We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Shores!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Shores Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shores Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 15% Off!
Ranked #35 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Stay at the Shores!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Shores Resort and Spa for New Years Eve, and had a wonderful romantic vacation! The beds were really comfortable, the rooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the hotel was beautiful! We loved the fire pits overlooking the ocean and enjoyed sitting by the fire at night and listening to the waves. For any couple looking for a romantic vacation for a reasonable price we would highly recommend the Shores Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. We are so happy we could help kick-off the New Year in such a positive fashion! We hope you choose to visit again in 2011!
Kind regards,
The Shores Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    195
    90
    66
    37
See reviews for
205
330
31
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

30 DEC 2010: Recommended as one of the better hotels to stay at in Daytona, this place was awful. I am in the military so we actually splurged for the Holidays to come here. This is one of the worst stays I have ever experienced and that is saying a lot from someone who has lived in a tin storage trailer in Iraq.
We arrived to find that we were placed in a double room after booking a King and even calling to verify the morning of (we’re compulsive like that). We were told unless you book on their site nothing is guaranteed (WOW!). We then were offered an accessible King room that when we went in was dusty and in disrepair so we went back to the double since already 8pm. Well the peep hole was missing and someone had to come fix what was essentially a hole in the door where people could see in (we stuffed with tissue until they came) and then to top it off the hotel started drilling with construction 7-8am right above our heads. Really for the holidays too, they should be ashamed. On a positive note, the shower was nice and the beds slept well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We are very sorry your recent visit did not meet your expectations. While we try to accommodate every guest request, with our travel partners we always guarantee the view booked but unfortunately we are not able to guarantee room type as we have limited inventory at times. Our hope is that you give us another chance and allow us to present you with a more positive experience at our resort – it is always our goal to exceed expectations we pride ourselves on our service and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

While down from Chicago for a vacation, my wife and I broke free from the kids for a night to celebrate her 40th birthday at The Shores on Dec 29th. We were hoping for a special evening at what we understood was the nicest facility in the Daytona area. The Shores is a very nice hotel without doubt. The Shores attention to details beyond the beautiful lobby space, however, was extremely disappointing. I made this reservation months in advance and prepaid in full for one of the first floor walk-out lanai rooms. What that got me was the handicapped room with the defective shower. The closet adjacent to the shower had standing water in it when we arrived which we didn't notice until we hung our evening wear in the dark closet with the low-hanging (handicap accessible) clothes rods which then resulted in soaking the lower half of all our clothes. It was a cool day so we were looking forward to enjoying the outdoor hot tub while our clothes dried out, but it was completely out of service. So we instead sat by one of the outdoor firepits and had a drink, but that lasted only 5 minutes until the tiki bar closed and the waitstaff left so we were forced to go fetch our own beverages inside the bar area. We were, however, able to enjoy the beautiful sounds of heavy construction from the scaffolding hanging up above us. We wisely left the hotel for dinner, a great move indeed because we had originally planned to dine in the hotel restaurant. But with hundreds of high school kids in the hotel for a basketaball tournament, the place was a zoo. After a restful sleep in what was a very comfortable bed, I was able to enjoy an eye-opening, ice-cold shower after the hot water was turned off on me mid-shower. Overall, there was NO value to staying at this hotel and similar accommodations can be found in the area with price tags more in line with the performance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We are truly sorry your experiences at our resort were a disappointment to you. Our lanai rooms are quite popular and limited in number. We always strive to accommodate our guests the best we can however, as you mentioned we did have a large group in and were near capacity during your stay with us – making it difficult to move you to another lanai. We were in the final stages of our construction project and did our best to make sure guests were aware – it was a necessary project to insure guest safety and could not be avoided – again, we are sorry it had a negative impact on your visit. If you should ever be vacationing in the area again I would welcome you to call the hotel and ask for me directly. I do personally review all of our guest feedback and hope I can help make your next visit a more positive experience as it is always our goal to exceed guest expectations at The Shores.
Kind regards, David Rijos – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Shores is a lovely resort, made even lovlier by the Christmas decorations and exceptional service. The resort is undergoing a brief renovation (construction noise between the hours of 9 am and 5:30 pm which will end soon), which may deter travellers who prefer to cozy up in their rooms; however, the oceanside firepits, manager reception with complementary cocktails, wonderful view and top notch food (the ribeye dinner and pear and walnut salad were terrific) made our second stay at this location a comfortable and relaxing experience. We booked our visit as a 'blind buy' via an online hotel service, but we knew what hotel we were getting since we stayed there last year. There is a daily 'resort fee' that I was told encompasses parking (in a lot across the street accessable by a walkway bridge) and decent wireless internet, so while they do offer these amenities, I cannot list them as free. The business center was small, but complimentary (perhaps as part of the resort fee??) and the workout center had a standard selection of cardio equipment as well as free weights and some nautilus equipment. The pool and tiki bar overlook the ocean, which is steps away. There is a nice inside bar and rentable poolside cabanas, but for us, the most pleasant time was spent sitting beside the large firepits in the cool air next to a warm fire listening to the steady rhythm of the ocean.

