We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was great! Staff was great!! They were ALL very friendly and helpful! Location was perfect!! Right on the beach! This hotel is very modern but also felt warm and friendly!! We would absolutely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    73
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
100
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My stay at this hotel was so unbelievably comfortable. Any staff member I encountered went out of his/her way to make sure I was satisfied and always asked if there was anything that could be done to make it better. The location is great- a beautiful beachfront property just enough outside of the main strip of Daytona Beach to be relaxing but close enough to have a wide variety of activities to choose from. The new amenities and modern feel really make you feel at home. The rooms are extremely clean and stylish with above-average beds. There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning with a wide array of choices. I quite enjoyed the cafe food that I sampled for lunch. Overall, I can't imagine a better hotel value in Daytona!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There are tons of hotels to choose from along the ocean in Daytona Beach, Florida.
And over the years, my wife and I have stayed in quite a few of them, unfortunately with a wide range of outcomes. On our most recent trip, we booked an oceanfront room at Hyatt Place in Daytona. And thankfully, from check-in to check-out, we found it to be welcoming, comfortable and convenient. And the personal touch the staff delivered at every level was outstanding. From the folks at the front desk to the breakfast servers, the barkeepers and the housekeepers, all we saw were smiles. That made us smile too. And it made us plan on coming back.

Room Tip: You can't lose with any of the rooms on the ocean side. If you're lucky, you'll visit wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 1 night at the Hyatt place so we could see Jerry Seinfeld at the Peabody. I was actually meant to book the Hilton across the road from the auditorium but for some reason I had in my head it was a Hyatt across the road. But this mishap ended up being a good one!

This hotel is at the start of Daytona beach so it's a lot quieter that up at the main part. The hotel is newly renovated & it seems they are busy training up staff as they had a lot of people working on Saturday. We had a non-ocean view room but I liked that better as there is an empty lot next door so we got both ocean & bay views.

The room was really sleek & modern, the beds comfy & the couch was a nice touch. There is a 24hr cafe & room menu where you call down & then you come pick it up when ready. We ate from the menu as a pre show light dinner & it was reasonably priced. We were also presently surprised with free buffet breakfast but we wanted a true American experience of a diner breakfast, and with Denny's across the road we couldn't exist. We did get our coffee at buffet & some fruit for the drive back to Orlando.

The pool area is small so I imagine during peak season the beds are taken quickly but it's right on the beach. On top of all of this was a really great staff team. As I said I think a lot were new & being trained but they were so friendly & remembered us so when we got back from the show they were asking all about it.

If you are going to Daytona Beach is highly recommend this hotel & it's opened my eyes to Hyatt Place brand.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnWright71, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Scot_in_Aussieland- Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach-Oceanfront. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the show you were in town to see! I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. Thank you for visiting us, and look forward to your return visit when traveling to Daytona Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really liked this hotel. It is right on the beach. Good wifi. Nice pool and plenty of pool towels. A small but nice room with very comfortable beds and the view from the balcony was great. A good mix of people stayed at the hotel. The only down side was the elevators that could be a bit slow and that the breakfast service didn't quite managed the rush of people. We had lunch at the hotel and it was good food. Across the street is a fast food outlet.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get at room with a balcony. The view is great and it adds to your vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnWright71, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
heek999- Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach-Oceanfront. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our gallery menu options, and enjoyed them as well! We look forward to hosting you as our guest again on your return visit to Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hyatt is likely the classiest joint in all of Daytona. It's located on the south end of the strip, so it's a bit quieter than the zoo of the heart of Daytona. But you still can't escape the beach being a highway and parking lot - of course this is Daytona's calling card - as absurd, unpleasant and ecologically damaging it is. The best views in the hotel and the pool also overlook the parking lot. Maybe this is part of Daytona's absurd charm, but it seems like an obvious design flaw to me. And given that I study coastal planning, I have to say, that a high-rise hotel being located here itself is an unsustainable disaster. If you can just close your eyes to that reality, it's a very nice hotel right in the beach and a total bargain.

Overall it's a great deal if you can tolerate the insanity that is Daytona.

Green Features: The location makes it as ecologically unfriendly as can be. Please refrain from driving on the beach - it's totally insane and destroys sensitive natural habitat.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnWright71, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Judd S- Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach-Oceanfront. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and found it a bargain. If you somehow find yourself in the area again, we would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were so many great things at this hotel, that I can't pick just one as the highlight of the trip. First, the location: It's actually in Daytona Beach Shores, south of Daytona Beach. The area was not as busy as it is up near Ocean Walk. Second, the property: I was immediately impressed with the freshness and cleanness of the design in the lobby and rooms. It was modern, but not too angular (which I personally find uncomfortable and unwelcoming). Everything was comfortable. Next, the staff: The front desk was not obnoxious and prominent, but understated and inviting. The manager and desk attendant greeted me and my husband promptly and warmly, and we were checked in and on our way to our room in about 5 minutes. The complimentary breakfast was really good. There was a nice variety that included fresh cooked eggs, sausage, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and the standard cold breakfast fare. We had an oceanfront room on the second floor. The view was fine, but I personally would have liked a higher floor. If you're looking for a bathtub or hot tub, I'm not sure if the property has them, but you'd probably need to request it. The bathroom was well-appointed, but had no tub--just a large shower. Overall, just the total atmosphere was relaxing, vibrant and pleasant. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Our oceanview was fine, but request a higher floor for more unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnWright71, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 days ago
TenWill_Beach- Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach-Oceanfront. Its so nice to see that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to sharing many more great stays with you in the future. All of our double queen rooms offer a tub as opposed to the stand up shower if that is something you are interested in for your next stay with us. I will be sure to share your friendly words regarding the staff with them. Thank you for being our guest, and we certainly look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Address: 3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront is a beautiful 10-story oceanfront hotel that offers 143 spacious rooms with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Ideally located minutes from the Daytona International Speedway and directly on the beach, this hotel has convenient access for families travelling to the Daytona Beach area with all the convenience of a Hyatt Place. Featuring an outdoor Pool Bar, with an incredible Ocean view, the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront will help you unwind after a day of business or travel. The spacious lobby area offers a great area to sit, chat and relax; or if you have business to take care of, you can do so at our 24 hour e-room equipped with Microsoft and Apple computers, available as a complimentary service to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Resort Daytona Beach Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.