We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair amenities, bad neighbors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Save Saved
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, fair amenities, bad neighbors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort is a pleasant building with some signs of wear on the furniture and in the flooring. We stayed on the sixth floor and had the same experience as some others that visited in late 2012. The building is long rather than wide so there are few suites on the ocean - most have a "glimpse" of the ocean off the side balcony - this was the case for us. the long side facing south butts up against the Wyndam and their trash recepticle is on the street just below the Regency. Every load of trash down their 20 story trash chute can be heard in the rooms across the way. Like I said, bad neighbor, but little that Diamond International can do about it, though they should try and work something out.

The hotel is one hour from St. Augustine, and that was one of the focal points of our visit. It was a great ride up the coast and the city of St. Augustine is incredible, full of charm, history and photo ops. We enjoyed climbing the St. Augustine Lighthouse as well as touring the Castillo de San Marcos there. We ate in several of the restaurants (Sara's Crepes and the Irish Pub across from the Fort) and enjoyed the food and the outdoor dining, even in December. We also visited Ponce Inlet, FL just 20 minutes south of the Regency. There, we visited and one of us climbed the beautiful lighthouse there too. That same day we made our way back onto the mainland and down to New Smyrna and over to the beach there to visit the Canaveral National Seashore. That was a good time as well. We visited the Eldora Historical Site and once again took many pictures. Tot he south using a very powerful camera lens I managed several pictures that included Canaveral's Shuttle Assembly Building on the horizon. The Regency was a good location for these visits.

The Regency is also located two blocks from the "Boardwalk" area of Daytona Beach - the kids were having a lot of fun there and Joe's Crab Shack on the Daytona Beach Pier was a very active place.

As to the amenities things were just so so. The internet connection in the room was terrible. Being an active photographer who relies on access to the internet meant I was frustrated except at 4:30 in the morning (as is the hour at this moment) when there are few folks connected. But, when 9 a.m. arrives and folks are on the stir the connection will become overwhelmed. Also, when one in the afternoonarrives folks are out and about and the internet gets a littl ebetter. But come the dinner hour and the rest of the evening and night, the internet is useless. Our concierge suggested we come to the hotel lobby where the connection is better - I told him to fix the room connection as I didn't come to spend my creative time in a hotel lobby!

Would I return to this property? Probably not, but if there was nothing going on anywhere else in Florida, I might.

By the way the trip was my wife and I here for Christmas and a lot of photo shoots (both of us are photo nuts). Typically we are Marriott Vacation CLub travelers, this is no Marriott, maybe 65-70% of a Marriott Club.

