We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo, but beware of major renovations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice condo, but beware of major renovations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We returned home this past Sunday after a week spent at the Daytona Regency. I booked the accommodation on 8/24 and at the time no mention was made anywhere that they are busy doing major upgrades to the balconies by putting up new rails - that the contractors begin working at 9am and end at 6pm (and don't always end punctually - so one has no other option but to complain to the staff). When I booked I asked to be placed in a unit on the north side of the building on one of the lower floors, however the day we arrived we were told none of those units were available, and we were put on the south side on the 4th floor. We only became aware of these renovations on Monday morning when we were awoken by hammer drills that felt like they were coming through the walls and the roof of the house and an electric crane that belched smoke and made a dreadful racket each time the basket would be lifted or lowered which meant we couldn't even go out onto our balcony, not that we would have because instead of a view, we looked directly into Wyndham's dumpster and parking area . I spoke to the General Manager who told me that units on the north (quiet) side were reserved for owners and club members which means people like us who are independent, were treated like substandard guests and put where all this noise was happening. He did assure me at the time of our conversation that they would try to move us, but that they were full - and no-one ever got back to us, so I presume they continued to remain full - My husband and I had taken this vacation to go and enjoy a bit of peace and quiet, do some reading, go for quiet strolls on the beach, but instead we were forced to leave the resort Monday through Friday and had to spend our time at public beach areas or in malls to get away from all the hammering. I thought the resort was really well run, it was clean, the beds were great, as was the garden tub in our 2 bedroom - However if you are independently considering to rent a condo at Regency between now and the end of the year (the General Manager told me these renovations began in October and would run all the way through the end of December) I would be very sure to ask these people what type of renovations they are busy with and how noisy it is going to be ..... if you are going to spend all your time on the beach or do touristy stuff, and won't be at the condo but to sleep - that is fine - however if you are planning of doing more time at the resort, be aware that you are going to get very little peace and quiet !!

Room Tip: Why bother ..... management told me the quiet side of the building was reserved for owners and club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns of your most recent stay here at Daytona Beach Regency. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning about the concerns you brought up in regard to the noise and handling of your request for relocation. We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. In regard to your concerns about room assignment, there seems to have been a miscommunication about how we assign rooms to our members, owners, and guests. Fixed owners and certain members of our management company have purchased specific units for occupancy, and are assigned that unit on an annual basis. For those units, we cannot relocate or reassign other guests for occupancy, as it would be unfair to the current member, owner, or guest to just kick them out because another guest wants to stay there. When assigning a unit to future guests, the fact that they are a member, owner, or guest does not have an effect on the type of unit they are receiving, unless they are one of the owners or members described above. Our front desk staff will do everything in their power to locate an unoccupied and serviceable room that meets a guest’s request. Unfortunately, due to the high occupancy of our resort during the time of your stay, we were unable to relocate you and your party. For any upgrade project that is currently scheduled, we notify our 3rd party rental and exchange affiliates of these projects, so that they can notify their clients. We truly regret hearing that the company that booked your reservation failed to advise you of this upgrade project, and we will make sure to let them know of your disappointment due to this failure of notification. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much less noisy and even exceed your expectations as a vacation destination for you and your party. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    99
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
112
75
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a two bedroom lockoff. Kitchen was tight but adequate. Livingroom very nice. Dining area was confied by two close walls and a pillar, so getting in and out of your chair was a bit difficult. Master bath room was accross the hall from the bedroom, which meant you had to wear a robe to get there. Master bathroom had no tub, only a shower. Lockoff had a tub in the bedroom and a shower in the bathroom. Balcony had room for two chairs and a small table and awas off the living room. Lockoff had no balcony. Pool area was very nice, but by 2:30 PM the shdow of the building had blocked the sun, so it was almost totally in the shade. The exercise room was more than adequarte, and there was a computer room with two computers and a printer. Wi-fi in the room worked well most of the time but slowed down at 5:00 PM. The staff was the best part of the hotel, as they were very friendly, and when we needed something fixed in the room they were there almost right away and the problems were fixed. I have listed the various negatives, but almost any hotel will have them. The location is prime, and I will definately recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the North side, so that you have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here at Daytona Beach Regency. We appreciate the feedback about our lockoff units, and are extremely glad that our accommodations, amenities, location, and especially our staff, met, if not, exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is truly appreciated, and we hope you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were very very lucky since we probably got the finest room of the whole resort... the presidential suite no. 1109 on the 11th (and last) floor... really amazing.... and huge... with oversized windows overlooking Daytona's stunning beach... with the bed facing the sun rise every morning... nice and recent furniture, a shower able to accomodate 5 people at least and a huge hot tub.... two lcd tv... a modern kitchen with all the facilities... in the end, an amazing stay! So why only 4 and not 5 out of 5 as a rate? Because the resort shows its age, and the renovation process is still ongoing. Balconies for instance need painting so much, the lobby is a little old style... but I surely appreciate Diamond's efforts to keep its properties at a good level. One more thing is that internet was a mess. A connection that comes and goes is never good, especially when you travel for business and you need to be in touch with your office. A pleasant stay anyway, I would suggest room 1109 to everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband, daughters, boyfriends, friends, and grandbabies have been going to the Daytona Beach Regency for many, many years (we are actually owners there) - since the mid 1990's! My beloved husband passed away last winter, so, this summer, I just could not bring myself to go back - it was his absolute favorite place, and I was afraid of the memories and feelings that would come flooding back. But, I really missed it badly, so, for our Fall Break at work, I decided to bring my in-laws down for a few days - we had always wanted to take them, but, as you all know, "life" kept getting in the way - and last fall, when we had made plans to take them, my husband became sick with cancer.

