We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are Diamond Resort owners and this was our first time staying at one of their properties (our timeshare was acquired by Diamond). We were upgraded to unit 709 overlooking the beach - nice surprise! We were able to check-in at 3:30 as room was available - check in was seamless and quick. Jen, the concierge, provided some materials and recommendations for us. The unit was quite spacious for two persons; unit was clean, very comfortable and decor was very nice. A couple of the dressers/storage units showed a little wear on the edges and the living room sofa sleeper has seen better days, but everything else was very very nice. Due to constructionon outside of building, our balcony could not always be used during the day, but that was not a problem. The kitchen was well stocked and the resort provided paper towels, dishwasher soap and detergent for doing laundry. Laundry was right outside our door (2 washers and 2 dryers - never saw a wait to use); no cost to use the washers or dryers, just needed to have your own detergent or fabric softner. That was a very nice perk.

Shamika came to our door about midway through the week and offered service to swap sheets and towels and clean up a little. This was great. Pool towels can be exchanged but you have to call the front desk and they will bring up and swap out. In a matter of 10 minutes we had fresh towels.

The facilities were very nice and kept very clean. Staff was unbelieveably courteous and helpful - have to say that I have never stayed at a resort where the staff were this nice and conscientious. It was really a pleasure. Carts were readily available in the parking garage and lobby area to move luggage and groceries. No long waits for elevator either. Used the work out facilities and they are basic but fine.

We did not have to "reserve" chairs down by the pool....although it could get rather crowded on the weekends. Seems that some locals have passes or something to use the pool area - there were two mothers with 5 kids our first weekend there. One recommendation is that there be some kind of lock from the beach to the pool area. We experienced several folks who came in off the beach to use the pool - they didn't shower off the sand from their feet and one young teen age male jumped off the slide into the pool - very very dangerous. Security came around mid to late afternoon to check that folks had their orange bands or authority to be on the property - but by that time most intruders had left.

The beach is right there outside the pool area. There are chairs and umbrellas that can be rented; walking the beach either direction was very nice - you can walk for miles. Several of the resorts/condos along the way have Tiki Bars that are open to the public if you want to stop and have a drink. Pier is just south of the resort and very walkable.

We would not hesitate to return to this resort....

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms look out over the vacant lot next door, so no obstruction to see the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    99
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
112
75
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we checked in, we were impressed with this hotel! Tisha checked us in, and even moved our room when we requested a room with a nice view.....Every person working there was professional, courteous, and we felt like royalty!!!! The hotel was amazingly clean, and very comfortable, I felt like I was at home!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room facing the ocean!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The room is ok. Big with one bedroom. The bathroom is overall clean however the shower is a little gross, handicapped seat is all rusted. My biggest issue is the room location. View of a dumpster and what is worse is the dumpster noise outside the window. They should make that floor an offices floor or something. We asked to be switched the second night however our request was not honored. The rusted bathroom and dumpster view/noise break the deal for me. I would not chance this hotel to be stuck on that floor......don't gamble....they will place you there.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay here at Daytona Beach Regency did not meet your expectations. Room requests such as a specific view type can be submitted prior to arrival; however, regrettably, they cannot always be secured due to our allocation policy and operational procedures. We are truly sorry we could not relocate you during your stay, as we were at full occupancy at the time your request was submitted. Unfortunately, we have no control over when the city sanitation department schedules their trash pickups. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We werent expecting this much space. Rooms were big bathroom was big enough to get ready and living area amazing- bedroom and living room has tv, there's i home and balcony! it was close to everything- Staff was sooo friendly so sweet- Even though the weather wasnt the best. the hotel made it amazing with their outdoor heated pool and slide and indoor pool and Jacuzzi!
They have a fitness room a game arcade room a hang out lounge indoor by the pool
I dont know what to say but AMAZING!

Room Tip: above 5-6th floors are better views ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the premium amenities and layout of our spacious guestroom accommodations and that you found them to be well suited for your needs during your stay. Our location, close to exciting attractions nearby and on- site, is one of the main reasons that guests have chosen to stay with us. Our team members will be thrilled that you were pleased with their friendly service. We hope that your stay was a memorable one and that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent the weekend from April 19-21 at the Regency while we were in town for a cheerleading competition. Check in was fast and easy by a pleasant pair of ladies. After reading all the reviews here I was not surprised to hear I did not have an oceanfront room (I am not an owner at this time-share resort) and was disappointed to be placed on the south side of the building. My request to be moved to the north was quickly and pleasantly accommodated- and we were rewarded with a great view from our 8th floor room. The kitchen appliances and accessories were in great repair and everything we needed- from wine openers to paper towels and dish detergent were all there.

While there was a bit of a damp smell in the hall (hey- it;s an oceanfront property) the room and grounds were spotless. Thick, fluffy towels were plentiful, as were pillows. My daughter found the pull out couch as uncomfortable as any other- the mattress is thin and the bottom right corner springs were broken from everyone sitting on the corner. The king bed in the bedroom was fabulous. The bedroom was very large and could easily house a couple of pack and plays or even a blow-up mattress. The i-home was a hit with my daughter, as were the two large televisions. We wished the wall of windows in the bedroom opened, but visitors with little ones will feel safe. Additionally- the slider has a high chain lock that will prevent toddlers from wandering onto the balcony.

Finally, the two pools and hot tubs (indoor and out) were clean, and the adults appreciated the padded outdoor loungers. We saw security roaming the grounds and felt safe allowing our teenager to use the pools in the late evening with her friends. After checking out the front desk staff loaned us towels to enjoy the pool area for a few hours before the drive home.

Room Tip: North side has a better view (building next door is torn down) The higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Took my 87 year old mother & 67 years spouse for birthday and anniversary celebration. Reserved a ocean front room upon arrival placed on a wall view of 25 story hotel above dumpsters. Upon check out with back to room and found staff horsing around in bathroom shower. On the way home hotel manager call me and accused me of breaking a counter top, shower door and shower control valve. They charged my credit card $1963.00 dollars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay here at Daytona Beach Regency did not meet your expectations. Room requests such as a specific view type can be submitted prior to arrival; however, regrettably, they cannot always be secured due to the resort’s allocation policy and operational procedures. We have investigated your concerns regarding our team members and after a thorough review, we could not identify that any such activity occurred. Any incidents involving damage of and to our property are taken very seriously, as the standards of our resort accommodation, fixtures & fittings are of the highest quality. If damage does occur, we do communicate with the respective guests involved and always hope to resolve these situations amicably. The damages you state had been recorded as happening during your stay and subsequently the amount was invoiced and issued to you for payment. We look forward to hearing from you in response to the issued invoice so that we can resolve this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was there from Mar 24-31. The room was an ocean view, but was nice to be able to see N. Atlantic Ave as well. The living area is nice, dining area a little cramped, but nice to have the breakfast counter, which came in handy. The bedrooms are nice and spacious with comfortable beds, pillows and linens. The only complaint is about the wifi. It was terrible, if you wanted to get a continuous signal from your suite. I ended up having to sit close to the door or using the computers on the ground floor. I would also suggest that there be more lounge chairs added, as it was hard to find one after 10:00am. The staff are very friendly and are there to assist you. Games and music were nice to have on the patio. Nice to see that they were not only for children. It gets people up and interacting a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.