We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, scenic, relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, scenic, relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After years of staying at chaotic resorts in Daytona, waiting on elevators and fighting for pool chairs got to be too much! We took a chance on the Daytona Beach Regency Resort and were plesantly surprised! The hotel staff was kind and caring, the room was beautiful, the kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed, the pool and deck area was well maintained and not too crowded, and it was located close to all of the beach action. Next time you are in Daytona, do yourself a favor and check this place out. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    109
    31
    15
    21
See reviews for
121
80
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon Springs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently purchased a fixed week at this property in a private sale. I wasn't expecting much, just looking for a place to stay on our annual visit before or after Orlando. So for a small investment, we thought we would give it a try and we were pleasantly surprised.

The location is fantastic. It's located right at the north end of the Ocean Walk. You do actually have to walk 20 steps or so in the sand to actually get to the "boardwalk" itself, but it is very nicely located. The small stretch of beach in front of the hotel does not allow car travel. This was especially good for us since we were traveling with our 2 year old grandson. Daytona Beach IS the venue for Daytona travelers, and the location of this hotel is ideal for those that want to experience it.

I think the fact that this is a relatively small resort is what makes it pretty unique. We never had to fight for chairs at the pool area. There was a great slide into the pool and the kids never had to wait in line. The pool is heated and at a nice temperature. The hot tub was a little warm for my taste, but the kids seemed to like it. The wait time at the Tiki Bar was never long, and the staff was all around great. We enjoyed the gas grills in the pool deck and actually barbecued several times during our stay. A package of hot dogs, sausages and burgers; and dinner was taken care of for at least three nights of the stay.

The rooms are a little dated in terms of looks, but not a disappointment or anything like that. The decor is just Nt really modern. Although it has been well taken care of. The kitchen is stocked with necessary untensils and dishes. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lock off which was spacious and took care of all our needs. We were a little disappointed that there is no in room laundry. However, each floor has a free laundry area which was very clean and more convenient than finding a laundry mat.

There is only a one time maid service throughout the week. My wife and I use our timeshare investment extensively and I have to say that I have never seen a condo tht has daily maid service, unless you wanted to pay for it, so we were not surprised by that like some of the other reviewers were. However, I will say that the amount of towels that are available in the room are not sufficient especially without in room laundry. DBR might want to add a few more towels to the room for that purpose alone.

All in all, this was an excellent place to stay for our family and we look forward to returning again next year. It a far superior experience to any of the hotel options we have tried on Daytona Beach, and we have tried a lot of them. Nicely done DBR!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for deciding to become an owner here at Daytona Beach Regency and for also taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. We want to welcome you to our family, and were extremely thrilled to hear that your recent stay here went well. It was really pleasing to read that our location close to beach met you and your families’ needs and that our staff went the extra mile and provided superior Customer Service. We have just started a long overdue multiyear refurbishment plan to upgrade our units’ kitchen and bathroom facilities. Your suggestion about adding additional towels to each room will be noted and brought to review for future guests. We are truly grateful to receive your review of our resort, and we look forward to continuing our vacation destination relationship with you and your family for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent spring break in a two bedroom/two bath lock-out unit. The unit was very nicely decorated and the 2 kitchens were very well equipped with all new pots, pans, plates, glasses, etc. The furniture was well maintained and the beds were wonderful. We had maid service mid way through the week which was very nice. Beach towels were included and exchanged as needed. Lots of activities for kids and adults provided by the resort. Overall the resort was very nice, however the complaints about the noise and views from the south side of the building were true. The resort should have taken a break from renovations during the spring break/bike weeks. We had room 907 which while not directly ocean front did have a wonderful view of the beach. The south side has a large building next to it, so not sure how that can be corrected. The only real issue we had was that the wi-fi in our unit was non-existent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your apartment comfortable and well equipped. We apologise if the maintenance works caused you any disruption - we do try and keep this to the minimum, however.
We hope you will appreciate that, regretfully, as the resort is busy throughout the year, there is never an ideal time to carry out the works. Therefore, we can only apologise for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We do hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a free 2 night stay at this hotel, due to a Nephew with a great deal @ Groupon. 2 Days after Bike Week and 1 week after spring break started we checked into a rather NICE hotel! The rooms were nice. The kitchen full, the bed very comfortable. I unpacked, put the clothes in the drawers, toiletries in the bathroom, etc. And that's where it ended for us!


