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    195
    44
    14
    23
See reviews for
174
243
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Front desk staff very nice. Very accommodating to motorcyclists (us) during Biketoberfest. Location close enough to everything but far enough from craziness to get away when you needed to do so. Quiet at night. Not too much within walking distance, but everything you need is about a two or three minute ride away. Only complaint was that water pressure in shower wasn't great. Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice, clean, quiet oceanfront hotel with balconies that face the ocean. So many Daytona Beach hotels do not offer that! It's not luxury but rooms look like they were recently updated and are efficiencies including fridge, stove, coffeemaker, sink. Indoor and outdoor pool and a little beachside restaurant for lunch and dinner. Great location, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great stay on the 7th Floor. Very private, full kitchen in room. Quiet for sleeping. listen to the ocean & take a picture of the sunrise & sunset each day. Great value. Close to good restaurants & bar/grills.

Room Tip: I love the higher floors but the 1st 2 floors will be faster elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visit every year & love this hotel. Our extended family meets here & we have a great time. Its' very affordable, safe & clean. The pool deck if our favorite - you can sit at the pool & see the ocean waves crashing into the beach. There is an indoor pool too if it's chilly or too windy. My parents loved the cafe & food & friendly service (there's chicago bear's fans running the care - YEAH!!!). Gwen at the desk is so...................friendly & nice.........it's great to see happy employees in their job. There is a computer in the lobby for use in case you need to print out something & free wi-fi in the rooms so that's great. Parking is easy & very well lit. Only thing is - wish there were safes in the rooms - we kept everything with us.

Room Tip: Oceanfront has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Tropical Winds Hotel in September 2012 for our destination wedding, along with several of our family and friends. The hotel was wonderful and the weekend was perfect! The rooms were clean and cozy, with a fantastic view of the beautiful beach. The hotel staff were all friendly and even helped us iron out a few final details for our wedding, which was greatly appreciated. We had guests coming from out of state and overseas and they were all really well taken care of by the staff. Everyone went home very relaxed after the weekend. I would recommend the Tropical Winds for anyone coming to Daytona Beach!

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are great. If you are with a group, the 2 suites on the top floor have room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked here after seeing good reviews on Tripadvisor. Glad we did - as well as some of our friends. In town for Biketoberfest and Tropical Winds is well prepared and biker friendly. Room was clean and I was actually surprised by a stove, microwave and nice size fridge; although we did not use due to eating out.
Staff was always friendly and available; and someone was always cleaning something - the management ensures a well maintained place!
On site laundry is available for a reasonable charge; and they have single use detergent available for purchase, if needed. (I always enjoy coming back without having to do laundry when I get home - so big plus).
The hotel is very conveniently located to many points of interest, as well as eateries; grocery and pharmacies, if needed.
The value was also good; and we found out that they have "regulars" that come and stay a month or so at a time and they accommodate those like family. Really cool to see.
Hotel is on the beach and easily accessible from the hotel; or you can enjoy an indoor or outdoor pool. There is a small cafe inside the hotel that serves breakfast and lunch. We did not eat on site; but I did get an awesome cup of coffee one morning (I am never a fan of what is provided in the rooms of most hotels).
Would be a great place for a revisit with the kids, or another Biketoberfest without a question.

Room Tip: Ask for "Oceanfront" vs. "Ocean View". As a non-water living person; I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#41 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Tropical Seas
Days Inn Tropical Seas
#29 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#15 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.