We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom and pop experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prix Motel

Save Saved
You added Grand Prix Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Prix Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mom and pop experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This motel is different than most its family owned and run. Courteous and polite and the best part it's more of a personal experience vs the conglomerate capital style hotels. I've stayed here twice now and no it's not the Hilton but ill leave the Hilton to people of a different bread. I'm southern raised. The owner will bend over backwards to help. The hotel has been through alot of renovations since the first stay durin spring break 2012. And to be honest the owner takes pride in the place and works hard to consistently make it better. This is our new regular get away spot and I aim to come back at least twice a year. We are comin back for a long weekend may 1st and am completely ecstatic about it. The place has one awesome perk any room you can see the water.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RICHFIELD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place pool was heated the whole time ocean was cold.so we hang out pool and cook outside.very good staff
Same people work every day.clean rooms
Owner will go out of his way.make you happy
love full kitchen. He don't let wild party go on.just family fun.
We loved it.thanks Bill

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to the Grand Prix our vacation was perfect!! The owners live on site and greet you everyday like an old friend. The value is outstanding and we had the time of our lives!!! Thank you Grand Prix!!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My grandchildren and I enjoyed out vacation at Grand Prix Motel. The room was large enough for the 4 of us and was clean and neat. A throw back to the sixtys decore. Small fridge, coffee pot and microwave was more that enough for us to cook and keep food for the 5 days there. Of course we ate out some too, we were on vacation!! The owner was very nice and made sure we had clean linens and things as needed. The pool is great and nice and warm. The kids would have stayed in it if I had let them. The beach was just a few steps from the pool and the kids enjoyed that too. The perfect place for price and location. Close to shopping and resturants and a nice little beach store across the street. Thank you for a great vacation Grand Prix Motel. We will be returning, maybe even this year but next year for sure. Love it!!! Great for familys on a budget like mine. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here ONLY because the ratings on trip advisor rated this property as a 4. THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE. While I'm sure there are some who appreciate the view, which is a given it's ON the beach, the overall condition is disappointing. I would rate it "Terrible" but I have to credit the location and view.

I appreciate a clean "Red Roof Inn" style property as much as anyone and was hopeful this was what I would find. For the money I didn't expect a Hilton. Unfortunately, this was not the case, this property was downright dirty. See pics below.

The owners are friendly and I'm sure well intentioned, but that doesn't go far in my book, sorry.

Room Tip: Spend 30.00 more and go to the Lexington Inn & Suites down the road. See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Better than expected !!! the owner made the stay !!!!! he was so friendly and helpful made u feel right at home !!! pool was nice and clean and WARM !! place was always spotless inside and out !! thank-you for another great Daytona Vacation !!

Room Tip: get waterfront close to the pool !! great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I checked in here on the 2nd April for 4 nights. We have room No 51 an Ocean facing with two Double Beds.
We booked this Motel as we wanted an Ocean front room and were impressed with the reviews on Tripadvisor. My wife arranged the booking directly with the Manager "Bill" by phone, who advised her that this was his Best room. The room certainly has the best location on this property, being at the front and overlooking the (Well heated) pool.
This Motel is one of the dying breed of low-rise small properties along this beach. It's next door to a large, but boarded up Hotel that was called "Treasure Island". It sits on a narrow plot so rooms at the back see little of the Ocean, indeed rooms on the ground floor left hand side (Looking at the Ocean) look out to the cars parked in front of their rooms! During our stay the Motel wasn't full, which is just as well as there are more rooms than spaces to comfortably Park.
Now "Bill" gets several accolades in the reviews for his helpfulness and indeed when we complained about the Stale Tobacco STENCH in our room, he appeared with a can of "Zep Smoke Adour Eliminator" and sprayed the room. It would have been much better if the room had been inspected before our stay, and corrective action taken then. Bill needs to be proactive. With the balcony door open and the sun shining we accepted the room, but in the evening the stench was back -disgusting! The next morning Room Service appeared with another can of "Zep" and sprayed again. This reduced the stench but when asked again the following morning to spray the room, she left the can with us!!!!
The room was lean, but it's an old property and the room is an odd shape, but has 3 windows facing the Ocean, so it's brighter than the dull furnishings suggest. The Motel also has efficiencies but room 51 only has a fridge and Microwave. The fridge inside is rusted and should be thrown out, and the front of the microwave stuck together with glue (But even then a piece fell off). The Balcony s nicely sheltered by the overhanging roof and at this time of year enjoys shade from the sun all day. The bathroom is in need of some work, the sink badly cracked and then taps barely flow making shaving difficult - there is also no sink plug!
Room service needs improving. On our second morning we were awoken at 8.15 am by Room Service banging on our door. We were told that as the Rain was coming which wets her cart she needed to service the room then. Well we showered and dressed in 30 minutes to allow this to happen. However as the room was being sprayed with Zep, we asked when the rain was due. "Usually just after midday" was the answer. What????? (The rain didn't, in fact, come). Today we were allowed a Lie-in until 09.00, when Room Service again banged on our door. Her statement that her Cart was getting wet really wasn't our problem, a disturbed morning was. The morning was subject to some light showers, but we didn't get room Service, just a change of towels. My wife made our bed, I sprayed the Zep. No other cleaning was offered (Even though the rain was over at 09.30!)! Can't wait until tomorrow, our check-out day. This is totally unacceptable.
Would we stay here again? Well the property seems to suit families with children because it's on the beach and has a nice pool (Although guests were drinking from glass containers by the pool.). For us, this was not good value nor a good experience. so NO1

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms ace parked cars, except the two front most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Prix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Motel

Address: 2015 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Prix Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Prix Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Prix Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prix Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.