We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Save Saved
You added Daytona Beach Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Ocala, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was the last hoorah before the kids went back to school. Fabulous view of the beach. Salt water pool with a slide kept the kids busy all day. Great TIKI bar. Walking distance to Ocean Walk, movies, eateries, pier. I would definitely go again....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    94
    25
    15
    19
See reviews for
104
71
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved this location. Units are roomy and we enjoyed a wonderful view of the ocean. Very clean and friendly staff. Nice little outside bar situated right on the ocean. Within walking distance to many bars and restaurants and the pier. Would go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyrobin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Let me start by saying I have never met much such nice employees anywhere!! Reception was so friendly and welcoming, what a nice change..

Our rooms were spacious and clean (except for the shower in #502, that could use a little sprucing up) and offered at a great price. These rooms would be great for an extended stay since they have a full kitchen and separate bedrooms. The beds were VERY comfortable.

The location of this hotel is great, you can walk to the pier and many restaurants and bars

One thing that bothered me very much was the very strong odor of deordorizer through out the hotel and our room, it was like a cherry bathroom smell (everywhere).

I did enjoy our stay and the employees are SOOO nice..

Room Tip: If you can't get a north facing room, ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at DBR from 9/2-9/9...what started out as a fiasco, ended up nicely. This was a timeshare exchange for us...this was "girls" week. Upon checking in, I learned that Interval had made an error and cancelled our stay..long story but no need to go there. After being introduced to the Operations Manager, John Betros, and being told we had no reservation and he was at 100% capacity...I thought well I guess I'll be driving back to Jacksonville...only 2 hours away but big disappointment for the "girls". Mr. Betros took it upon himself and spent the time to rectify the problem. We were able to stay in a 1BR the first night (there were only 2 of us at that time) and the next day we were able to move into a 2BR lockoff so everyone had plenty of space. Both units 601 and 702/a were nicely appointed and clean. But the management and staff had no idea how they helped me...you see my mom (83) has some health issues and I am the caregiver...I needed this time away so thank you DBR for making it happen for us! The staff everywhere was always friendly...even the burger from the Tiki Bar was very good. Easy access to the beach and being after Labor Day the crowds were gone and it was just a great overall experience. This resort wants you to have a good stay - we were there for down time and relaxing on the beach so we really didn't use the amenities so can't comment on that. Give this place a chance, they aim to please :).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We’re really sorry to read of the incident which arose when you arrived at the Daytona Beach Regency – this is a very unusual situation, and we’re extremely glad that the resort manager was able to resolve it to your satisfaction.

We hope that you’ll choose to return to the Daytona Beach Regency for another vacation, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked an 8 night stay at DBR in February. I requested early check-in (knowing that our flight was going to be in earlier than 3pm) and also requested oceanfront view. Of course "not guaranteed", but they said they would take our request into consideration & "it shouldn't be a problem". When we arrived at 11:15, we were told our room wasn't available but they would call our cell when ready. Sounding as if it would be a short period. At 2:30, we still hadn't received a call so we went back to the resort and when I approached the front desk to inquire about our room..the girl just shook her head (no) & said "not ready yet". We proceeded to wait in the lobby until 3:45 before our room was ready! (not pleased!) Upon entering the room, we found it was very spacious and the beds (not the pull-out) were VERY comfortable. The pull-out was impossible to sleep on. The fully equipped kitchen was nice especially since we were staying so long, we had planned to have breakfast & some lunches in the room. The room itself, on a "cleaning" scale, was a 3/10. The baseboard & vents were disgusting-see for yourself. We arrived on Saturday and by Thursday, we still had no cleaning service in our room. I ended up speaking with the GM (regarding another issue) and he advised they don't offer cleaning daily, it's 'suppose' to be after 4 days (clearly it was longer than 4 days). Our view from the balcony was the hotel next door & their dumpsters. During our stay, we found out this is a timeshare place, so don't expect an oceanfront room unless you own a timeshare at this resort. The pool was fantastic & very clean and the Tiki Bar was awesome!! (Make sure you take care of Mike & Amanda in there!!) One afternoon, the 'security' guard approached me while I was laying out at the pool and asked where my wrist-band was. I proceeded to take it out of my camera bag & put it under my hand (as I didn't want a tan line around my wrist). He said that I needed to WEAR it, that putting it under my hand wasn't sufficient and proceeded to say "I would hate to throw you out of the pool area for not putting the band on". I said the band was UNDER MY HAND & he could CLEARLY SEE IT!! He walked away and came back about a half hour later and said he checked with management and they said that having it under my hand was fine. (Good-because if I'm paying to stay at your resort for 8 days, I don't need to be tagged like an animal!!) He said they were having problems with 'beach-goers' coming up and accessing the pool...maybe they should fix their magnetic gates & only people that have room keys would be able to access their pool?? Seems that would be a good suggestion! Even after talking with the GM and expressing my concerns regarding the pool incident and the cleaning service, we wouldn't be back to this resort. It served the purpose as we were basically only in our room to sleep, but not the quality we had hoped for and anticipated after reading reviews.

