We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, okay beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #6 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice hotel, okay beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself was very nice. Clean room, great complimentary breakfast (although the lines can get very long, especially on the weekend), beautiful views (we had a beach front room). Our hotel room was very nice, with a good sized bathroom and comfortable beds. The room itself was a little smaller then other hotels I have stayed at, but then again, so was the hotel and the size did not impact our stay at all (even though we only stayed the night so after a few days it might feel a little cramped). The room was very clean and comfortable. The view, however, was the best part and I highly recommend paying the extra money to get a beach view room. The hotel is right on the beach, so when sitting on the balcony you had an excellent view of the ocean (I was able to see some porpoises swimming by, we were that close). The pool too is also very nice and right on the beach as well, so you have a nice view from the pool area. Very nice hotel, would recommend for a quick trip or a weekend. The only issue I had with the hotel was that the location was too far of a walk to the "boardwalk" area of Daytona Beach.
I was not that impressed with Daytona Beach, however. It reminded me a lot of the Jersey shore (which we travel to a lot), without the nice boardwalk and family atmosphere, but with cars on the beach and a few palm trees thrown in. The hotel itself was nice, but I was not that impressed with Daytona Beach. There really was not anywhere decent we could find for dinner and the "boardwalk" area was just a large indoor/outdoor mall with a movie theater, bars, and a few chain restaurants. Maybe we were missing something, but I would check out other beach towns in Florida before going back to Daytona.

Room Tip: Definitely get a beachfront, ocean view room. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    54
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
66
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach the last week of Aug., the hotel was very clean. Sara Jo, Katie, and Tyrone at the front desk were great, they take customer service to another level. The entire staff was great. We are looking forward to going back soon.
Great vacation

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor oceanfront it was wonderful waking up to the sun rise over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent six nights, not one complaint!
Great ocean front room (clean as a pin). Attentive and friendly staff. Good included breakfast, just a really nice place. Stay here if you want to enjoy the beach.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Hotel and the staff was really great!! # of us checked in for a couple of relaxing days and nights, and that is exactly what we got. Everybody was sooo nice and they made sure we had everything we needed. If you forgot anything you needed, do not worry they will help you, if they don't have it, they will find it!! I will be going back to this hotel again. FREE wi-fi, FREE parking, got it and we just came from a very ritzty hotel chain in Orlando where we had to stay because of a conference we were attending, they had NOTHING FREE!!! NOTHING!!! I will not be staying there again!! Thank You so much to all the staff for a very nice relaxing stay..!!

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same here, they do have a some rooms for the disabled but, all rooms would b...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do the "GO GREEN" concept, meaning use your towels twice. We used ours morning and evening. Then they cleaned the room and replaced them. Hey, no problem for us.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for five days and enjoyed a very pleasant experience. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean and the property is kept in excellent condition. Breakfast was outstanding and service was exceptional. We would visit again.

Green Features: Excellent . They use very little paper goods for breakfast, which we actually Liked. The
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent two wonderful nights at this Hotel. The Hotel is right on the Atlantic Ocean with a hot tub and swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and modern and the place is exceptionally clean and as a bonus breakfast is included. The staff is friendly and efficient and parking is plentiful also they do not have that sneaky resort fee added which is a real plus. There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: I cannot comment but ocean front rooms could be nosier with the balcony doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach Oceanfront for one night after visiting Kennedy Space Center as we were planning to visit Daytona International Speedway the following day.

The hotel was easy to find being on a main road, parking was easy, although you must get a permit from the front desk to avoid being towed!

Our room was on the 9th floor and had a stunning full ocean view. The view itself was worth every penny!

The beds were very comfy, room spacious and modern with all the facilities you'd expect. The bathroom was fresh, spacious and stocked with quality toiletries...towels were soft, unlike many hotels these days.

Breakfast was complimentary and plentiful, including tasty hot options. I was pleased to find Tazo teas available, as this is one of my favourite brands of tea. Fresh fruit was also available. Breakfast is a buffet service and is available to eat in the bar area overlooking the beach.

The hotel is located on the beach and has an outdoor pool and small jacuzzi pool too...showers are available to use before entering the pool from the beach, although the sea was warmer than the pool!

Service at the hotel is first class, from front desk staff to management.

Prior to our stay I had a couple of questions, including asking about our plans to visit the speedway and the service we received from Andrew, the hotel's Director of Sales, was exceptional. He really did far exceed what was asked of him and pulled out all the stops to ensure that out stay at his hotel, and visit to the area was truly fantastic.

Our 9 year old son in autistic and a huge NASCAR fan. Andrew's help ensured that he had a great time...memories that he (and we) will treasure forever.

If you're planning to stay in Daytona then choose this hotel. Book an oceanfront room and you won't be disappointed.

We are already planning a return trip in the not too distant future.

Great hotel, great views, great beach, great staff!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Address: 3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront is a beautiful 10-story oceanfront hotel that offers 143 spacious rooms with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Ideally located minutes from the Daytona International Speedway and directly on the beach, this hotel has convenient access for families travelling to the Daytona Beach area with all the convenience of a Hyatt Place. Featuring an outdoor Pool Bar, with an incredible Ocean view, the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront will help you unwind after a day of business or travel. The spacious lobby area offers a great area to sit, chat and relax; or if you have business to take care of, you can do so at our 24 hour e-room equipped with Microsoft and Apple computers, available as a complimentary service to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Resort Daytona Beach Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.