We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shores Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Shores Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Receive 15% Off!
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Disappointing Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Definitely a forgettable experience. They charged us $59 resort fee for two days. The resort fee is for the coffee in your room, WIFI, newspaper (which is not delivered to your room;) and self-parking (we used valet parking, so were charged twice).
There was no hair dryer in the room, and a call to the front desk sent us searching through the closet three times before the individual at the other end was convinced that there was in fact no hair dryer in our room;
The window would not open, nor close, which was pointed out upon our arrival, but nothing was done;
The bed mattress was extremely well used
Every couple of weeks we receive an email from the Shores offering us $99 rooms with a view of the ocean, and a complimentary bottle of champagne. Well the room did not have a view of the ocean, nor was there any free champagne, nor was there a $99 rate to be had.
If this is the type of service we can look forward at other Stash Hotels, we will definitely take our frequent travel business elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoresresort, Public Relations Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am terribly sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Shores Resort & Spa -- it is always our goal to exceed guest expectations - and we clearly did not meet yours. We did run a special promotion that included a complimentary bottle of Champagne - I am not sure why it was not given to you -- but please reach out to me directly and we will try to make sure you are compensated. You can email me at skeaveney@shoresresort.com

Kind regards,

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    255
    117
    79
    52
See reviews for
271
413
35
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the this hotel for one night. We were there this month (December). It was a little chilly but we were able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub and have dinner and lunch outside.
We had the Mahi Mahi, Mac and Cheese, a Salad and wine. All was excellent. I would highly suggest this restaurant even if you are not staying at this hotel.

My one complaint is the room. It could use some updates, but overall it was clean and the bed was comfy.

We attempted to make reservations for a massage when we got there, but they were booked up. So schedule ahead even in off seasons.

I might stay here again, unless I found a better price somewhere else. There are lots of choices in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Well to start the staff including the valet was so nice to us. That practically spoiled us, to start when there van shuttle was in use when we arrived to Daytona Airport. They sent a limousine Which was so great and unexpected. The location we stayed on the 10th floor in the partial ocean view suite and the view was awesome and didn't at all seem like a partial view. The staff accommodated us as much as they could. The best staff by far of any hotel I ever stayed in and that is many of them. Anytime I ever come back to Daytona Beach that will be the only place I stay well worth it. I have told all my friend family and co workers about the The Shores Resort and Spa. I can't thank them enough for treating me well during my stay

Room Tip: The higher rooms are better and the balcony is nice but don't get it if you don't plan on sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoresresort, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Shores is very proud of it's fantastic team members and we are glad that your experience reflected their hard work. Make sure to come visit us on your next trip to Daytona Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Shuttle service was awesome. The rooms were ok. Bathrooms a little small. A little far from the strip. Inside lobby was beautiful and the azure food was pretty good. Bartender was knowledgeable about area and friendly. The "river view " is not the greatest ....bed was super comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and two young children stayed here for a business trip. The first room we had was just okay and my kids felt crowded in the pull out sofa bed. We also had a problem with the shower not working. So we upgraded to a room on the first level with sliding doors to the outdoor patio/pool. Two queen beds worked well and this room was nicer. After the kids went to sleep, we sat outside on the patio and had a few drinks, listening to the waves and looking at the stars. (Liquor store close by!) We had a car here and the parking was across the street, but they had a covered walkway over the street right to the front door. The valet attendants were very nice and helpful. The food at restaurant is pretty good, but the service a little slow. Very nice indoor and outdoor seating. Patio has gas fire pits, a bar, a small heated pool, a pretty big hot tub, small kiddy pool, and cabanas for rent. The beach is right outside of the gate. Daytona is not a super nice area so we preferred to stay on site or drive to dinner. You wouldn't want to walk around the town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Husband brought me here for my birthday and it was awesome. Rooms are nice, the beds are awesome, the beach view gives you a perfect look at the ocean when you wake up. They were renovating while I was here and cant wait to see what they did to improve. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If on the Ocean view side try to request higher floor so that you can leave the balcony door open wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoresresort, Manager at Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay with us made your birthday extra special! We hope that you and you husband celebrate your next birthday with us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Got a decent price online for the hotel. Pleasantly surprised when we got there. Very pleasant staff and housekeepers. The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed, slept like a rock. Had the bed and breakfast package, so my wife and I were able to enjoy the breakfast at the Azure restaurant which was very delicious. I Have had better waitresses though. The restaurant wasn't even busy and I constantly had to flag down someone for different items. However that is officially my only complaint about our stay. Everything else was wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shores Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Resort & Spa is a luxury boutique resort located on a quiet stretch of beautiful beachfront property in the town of Daytona Beach Shores, Florida. A short five minute drive from Downtown Daytona Beach, The Shores Resort & Spa is the only AAA Four-Diamond luxury beachfront hotel in Central Florida. Our amenities include waterfront rooms with balconies, oceanfront dining, full service spa, spacious sundeck with swimming pool, oceanfront firepits, Tiki Bar, jacuzzi, private beachfront cabanas, and much, much more. The only way to experience the luxury is to visit The Shores Resort & Spa today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Resort Daytona Beach
Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.