After checking in, just hours after the 2nd part of my party checked into their room (with a view). We checked in, looked around, opened up our curtains to reveal..... the dumpsters @ the hotell across the alley. Looked down and their was the the dumpster from our hotel, already wafting the smell of food sweat up to the 2nd floor balcony (our balcony). On the sliding glass door was a note posted NOT to use our balcony between the hours of 7:30 & 4:30 due to "falling debris" from overhead while painting....

I called down and asked for another room and the Clerk told me that tomorrow I could call down in the morning and ask if one is available because tonite there was none.

Soooo, tomorrow comes and we're already unpacked and decide to NOT go out onto the balcony and to live in darkness as to not get the view either. We leave, we come back to notice that there is someone painting the railings ON our balcony. Hmmmm? Did I lock the slider? Oops, maybe not! We go lock the slider, and decide to hang out in the room for a while. Well not for too long. Because not only are they painting at the hotel, but their using a chipping hammer somewhere that is reverbertating through the hotel, down the concrete walls, no matter what side of the building you are on.

We ended up staying out of the hotel for at least 7 hours just because of the noise!

Yes, was the room clean. Yes, the room was nice. But that is where it ended. It's the middle of Spring Break, Bike Week, and the end of "florida season", Close it down for renovations, get it done in one week instead of inconviencing people for days on end.

As for the Dumpsters? Ask for a room on the Odd side of the building, which has a 1/4 mile of ocean view (angled) or pay for the straight on ocean view. don't get a room with an even number room. We had 206, and I could smell the meal from the week before when I opened my sliding glass door!

Good thing to do during the stay? You can actually DRIVE on the beach for a couple of miles. Check it out, it's like $5 for the day....

Beaches Are NICE! Great food around the area! Wings, BBQ, Starbucks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It is a part of our ethos to offer our guests a relaxing and enjoyable time at our resort and we are equally disappointed to read that this was not the case on this occasion. We would like to take this opportunity to kindly note that although necessary, maintenance works are never convenient; however we would like to guarantee that we are doing our best to keep any potential disruption caused to an absolute minimum. Nevertheless, we can only apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and assure you that should you decide to visit us again, we would do our best to ensure that you can enjoy a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Got through Priceline, two days after Daytona 500. Greeted by Tisha, who could not be more accommodating. Room with view of ocean and plenty of space (small suite, kitchen, etc.). No tv guide, so you have to go through the channels. Be sure and see if internet is for a cost. I did not use it there, I think, because there is. Free parking under facility. Easy access to two good breakfast places across the street. Older hotel, but units are well cared for and bed was comfortable. Service was great when needed. Nice pool and beach area. Be sure and drive on beach, only beach I know that allows that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, enjoyed the spacious suite and nice views over beach and downtown Daytona. Staff very friendly and flexible. Furniture not the newest but enerally ok. Balcony was not very clean. Beach directly behind hotel. Short walk to dining & shopping. This upmarket but still charming hotel comes recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our beautiful resort. We are extremely excited and pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our prime beachfront location, incredible views and spacious open floor plans are some of the reasons why our guests have chosen to stay here year after year. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you thought that they were very pleasant, and accommodating. As we always practice The Meaning of Yes ®, we would have been more than happy to help with any cleaning needs. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we thank you for it! We look forward to being able to accommodate you and your family and friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Needed a place to stay for a few days in Daytona Beach and this turned out to be a great deal. While it may not be the newest nicest place in the neighborhood, it suited my needs best. The Daytona Beach Regency was clean, well kept, has full kitchens with dishes, pots and utensils. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was free.

The only negative was having to listening to a sales pitch when checking in. This property is part of Diamond Resorts International. Check-in took at least 20 minutes.

I was there in December, Daytona Beach seemed almost vacant. I don't like crowds. That and the price ($90/night including tax) may have influenced my opinion of the Daytona Beach Regency.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.