Room Tip: If you are not in one of the beach side rooms your accommodations are routine at best. There are ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    89
    24
    15
    19
See reviews for
102
65
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent a week in early December . Was greeted by friendly staff. Jonathan was professional and attentive. Enjoyed the beach, pool, and location . Some of the room was dated balcony very old and tired. Loved the beach view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were large and wonderful. Great location, super close to the boardwalk and right next to the interstate. They have a great pool with a sliding board and the hot tub was always 104 degrees. The entertainment staff (Andrew) was awesome and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well, I expected a lot better, considering other Diamond Resort properties I've used. The rooms were visually OK, but the maintenance of the property left a lot to be desired. May have just been my bad luck, but the carpet in my unit was flooded by the laundry room next door, and the maintenance staff didn't take it too seriously. By the 3rd day, the room smelled of mildew and they finally moved me. The new room, on the 5th floor on the south side had no view but the Wyndham parking lot next door. Plus, every time someone threw a bag of trash -- and beer bottles -- into the trash chute, you could here it crash loudly into the dumpster below, day and night. The original room, on the 2nd floor, faced north, with a nice view of the beach, BUT the music blaring in the parking lot below kept us up until we complained again and again two nights in a row. We stayed here in mid-December, and the nearby streets and beaches seemed filled with panhandlers, drinkers, and "ladies of the night" instead of happy tourists. We've been in Daytona Beach during the summer, and it was somewhat family oriented, but NOT during this early winter week. No wonder they have security staff walking the grounds and hallways! Well, maybe I'll give it another try, but will certainly avoid the winter, the south side of the building, and the lower floors. BTW, the staff was not all that attentive. Not sure what's going on there, but they need some help being more friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Disinterested at best, gruff at worst, and not all that well informed. As a contrast, we visited with some friends who were staying at the Daytona Shores Resort and Spa, and they had a MUCH nicer experience at the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the north side. Nicer view, and less street and parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our room had a wonderful view of the beach and pool area. We could not have gotten a better view. We had a one bedroom suite that was very clean. The bathroom, kitchen area, and bedroom were all updated. The living room was a bit dated (old, tired furniture). The staff were friendly and willing to quickly respond to our questions and requests. The Tiki Bar located on hotel property was an easy place to grab a sandwich while at the pool or a quick drink before dinner. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at Daytona Beach Regency - thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It is very important to us to ensure that our members have a pleasurable stay and can fully relax in a home-like atmosphere. We would like to take this opportunity and advise that we are constantly upgrading and the issues you have mentioned will be addressed. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is right on Daytona Beach and is a very fun property. It has an indoor/outdoor pool, a poolside tiki bar, restaurant, game room, indoor and outdoor hot tubs and a outdoor water slide. Also, on the beach it has beach chairs and a very nice location in the "heart" of the Daytona Beach area. We stayed in one of the 1-bedroom condo and it had all the appliances you could ask for and a completely stocked kitchen with pots/pans, dishes, dinnerware, etc. The hotel also has free wi-fi and free underground secured parking. I would recommend this hotel for a anyone who wants a nice beach getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We appreciate you leaving this review of your vacation at Daytona Beach Regency. It is great to read that you took advantage of all the onsite facilities and room amenities which makes this such a popular resort with our guests. Hopefully you will choose to come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October after coordinating our stay with the weekend the airshow was going on at the beach. It is located near the Daytona Beach Hilton and pier. We arrived and the lobby was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. They do try to get you to participate in a timeshare lecture, but we just didn't have the time, so we didn't do that. Our room was on the fourth floor, facing the North side, so we had a partial oceanview. The other side looked like it would have been completely blocked by a giant condominium, so we think we probably lucked out on the view. The room itself seemed a little dated, although clean. The applicances in the kitchen looked new. The bathroom was roomy and had an oversized tub. The downside of the unit being a little older, it had quite a musty smell. We opened the sliding doors to air it out, which helped a little. We weren't sure if previous vacationers/timeshare owners had smoked in the unit, but it definitely was musty, no matter what we did. We did check the A/C filter, which was pretty dirty, but at least didn't see any visible mold in it. One downside is that we heard a lot of traffic, including motorcycles, at all hours of the night. But we were out of our room during the day--the deck and pool area was very nice. The area was clean, the chairs were nice, and there was plenty of room to sit. We did notice people from the beach were just walking up and in, then using the pool, etc. They didn't seem to have any kind of check on that. In fact, one lady who showed up went down the slide and landed in the deep side of the pool and couldn't swim. This resulted in some drama at the pool where some others had to rescue her out of the pool. Then she just took off down the beach again and dissappeared. The Tiki bar was convenient, although a little pricey, but we had a certificate to use there. We tried a tuna wrap and chicken ceasar wrap--both were a little small, very little meat in them. For free, it was okay, but if I had paid the price they were asking, I wouldn't have felt like I got my money's worth. We also tried the Island burger--same result, a little small, especially for the price they were asking. Some of the Tiki Bar frequent guests had been drinking all day, and you end up seeing people staggering back inside the hotel--not the most attractive thing to witness. Not that that's any fault of the hotel, but late in the day, that's the atomosphere by the pool area. The access to the beach was fine, and it's an easy walk down to the pier. We did go to Aunt Catfish's for dinner one night, which was excellent, and convenient to get to from the hotel via a short drive. We also tried out the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Both were very nice--definitely a plus! The day we checked out, we stayed to watch the airshow again, but the front desk said it was no problem to continue to park there for the day, so that was nice. Overall, the stay met our needs, but probably a little more busy for our taste. While the lobby and first floor area was very nice, the room needed a little more work. Hopefully they'll be doing some renovating on those soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach
Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.