We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Waters Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Plaza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get an ADDITIONAL 10% Off
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Owenton, Kentucky
1 review
“Ocean Waters Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What an excellent experience we had that the Ocean Waters Spa at the Plaza Resort. The staff was very accommodating and made us feel very special...Pam and Claudine rocked our massages and Lisa S, the receptionist made sure all our details were taken care of once we arrived. I would highly suggest this spa to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Kim C:

Thank you for taking the time to review our Ocean Waters Spa, at the Plaza Resort and Spa.
We appreciate you informing the trip advisor community of the excellent service provided by our Associates.

Please share with your family and friends your experience at our Spa and invite them to visit Daytona's largest full service spa, at our Plaza Resort and Spa.
Kim we will share your comments with our Spa Associates and thank them for the excellent customer service they provide.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    156
    65
    35
    35
See reviews for
204
176
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Mountain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good- clean rooms and wonderful outdoor game area. Bed was comfortable. walking distance to eateries.
Bad- Rooms are aging and show signs of water damage. Pigeons were on the balconies and would not stay gone.
Ugly- Rude front desk associates and demolition to the hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning BJ:

Thank you for informing us and the trip advisor community about your recent stay at our resort.
Although our resort has been in the Daytona market place for many years, we hear from our past guests that their stay was excellent.

Thanks for your business and have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. However, they had a large group of younger kids there at the time and only three elevators. We had to wait to get to our room because of the large group. Our door to our room would not shut properly and was a great concern.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning Kim H:

Thanks for your review on trip advisor.
My apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the wait time for our elevators.

We appreciate your business and are pleased that your overall stay was
excellent.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

At first, front desk lady was not nice or helpful. But thankfully, I walked over to another gentleman named Terrell. He is a god send! If it were not for him, I would have been miserable upon check in and would have had a bad taste in my mouth from the start! Trip was wonderful, pool is nice. Elevators are a Looong wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning Miki1pom:

Thank you for your trip advisor review.
We appreciate you taking the time to inform us and the trip advisor community of your excellent stay.

Your business is appreciated Miki1pom.

Looking forward to your return stay.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I liked room 1010. The balcony was perfect. The room was clean. Wifi. Nice plasma TV. Coffee pot, micro and minifridge. The restaurant is awesome. Food was great. Service from staff was flawless. Lobby is magnificent. The property is from the 1920s when Henry Flagler was building the railroad. It ended, for a time, in Daytona. The pool is gorgeous. Access to beach easy and secure. No driving on this part of beach. Parking is free and attached to the south side of the building. Bar and bartender were super fun. I will be back.

Room Tip: Southside, direct ocean front (pricier) or one of the 10s (910, 1010, higher floors better), which i...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are green. I was impressed. Appliances and practices are energy saving and/or sustainable.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning Just a beachgal:

Thank you for the excellent trip advisor review
We appreciate you taking the time to inform the trip advisor community of your excellent experience and the accurate details of our historic resort.

Your business is appreciated and we look forward to your return stay.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My children and I just had a wonderful stay at the Plaza. We were there with several other families, all on the same floor. Great staff, location and very comfy beds. Management and employees were awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning Lisam3:

We appreciate your trip advisor review of our resort.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for your week-end get away.

As your hotel of choice in the Daytona Beach area, we look forward to many weekends get a way.

Have an excellent day.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was staying at the Plaza for the first time as a reunion with a fairly large group of friends. They had used this hotel before and had nothing but good things to say about it. I checked in and to my surprise, the room that they gave me had one king bed. It was supposed to have two queens, as I was rooming with a friend of mine. I called down and they said they had made a mistake but there were no rooms available on the fourth and fifth floor (the floors our group had reserved) with two beds. My friend and I are two single woman who are not used to sleeping in a bed with someone else. She made the reservations months ago. This was very annoying. On Friday, we left the room to go down to the pool/beach and I called housekeeping to ask them to clean the room. We came back at six o'clock and the room had not been touched. I called down and at least managed to get some clean towels. On Saturday morning I was at the fitness center working out and my friend texted me to tell me they were moving us to another room on the fourth floor. I asked why and she said they wanted to keep our group all together at one part of the floor. I asked if we had two beds now and she said no. So why can't we stay where we are, since we are unpacked, etc.? She didn't know but we couldn't, we had to move. Now I wanted some answers. I went to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager on duty. A young man named Jeremy came out and we sat down whilst I asked him what was going on. He said that our group's contract required us all to be together and that was why we were being moved. I responded that they didn't seem to mind violating the contract Friday night, since we were not all together then. I then asked him what he intended to do about the situation. I felt that comping us a night for the inconvenience would be fair. He replied that the lady in charge of booking our group had received free drink coupons and this should be sufficient. Really? I then told him that I had never had such bad customer service in a hotel and I would be writing a review for Trip Advisor to let people know about it. When I got back to the (new) room, to my delight, I discovered it was smaller and had a nice view of the Walgreens on the main drag of Daytona. No more beach view and no more balcony. At this point, the phone rang and it was Jeremy. He told me that he had looked up our reservation (probably to check my story) and saw that we had requested two beds, so he was now willing to discount our last night there 50%. I then asked him why we were in a room with no view since my room mate had talked to the housekeeper and she told her we were being moved to a room with a nicer view, to which my friend replied that she didn't care about the view as long as the room had two beds. Jeremy then told me that my friend had said she didn't care about the view. I corrected him and told him what the full sentence was, to which he placed me on hold and then came back and said that room was now gone and there were no more available. Fabulous. I mentioned to my friend that the room seemed very hot, so we went down to the pool and when we came back two hours later, it was even hotter. We called the front desk and to their credit, a maintenance man came within five minutes. The whole AC unit had to be replaced. Just the cherry on top of the cake.

So, for this weekend trip that I had looked forward to for almost a year, I spent it sleep deprived and grouchy. My friend got ZERO sleep because I snore and I got very little because I was trying not to move in the bed and disturb her. Eventually I would become exhausted and fall asleep and snore, so she was exhausted. I later found out from other friends that they were moved to THREE different rooms.

The hotel itself was very nice, the restaurant was great but I could never in good conscience, recommend it to anyone. I have never in my life had such poor customer service.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here. Ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H S, Director of Rooms at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Morning Donna M.

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort.
My sincere apologies that we failed in delivering the excellent guests experiences that our resort has become known for.

The opportunities you mentioned in your survey will be shared with our associates in our efforts to focus on our guest experiences.
Have an excellent day and we look forward to having an opportunity in providing an excellent guest experience in the future.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.