We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shores Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Shores Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 15% Off!
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing gateway. We live in Orlando and like to stay on the beach every now and then i must say this is my new favorite spot. Hot tub, bar, and fire pits where an excellent touch not to mention the restuart in the lobby! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    245
    115
    79
    52
See reviews for
267
405
35
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The room was worn - the balcony chairs had not been cleaned or wiped in ages; the railing was chipped; the room initially had a smoking smell to it. We had heard great things, and our expectations just were not met. The front desk staff was very helpful; however, the restaurant hostesses left much to be desired. We waited in front of two hostesses - the only two people in line - before they acknowledged we were there. And they both saw us long before that. The only seat for two available was a table right in front of a door to the patio - and we did not want that since we had sat there at breakfast and watched half the world walk in and walk out. The hostesses were not helpful, and we were not pleased at standing there for several minutes before they noticed us, so we went to the Hilton's restaurant (which is also where we would be staying next time).

Our room was handicapped accessible, which fortunately we did not need. Something else - the closet was in the bathroom - makes getting ready a challenge.

The fire pits were beautiful - but all the same, we'll pass on this one in the future.

Room Tip: ask for the newer part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. No doubts that this is a nice resort. The views are nice and it's right off the beach, nice pool area and fire pits at night. Check-in was a bit slow and it took several minutes to "find" my reservation. After that, the front desk agents were pretty good.
The rooms were a bit worn. The bed is nice, flat screen tv, smallish bathroom, separate mirror/makeup table. Overall, it seems like the rooms could use some updating. Housekeeping was mediocre. One day I got a paper, one day I didn't - toiletries not replaced either. I had drinks at the bar, and the service was mostly good there, too. The food for the conference was good.
Overall rating: This place has a lot of potential, but just seems a bit outdated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very unhappy with the hotel, this is not a 4 diamond luxury hotel. I have been at better Days Inn.

The hotel is dark, old looking, needs a good cleaning and has a funny smell to it. The cost of a room and resort fee are way to high for a maybe 1 diamond hotel.

They was sand blashing the balaconys while I was trying to rest at the pool, had to move couple time and the management is no help!

I found the cheaper resort down the street for my next trip.

John

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on our way home from a trip to South Florida. Have stayed here before and they continue to impress. This time, there was a mix-up about our room, and they made it right in a huge way. Won't go into details so as not to set expectations too high, but suffice it to say they went above and beyond.

Room Tip: Room 615 (I think, maybe 645) has a corner wraparound balcony with awesome views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time. First impression is it is a bit aged but rooms were nice, amenities good and restaurant and bars above average. All in all a good value for the money. Try the smore's they provide in the room - you take them to the firepits outside and toast them - nice touch!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I picked this resort to spoil my fiance as a 50th birthday getaway weekend. Their advertised pictures are gorgeous. The only accuracy is the outside pool/deck area, bar and restaurant! Upon our arrival we were checked into a dirty hotel room then taken to another 2 rooms that were not ready or under construction. Overall the staff was friendly short of Mr. Simone who was rude-this is their operations manager! Wow! Needless to say I was very dissappointed to spend $300.00 for a 2 night stay in the off season for a dirty room and $17.00 pots of coffee b/c I was scared of getting sick from their dirty cups in the room and the dirty coffee pot. The walkway to the parking area and steps not clean, elevator not working.
I am posting some pictures so you can determine on your own.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shores Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Resort & Spa is a luxury boutique resort located on a quiet stretch of beautiful beachfront property in the town of Daytona Beach Shores, Florida. A short five minute drive from Downtown Daytona Beach, The Shores Resort & Spa is the only AAA Four-Diamond luxury beachfront hotel in Central Florida. Our amenities include waterfront rooms with balconies, oceanfront dining, full service spa, spacious sundeck with swimming pool, oceanfront firepits, Tiki Bar, jacuzzi, private beachfront cabanas, and much, much more. The only way to experience the luxury is to visit The Shores Resort & Spa today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Resort Daytona Beach
Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.