We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #10 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good family beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is right on the beach which was ideal for our family. It was so convenient to get to from the pool area. The standard queen room was large enough for our family of 5. The balcony overseeing the beach was a wonderful plus! The room was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel was very pleasant. The breakfast was also good with several different choices. That part of the beach is very quiet overall. Good place to stay with a family!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor which had a great view of the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
55
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FORT LAUDERDALE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here recently for a short 3 nights. We wish we could have stayed longer:)
Check in was a breeze. The girls at the front desk, check in area, were wonderful. We were even upgraded to oceanfront due to our Hyatt credit card status. (Thank you). We asked for a low floor, which we got. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Next time, I would ask maybe for a 3rd floor because the balcony has a solid cement wall instead of a slotted balcony front. It would be great for people with pets or small children. I couldn't see over the wall to enjoy the view when I was sitting! My husband had no problem, just me LOL
The view from the oceanfront rooms is amazing. The sunrises were absolutely breathtaking every morning.
The room was very clean and was cleaned nice and early every day so we didn't have to wait for clean towels:)
We absolutely LOVE Hyatt beds. They are so comfy.
This particular hotel was converted into a Hyatt PLace and our room had a really weird (annoying) bathroom door. It was a glass sliding door and made a loud banging noise everytime it closed.
The included, hot breakfast buffet is definitely a great plus. There was scrambled eggs and sausage every day we were there along with another hot item such as French toast, pancakes or waffles. It also had fresh fruit ,bagels, toast and other various breakfast items. There was fresh coffee and juice every morning also.
There are only 2 elevators serving all 10 floors of the hotel so the wait for an elevator was sometimes a little long. We took the stairs occasionally but both staircases we found lead you outside!
We sat out by the pool one day for a couple hours which was nice. There is also a hot tub which seemed to be occupied by small children most of the time, so we didn't use it this trip.
There is a Red Lobster, a Denny's, a subway and a Taco Place across the street which was nice:) There is also a souvenir shop across the street in case you need anything!!!
We loved the Hyatt Place and all the employees who made our stay exceptional.
I would like to suggest to management, that a locked card access only door leading from the beach to the hotel pool area be installed. We watched people pull up in their vehicles on the beach and enter the Hyatt property utilizing the pool and restrooms, which I think should be for Hyatt Place guests only. But, that's just my opinion:)

Room Tip: Oceanfront is definitely worth the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located in an end of the beach with not a lot going on. Hotel overrun with kids. Elevators very slow. about useless. Not as nice as other Hyatt Places. The beach is beautiful and its nice having a balcony.

Room Tip: Get a low floor because the elevators are abysmally slow, and as every room seems to have 10 kids in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you dont have pets choose anything other than the 2nd floor. This was a weekend trip for my husband and I anniversary and I was truly impressed. The stay was very polite and friendly. The elevator is something that could be worked on since they only have 2. You will wait for one. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in the ideal location. We love this chain because we can fit our family of 5 comfortably in their standard queen room. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

This is definitely our place to stay in Daytona Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff was terrific! The breakfast was the same each day except for Sunday.They added biscuits an gravy and took away the oatmeal. There is a bar open on Saturday outside but one inside daily...not the typical bar though. Very low key and quiet! We thoroughly enjoyed this new hotel. When you go though, request a room away from the elevator....about 6 rooms too close....have fun, it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I and my 3 children stayed and had the most wonderful time. Our first day was spent between the cool pool and sandy beach. The pool area was very clean and there was plenty of space for everyone and plenty of chairs. There were always clean towels available and the seating on the deck was a nice shady retreat when we were too hot and needed to cool down. Inside the lobby there is a lot of options where we could get cold drinks (kids style and adult style :-)) any time of day or evening. The kids had a few 20oz sodas and I a Bloody Mary... and I will tell you this, the Bloody Mary's are out of this world good... I highly recommend them! So after a long day in the sun we retired to our room, it was the two room suite, a beautiful room with the best view of both the pool and the ocean. I was very pleased with everything Hyatt Place had to offer. Our room was very clean, the bathroom was amazing... huge shower... the living-room area was amazing with two big screen flat screen tv's, a mini fridge and a pull out couch. I always seem to have a problem with a/c's in rooms, but this a/c kept us cold cold. So long story short the amenities and room were awesome!! The next morning after a very nice sleep we got up around 8 and went down to breakfast, This was a Saturday and they were serving Scrambled eggs and sausage with a wide variety of fruits, cereals, bagels, english muffins... it went on and on... Our favorite was the strawberry yogurt and cottage cheese. So good and they offered that daily.. so another plus as well. Other days they served sandwiches with ham and cheese and egg, Very good also. On our 3rd day our fridge did seem to be running a bit hot, so we called down to the desk and they had a maintenance man up within 15 minutes, his name was Alex and he had it running good in no time, he was very nice and polite. All of the staff we ran in too were like that, very nice and always with smiles on their faces. It felt like home and me and the kids were absolutely having the time of our lives. So lastly I would just like to say that our trip was wonderful, kid friendly and beautiful, we all had such a great time and can't wait to go back. We did meet the GM on the last day before we had to pack up our stuff. Don was a pleasure to speak with and I couldn't help but tell him how wonderful his property was and that I couldn't wait to return. Thank you Don and team, Your awesome!!!

Stevie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront

Address: 3161 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly The Islander Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront is a beautiful 10-story oceanfront hotel that offers 143 spacious rooms with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Ideally located minutes from the Daytona International Speedway and directly on the beach, this hotel has convenient access for families travelling to the Daytona Beach area with all the convenience of a Hyatt Place. Featuring an outdoor Pool Bar, with an incredible Ocean view, the Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront will help you unwind after a day of business or travel. The spacious lobby area offers a great area to sit, chat and relax; or if you have business to take care of, you can do so at our 24 hour e-room equipped with Microsoft and Apple computers, available as a complimentary service to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Hotel Daytona Beach
Islander Resort Daytona Beach Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.