We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper class hotel for a great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Plaza Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Upper class hotel for a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am a housekeeping manager in the Orlando area and was very pleased with my stay. Its an older hotel with great upkeep. Our room had a nice big flat screen and in general your two beds, bath, etc. One plus was the fridge and microwave.
Pool was right on beach. Location fantastic. Lobby gorgeous. Every staff I had talked with front desk and maintenance were great. I can't wait to save money and come here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear pguz1174,

Thank you for the complimentary review. It is especially gratifying knowing that is came from someone in our industry who knows good housekeeping. I hope that you will return soon and take a well deserved break.

Sincerely,


Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    217
    88
    43
    41
See reviews for
265
265
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I saw a lot of the negative reviews of this place and was worried about our upcoming trip. Was very glad the construction was over. We arrived a day early and was "just checking it out" and looking around. My wife does not like elevators and was a little concerned of the small elevators. We found some rooms that were on the second level which is the same as the lobby and inquired about the availability. Unfortunately they were all ready booked but the helpful clerk ( I think his name was Richard) offered us to look at a room on the third level easily accessed with stairs. We went to the room and fell in love with the view. He allowed us to reserve it. We arrived the next day and found out the room was empty and they allowed us to check in at 10:30. What a treat. The next 3 nights and 4 days was one of the best mini vacations we have had in a long time. The resort pool was great, beach was perfect and we happened to hit wall to wall sunshine with low humidity. We never even got back into our car because we walked everywhere. Everything is very close with shops, restaurants and bar galore. The only thing I would do different is put some cabanas up by the pool with TV's and mini fridges. We would of be happy to rent these for MONEY. We will be going back later this year.

Room Tip: If you are wanting a Ocean Front room, Go for the 05-09 on each of the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decided to add two days in Daytona to our trip after a recommendation from a friend and soooooo happy we did! Keep in mind this is an aged hotel with old world charm. It's not the Ritz, but I certainly had no complaints. The pool and grounds were well maintained and I felt perfectly safe. Our spacious room on the 3rd floor was very clean and updated. Could have used more counter space in the bathroom, but we put our make-up on @ the dining room table. Not bothered in the least by construction, had breakfast on the balcony w/out complaint. Great location, we walked everywhere. But, the real treasure here is the staff. Everyone made us feel right @ home and took great care of us. Especially Juan, with his smiling face and exceptional enthusiasm! He lugged all of our 100 bags up to the room, showed us where everything was located, adjusted the a/c, answered 1000 questions and without whom we would never had known where to eat, drink, shop and party!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Christy_in_Florida,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We really enjoy hearing about our many outstanding associates like Juan, the bellman. He does a great job and I am glad that you were so complimentary about his service. We are continuing to make a number of improvements to our beautiful hotel and do hope that you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Needed a impromptu room on short notice and was recommended by a friend . to me this place was nicer than the Hilton just down the road. When you first pull up, the entrance is even more opulent. The rooms were very clean and on the floor above me they were doing work and I NEVER heard a sound.The decor was updated and never smelled mold or "hotel oldness" I call it which is almost always there with beachfront resorts. has everything you need there but close to a couple of fine restaurants (the oyster pub and Sapporos Japanese steakhouse) I did not use all the services (there is a plethora) but I was still duly impressed. I will be coming back....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Scott G.,
Thanks for the very complimentary review. Your comments on cleanliness, appearance, and first impressions are very much appreciated. I will be sure to pass them along to all of our staff. I hope that you the opportunity to return to Daytona Beach soon and if you do that you will once again chose to stay at the Plaza Resort and Spa.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

To start, we did not stay at this hotel. I read reviews of this particular hotel, and it was billed as the top resort in Daytona. We stopped there this past weekend to check it out and I'm so glad we did because I would have been sorely disappointed had I booked a room.

This is not a resort, at least, it does not deserve to be in "resort" category. My generous rating would be a 3 star property. The carpets are dingy, paint peeling, industrial fans in the hallways from water damage ... the list goes on and on. It was a nice place to stop and have a drink, while looking at the ocean from their bar deck. But, that's about it.

The spa menu has reasonable pricing, but I would not feel comfortable booking a spa appointment at a facility I do not feel comfortable staying.

The only reason I'm rating as average instead of poor is because the staff. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful! We asked for directions around the property, and each staff member responded with enthusiasm, and courtesy. The bartender, Jon, was hospitable and informative. Kudos to the staff of Plaza Resort & Spa.

If only my cell phone battery had not died, I would have posted the pictures I wanted to take of the inconsistencies we saw - and we weren't even guests. Choose another "resort" when booking. Save yourself money and raunchiness, go to Ormond Beach or New Smyrna Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jackpot82,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visist to our property. We recently had some very hard rains which resulted in some water intrusion. Those leaks and teh resulting damage are in teh process of being repaired. I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff. They are a great group of hospitality professionals. Please come back and stay with us and experience an over night stay.

Sincerely,


Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for memorial weekend! Through all the busy crowds, I have to say, checkin was so easy & the rooms are nice. A big king size bed with pull out couch. Nice up to date decor good size balcony & we ask for extra towels and they were quick for such a large place. Even got a late check out of 12:00, no charge. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear lovetovacay82,

Thanks for your great review. All of our staff are very excited to read positive reviews. We believe we have a one of a kind product here in Daytona Beach. Our location mixed with our outstanding staff and beautiful building make for a truly great experience.

Come back soon!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My second stay at Plaza Hotel and Spa lived up to and surpassed my first stay a month ago. Amenities abound in this grand historic hotel . Built around 1910 it combines the grandeur of old with the modern due to rennovation and recent updates. Service was supurb from check-in to security. The onsite restaurant, Magnolia's, had a lovely setting and good food at a nice price. The indoor bar was charming with warm wood and lounging areas; still feeling comfortable and casual. Outdoors is a pool and pool bar. The beach, of course, is great. The location of the hotel permits you to take a short beach walk to the pier and boardwalk area. Next visit I plan to use the spa and treat myself even more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Gayle23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is truly amonst the best in Daytona and our lounge and restaurant are very comfortable. I hope that you will return soon and indulge in our incredible spa.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.