Restaurants and pubs are close, but not walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments - the firepits really are quite popular with our guests! And a special thanks for being so understanding during our construction period -- we are thrilled your overall stay was so positive and we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards,
The Shores Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This hidden little gem is a GREAT value! I stumbled upon The Shores Resort while booking an overnight stay while working in the area. I couldn't get over the price and wondered if I would be disappointed? Upon arrival, I was greeted by the hostess who had me checked in less than 2 minutes. You do have to pay for parking ($7 a day) which is located across the street. You'll receive the code to access the lot when you check in.

It had been a really long day and once I laid on this COMFY pillowtop bed, I seriously considered room service.

But, I had heard FABULOUS things about Azure so I freshed up and headed downstairs. It was a week night and I was quickly greeted by the dinner hostess who seated me outside. There was a light breeze and it was a gorgeous evening to be outside. There is a bonfire every night of the week and other guests were gathered outside enjoying the sound of the ocean. My waiter was equally fabulous and got me settled in with a great glass of Riesling and a menu. Little neck clams with pinot grigio butter sauce for an appetizer and the roasted all natural chicken breast with sweet potato puree, toasted mushrooms and asparagus, in brandy cream sauce. Easily THE best chicken I have ever tasted. DELICIOUS!

I was off to bed in no time and had the best night's sleep of my entire week away. It was like sleeping on a cloud!

Even though it was overcast the next morning, I had the beach to myself for a leisurely walk before heading out. I will DEFINATELY be back both for business AND pleasure. Thanks for a GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We do get many compliments on our beds -- we even joke that we should be called The "Snores" Resort & Spa!! We look forward to your return trip and hope it is even better than your first stay.
Kind regards,
The Shores Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

New favorite local hotel to recommend to family and visitors in the Daytona Beach area. Lovely rooms, posh spa and great restaurant with a fabulous pool and beach area. Highlight was making smores over the beachside fires outside listening to the waves rushing in.... nice....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Our "Shore's S'mores" are quite popular - glad you enjoyed them! We are very proud of our resort and take great lengths to keep it a Four Diamond rated property. We hope you can come back and enjoy it again soon!
Kind Regards,
The Shores Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This ia a posh, intimate hotel that is also very comfortable; the attentive and friendly staff made for a relaxing stay. Rooms are big and the shower is divine! The pool deck is well appointed and decorated with colorful umbrellas and cabanas. We enjoyed drinks by the fire pit before indulging in our dinner at the Azure restaurant. The meal was way beyond our expectations-fresh, tasty, and reasonably priced, too! Would love to have stayed longer - the hotel was beginning to decorate for Christmas and it looked beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Shores! The firepits are our most popular amenity and the Azure restaurant is certainly one of our most prized assets! We hope you come back and visit again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Shores Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Shores Hotel
Shores Resort Daytona Beach
Shores Hotel Daytona Beach
Shores Resort
Address: 2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shores Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Resort & Spa is located on the edge of beautiful Daytona Beach, Florida, both close to the action and away from the action. A short five minute drive from Downtown Daytona Beach, The Shores Resort & Spa is the only AAA Four-Diamond luxury beachfront hotel in Central Florida. Our amenities include waterfront views, balconies, spacious sundeck with swimming pool, Tiki Bar, jacuzzi, beachfront cabanas, and much, much more. The only way to experience the luxury is to visit The Shores Resort & Spa today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.