So, at the end of this past September, we came down for about 5 days - I made the reservations at the last minute, and Jenny Lou was kind enough to find us a room for Sunday - Friday. We were lucky enough to get a north facing 07 room, which had a great view of the beach and ocean - my father-in-law loved sitting out on that balcony! We had a great time - my mother and father-in-law, and my brother and sister-in-law, just loved the condo, and especially the comfortable beds, the tiki bar, and the closeness to the beach! In fact, they loved it so much, no one wanted to leave! Thank you, once again, to the Regency for making my first trip back to Daytona after my hubby's passing so easy to do - my family and I will definitely be returning there next summer!

Room Tip: Ask for a north-facing room, if there are no oceanfronts available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us and for being an owner here. We want to offer our sincere condolences in regard to the passing of your husband. It was great to hear that you came down with your family, and had such an enjoyable experience. Jenny will really appreciate the mentioning of her in this review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was an amazing hotel! My boyfriend and i stayed for 6 days, it is VERY clean, the staff was very nice and helpful. Iv been in Daytona about 4 times now and stayed in other hotels on the beach but they were nothing like this one. The ONLY thing i didn't like about this hotel is the elevators, the buttons did not work too well otherwise this is the hotel i will always stay in when i visit Daytona!! Thank You Daytona Beach Regency staff for the great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about you and your boyfriend’s stay here. We were very pleased to read that you had a very pleasant experience here, and that our staff went above and beyond in providing exceptional Customer Service. They will be truly touched when they hear about the kind words you had for them. We appreciate your comments about our elevators. One of our maintenance staff will take a look at them to see if there something that needs to be fixed. Keep in mind that our elevators are routinely inspected to make sure they meet Florida Elevator Safety Codes. We really appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to seeing you and your boyfriend again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a very good place to stay. I have stayed here for 4-5 times in the past. Beautiful outside pool area, convenient beachside bar and grill. Fun room for kids. Sauna and exercise area available. Friendly and helpful staff. Great housekeeping service. Comfortable beds, flat screen TV's in room. Well stocked kitchen with cooking utensils. I love staying at this oceanfront facility. The property is clean and well maintained. Different activities available for your enjoyment also.The only thing that I am not happy about is the wireless service. It is not very good inside the rooms. The wireless signal is easily lost if you move around with your laptop, etc. Service is good if you sit in the lobby and use the wi-fi.

Room Tip: We ate breakfast in the room or across the street at IHOP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at this property and would stay here again.
We were disappointed that the outdoor pool was closed for maintenance during our stay but they do have a small indoor pool and spa which was open and was right on the beach.
The staff was friendly and prompt at meeting our needs every time.
The Regency is located adjacent to the Ocean Walk complex so it is a convenient location.
The one bedroom suite had a fully stocked kitchen with full size appliances, a comfortable king bed.
Our suite was located on the south side of the building, the room location was the cause for our only dissatisfaction with our stay;
A. Street noises such a racing motorcycles "funnel" between the buildings which disturbed our sleep at times through the night.
B. The view out the south side contains the large Ocean Walk Garbage dumpster as well as Regency's own dumpster, plus the truck are "not quiet" when emptying them early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our resort. Our outdoor pool was scheduled to serviced and closed for maintenance in September. We tried to notify our 3rd party rental partners about this closure so that they could advise their customers in advance. It is our hope that you were made aware of this before your arrival. We are very delighted to hear our accommodations, amenities, and location met your needs. It does concern us greatly that the location of your room had a negative effect on your stay. Our front desk staff would be more than willing to see if another room with different view would have been available for your stay. We are grateful to hear that, despite this issue, you would be willing to stay here again. Please make sure to contact us beforehand, if you have any special requests, and we will try our best to accommodate them when you arrive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.