Room Tip: Expect to get a room with a dumpster view unless you own a timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Daytona Beach Regency, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for posting this review of our resort. We apologize that you had to wait for your unit to be ready after a long flight. Our Housekeeping staff does try their best to ensure our units are ready for our guests by their requested check in time; however we were at peak occupancy during this time, which may have been the cause for the delay after you arrived. Your concerns about the state of your rooms at check in have been brought up with our Housekeeping staff, as their work prior to your check in was clearly not acceptable by our standards. Please be aware that view requests are handled equally for all guests, regardless of their affiliation with Diamond Resort, or how they booked their reservation. We apologize if anyone here on site informed you differently. Our wristband policy is used to ensure the safety of our guests and to prevent non-paying people from using the pool. The safety and well being of our guests and team members alike is one of our utmost priorities and concerns, and we hope that you will understand why this was advised to you by one of our team members. However, we have brought up the way it was handled with the team member, as their behavior was unacceptable. We are delighted to hear that our staff at the Tiki Bar provided exceptional Customer Service. As we are located in a very popular area in Daytona Beach, we hope that you will reconsider your stance, and decide to stay with us again in the future. If you do decide to stay with us again, we are confident that your next stay will be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rooms are exceptionally large and if you add the lock- out unit it's great for large family's, or grandma and grampa can come along too. The lock-out units have small kitchens and a whirlpool tub bedside. The main unit has a living room and full kitchen with dining table and couch(which sleeps two). The staff always has something special for the kids to do, and there is always something scheduled for the adults and teenagers. The pool is a little hard to swim in because of the current from the slide water gushing into the pool . There is an ocean front cabanna bar, hot tub,and plenty of lounge chairs. The staff at this resort for the most part are very accommodating. There is also an inside pool and hot tub in case of bad weather. Easy walking to shops and restaurants at the Ocean Walk and along A1A.

Room Tip: If you can get Ocean front room of course go for it. Most other rooms at least offer an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We checked in on Sept 1st at the wee hour of the morning. We were able to get a nice north facing room, 2 bedroom lock off. I think they're still working on renovations, but the rooms were nice all the same. Comfy beds, nice kitchen area and spacious. People talk about the bird droppings on the balcony, well I think it's no fault of the resort. We went out on the balcony one night and there stood a pigeon on the light fixture. He was determined to stay. We tried to shoo him away with a cardboard but it didn't phase him. The staff have no problem coming to clean your area. You just have to call.

The tiki bar is pretty nice. Drinks are a little pricey, but no more than being on a cruise. My husband says he would change the bar and have some "roll up" walls installed which would make it nice. It would make it look more open to the deck. Nice idea I think.

We are still here. We check out on the 6th, but we've had a great time so far. No complaints. We would come back :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Address: 400 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.