We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Otherwise Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Good Location, Otherwise Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Daytona Beach Regency for two nights on our way home from Key West. Our room was on the eighth floor on the side away from the Wyndham. That was a good location, as we had a beach view due to the fact that there was a vacant lot next door. However, there was a sold sign on the lot, so construction next door might mean a noisy stay in the future. It is also close to the boardwalk and a very nice movie theatre.
There was a nice pool and hot tub, as well as a good beach property. We did not use either, primarily because of cool weather and other priorities. Otherwise the amenities were sparse. We typically stay in larger (newer) resorts, so may be spoiled by this. While we were there for two nights, we were only there for one day and it was Christmas Day. We did not expect any programs or events and were not surprised. However, the staff on duty was very friendly and seemed competent and helpful.
Our room was missing a toaster but one was delivered promptly on request. The bed was clean and comfortable and the room was fine. The bathroom was fine for a hotel but not up to the standards we usually find in a resort.
If space were available, we would probably choose to stay at the Wyndham next door (we did try to book it but it was full by the time we booked for this last-minute trip). It seems to be a larger, newer resort with a lot more facilities. However, if the Wyndham were not available, we would not hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: Ask about construction next door and book on other side if construction has started.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    96
    24
    14
    20
See reviews for
108
72
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chagrin falls
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would generally give this property good reviews; however do not accept rm 203! I used frequent flier miles to purchase a 2 bdrm suite (which usually means you get worst rm in house - which we did). Suite was very spacious - 2 bedroom/2 bath. Recent renovations apparent including fresh paint and new carpet in halls. Also appliances in kitchen looked new. However, we had worst view ever. Rm 203 is directly above lobby - so no balcony or view because the windows are taken up by the lobby's roof. Felt like we were in a basement. We didn't ask to switch rms because only staying one nt & everyone exhausted. Despite that, nice property - within walking distance to boardwalk and right on beach. Pool area was welcoming and pool was warm - even though 50 outside. Hot tub was not working. Inside pool was freezing. Hotel supplies pool towels and selection of starter kirchen items (coffee, tea, paper towels, dish soap) and for bath too. Hotel needs to clean out vent system. My husbands allergies were in overdrive - thought it was dusty vents. Parking complimentary - inside & out. Calendar looked like it had some fun events - movie nt by pool and spa day. Just make sure you carefully select your rm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort is a pleasant building with some signs of wear on the furniture and in the flooring. We stayed on the sixth floor and had the same experience as some others that visited in late 2012. The building is long rather than wide so there are few suites on the ocean - most have a "glimpse" of the ocean off the side balcony - this was the case for us. the long side facing south butts up against the Wyndam and their trash recepticle is on the street just below the Regency. Every load of trash down their 20 story trash chute can be heard in the rooms across the way. Like I said, bad neighbor, but little that Diamond International can do about it, though they should try and work something out.

The hotel is one hour from St. Augustine, and that was one of the focal points of our visit. It was a great ride up the coast and the city of St. Augustine is incredible, full of charm, history and photo ops. We enjoyed climbing the St. Augustine Lighthouse as well as touring the Castillo de San Marcos there. We ate in several of the restaurants (Sara's Crepes and the Irish Pub across from the Fort) and enjoyed the food and the outdoor dining, even in December. We also visited Ponce Inlet, FL just 20 minutes south of the Regency. There, we visited and one of us climbed the beautiful lighthouse there too. That same day we made our way back onto the mainland and down to New Smyrna and over to the beach there to visit the Canaveral National Seashore. That was a good time as well. We visited the Eldora Historical Site and once again took many pictures. Tot he south using a very powerful camera lens I managed several pictures that included Canaveral's Shuttle Assembly Building on the horizon. The Regency was a good location for these visits.

The Regency is also located two blocks from the "Boardwalk" area of Daytona Beach - the kids were having a lot of fun there and Joe's Crab Shack on the Daytona Beach Pier was a very active place.

As to the amenities things were just so so. The internet connection in the room was terrible. Being an active photographer who relies on access to the internet meant I was frustrated except at 4:30 in the morning (as is the hour at this moment) when there are few folks connected. But, when 9 a.m. arrives and folks are on the stir the connection will become overwhelmed. Also, when one in the afternoonarrives folks are out and about and the internet gets a littl ebetter. But come the dinner hour and the rest of the evening and night, the internet is useless. Our concierge suggested we come to the hotel lobby where the connection is better - I told him to fix the room connection as I didn't come to spend my creative time in a hotel lobby!

Would I return to this property? Probably not, but if there was nothing going on anywhere else in Florida, I might.

By the way the trip was my wife and I here for Christmas and a lot of photo shoots (both of us are photo nuts). Typically we are Marriott Vacation CLub travelers, this is no Marriott, maybe 65-70% of a Marriott Club.

Room Tip: If you are not in one of the beach side rooms your accommodations are routine at best. There are ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent a week in early December . Was greeted by friendly staff. Jonathan was professional and attentive. Enjoyed the beach, pool, and location . Some of the room was dated balcony very old and tired. Loved the beach view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were large and wonderful. Great location, super close to the boardwalk and right next to the interstate. They have a great pool with a sliding board and the hot tub was always 104 degrees. The entertainment staff (Andrew) was awesome and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well, I expected a lot better, considering other Diamond Resort properties I've used. The rooms were visually OK, but the maintenance of the property left a lot to be desired. May have just been my bad luck, but the carpet in my unit was flooded by the laundry room next door, and the maintenance staff didn't take it too seriously. By the 3rd day, the room smelled of mildew and they finally moved me. The new room, on the 5th floor on the south side had no view but the Wyndham parking lot next door. Plus, every time someone threw a bag of trash -- and beer bottles -- into the trash chute, you could here it crash loudly into the dumpster below, day and night. The original room, on the 2nd floor, faced north, with a nice view of the beach, BUT the music blaring in the parking lot below kept us up until we complained again and again two nights in a row. We stayed here in mid-December, and the nearby streets and beaches seemed filled with panhandlers, drinkers, and "ladies of the night" instead of happy tourists. We've been in Daytona Beach during the summer, and it was somewhat family oriented, but NOT during this early winter week. No wonder they have security staff walking the grounds and hallways! Well, maybe I'll give it another try, but will certainly avoid the winter, the south side of the building, and the lower floors. BTW, the staff was not all that attentive. Not sure what's going on there, but they need some help being more friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Disinterested at best, gruff at worst, and not all that well informed. As a contrast, we visited with some friends who were staying at the Daytona Shores Resort and Spa, and they had a MUCH nicer experience at the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the north side. Nicer view, and less street and parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our room had a wonderful view of the beach and pool area. We could not have gotten a better view. We had a one bedroom suite that was very clean. The bathroom, kitchen area, and bedroom were all updated. The living room was a bit dated (old, tired furniture). The staff were friendly and willing to quickly respond to our questions and requests. The Tiki Bar located on hotel property was an easy place to grab a sandwich while at the pool or a quick drink before dinner. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at Daytona Beach Regency - thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It is very important to us to ensure that our members have a pleasurable stay and can fully relax in a home-like atmosphere. We would like to take this opportunity and advise that we are constantly upgrading and the issues you have mentioned will be addressed. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;