We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its what we expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Save Saved
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Northern Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Its what we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We traded timeshares for this one.

Right on the beach in the no driving zone which was great especially with little ones. Room was clean and nice. It was good size for a one bedroom unit. Our room was on the front side near the busy street but I guess everyone doesn't get a beach view. As far as the unit goes, they are short on towels and the kitchen utensils are very well used and they don't have much which is hard when you plan to eat about half your meals here. But again, it was clean and comfortable which is most important. The mid-week maid service just changed out sheets and towels which was nice when you usually get none in a timeshare week. Parking is in a secure underground garage.

Compared to other locations on the beach this one is nice due to proximity to the boardwalk and shops and no driving zone on the beach. Other areas on the beach seemed like a long way from things.

No pressure to attend timeshare presentation which was a welcome relief (unlike the Wyndham next door who hit you just because you walked by!)

Overall, we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Daytona Beach Regency for your most recent visit to the Daytona Beach area. We were extremely touched to read that our accommodations, amenities, location, and services met, if not exceeded, your expectations. Room requests such as a specific view type (beach view) can be submitted prior to your arrival; however, due to number of requests we receive of this nature, we cannot guarantee we will be able to fulfill each and every request. Your concerns about the amount and quality of the amenities in your unit will be taken into consideration for future guests. Our maintenance staff does go through our units periodically, and if it is determined that any of our amenities need to be replaced, we will replace them. We were pleased to read that our location along the beach and no driving zone had a positive effect on your stay. Your recommendation of our resort is sincerely appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    94
    25
    15
    19
See reviews for
104
71
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Daytona Beach and our first time staying at a Diamond Resort. The resort was quiet and small which allowed for us to get to know the staff and to not have to fight for chairs by the pool. We walked to several other larger resorts where there seemed to be a lot going on, they were very crowded and no pool chairs to be had. We enjoyed the resorts tiki bar and the bartenders we liked best were Matt and Stephanie. Overall we liked the resorts location, cleanliness, staff, and amenities.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went for Bike week. Noise was not an issue. Location was great. One particular girl at the front desk was fantastic. Can't recall her name, but she was the only one who was friendly and helpful out of every front person we encountered. The room itself was ok. Not the worst I've ever seen or stayed in, but a far cry from the professional photos that are shown here on Tripadvisor. They're not even close to that. It had an odor that was musty and it was there our whole weekend. We asked to be moved, but they said they didn't have another room. A staffer came up, and he said it was cleaning solution. I highly doubt that. We had to buy our own air freshener. Luckily, we could keep the patio doors open because we were high enough up that we didn't have to worry about a break in and it was October so it was cool enough not to need the a/c 24/7. Being Bike Week, there was just no where else for us to stay or we would have left. The furniture was standard condo furniture. Not very comfortable, but not extremely uncomfortable. I rarely base a review on furniture anyways, unless it is really bad, because i realize they are the beach and they do have to deal with sand and wet bathing suits. So, the furniture was fine. It was the attitude of the staff and the smell of the room that keeps me from staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Delivering excellent customer service is our absolute priority and we are truly concerned to read that you were not satisfied with our team performance on this occasion. We would like to assure you that this will be addressed with our personnel and should you wish to contact us directly, we will investigate this issue further for you. We apologise if you have detected unpleasant smell in your apartment. Unfortunately, you have not provided us with your room number, yet, we would like to assure you that all our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and aired prior to all arrivals and we would kindly suggest that the smell may indeed have came from the cleaning products used. Nevertheless, we of course apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are Diamond Resort owners and this was our first time staying at one of their properties (our timeshare was acquired by Diamond). We were upgraded to unit 709 overlooking the beach - nice surprise! We were able to check-in at 3:30 as room was available - check in was seamless and quick. Jen, the concierge, provided some materials and recommendations for us. The unit was quite spacious for two persons; unit was clean, very comfortable and decor was very nice. A couple of the dressers/storage units showed a little wear on the edges and the living room sofa sleeper has seen better days, but everything else was very very nice. Due to constructionon outside of building, our balcony could not always be used during the day, but that was not a problem. The kitchen was well stocked and the resort provided paper towels, dishwasher soap and detergent for doing laundry. Laundry was right outside our door (2 washers and 2 dryers - never saw a wait to use); no cost to use the washers or dryers, just needed to have your own detergent or fabric softner. That was a very nice perk.

Shamika came to our door about midway through the week and offered service to swap sheets and towels and clean up a little. This was great. Pool towels can be exchanged but you have to call the front desk and they will bring up and swap out. In a matter of 10 minutes we had fresh towels.

The facilities were very nice and kept very clean. Staff was unbelieveably courteous and helpful - have to say that I have never stayed at a resort where the staff were this nice and conscientious. It was really a pleasure. Carts were readily available in the parking garage and lobby area to move luggage and groceries. No long waits for elevator either. Used the work out facilities and they are basic but fine.

We did not have to "reserve" chairs down by the pool....although it could get rather crowded on the weekends. Seems that some locals have passes or something to use the pool area - there were two mothers with 5 kids our first weekend there. One recommendation is that there be some kind of lock from the beach to the pool area. We experienced several folks who came in off the beach to use the pool - they didn't shower off the sand from their feet and one young teen age male jumped off the slide into the pool - very very dangerous. Security came around mid to late afternoon to check that folks had their orange bands or authority to be on the property - but by that time most intruders had left.

The beach is right there outside the pool area. There are chairs and umbrellas that can be rented; walking the beach either direction was very nice - you can walk for miles. Several of the resorts/condos along the way have Tiki Bars that are open to the public if you want to stop and have a drink. Pier is just south of the resort and very walkable.

We would not hesitate to return to this resort....

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms look out over the vacant lot next door, so no obstruction to see the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we checked in, we were impressed with this hotel! Tisha checked us in, and even moved our room when we requested a room with a nice view.....Every person working there was professional, courteous, and we felt like royalty!!!! The hotel was amazingly clean, and very comfortable, I felt like I was at home!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room facing the ocean!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The room is ok. Big with one bedroom. The bathroom is overall clean however the shower is a little gross, handicapped seat is all rusted. My biggest issue is the room location. View of a dumpster and what is worse is the dumpster noise outside the window. They should make that floor an offices floor or something. We asked to be switched the second night however our request was not honored. The rusted bathroom and dumpster view/noise break the deal for me. I would not chance this hotel to be stuck on that floor......don't gamble....they will place you there.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay here at Daytona Beach Regency did not meet your expectations. Room requests such as a specific view type can be submitted prior to arrival; however, regrettably, they cannot always be secured due to our allocation policy and operational procedures. We are truly sorry we could not relocate you during your stay, as we were at full occupancy at the time your request was submitted. Unfortunately, we have no control over when the city sanitation department schedules their trash pickups. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We werent expecting this much space. Rooms were big bathroom was big enough to get ready and living area amazing- bedroom and living room has tv, there's i home and balcony! it was close to everything- Staff was sooo friendly so sweet- Even though the weather wasnt the best. the hotel made it amazing with their outdoor heated pool and slide and indoor pool and Jacuzzi!
They have a fitness room a game arcade room a hang out lounge indoor by the pool
I dont know what to say but AMAZING!

Room Tip: above 5-6th floors are better views ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the premium amenities and layout of our spacious guestroom accommodations and that you found them to be well suited for your needs during your stay. Our location, close to exciting attractions nearby and on- site, is one of the main reasons that guests have chosen to stay with us. Our team members will be thrilled that you were pleased with their friendly service. We hope that your stay was a memorable one and that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.