We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest hotel in Daytona Beach area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shores Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Shores Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Receive 15% Off!
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
knoxville, tn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Probably the nicest hotel in Daytona Beach area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Pros: Luxurious lobby, bar, restaurant, awesome views from wrap-around balcony rooms, pool, cabanas, allows pets, on nicer section of beach, updated and well maintained, great service/staff.

Cons: Expensive, pets not allowed anywhere on property except room, $50 per day extra pet charge, restaurant food wasn't that good, parking situation (across street or valet), wi-fi unreliable to non-existent, large screen plasma TV but no HD, extra charges.

With resort fees, one dinner tab and one mini-bar tab, our four night stay was over $1700, plus tips.

Parking is valet or across the street. There's a covered pedestrian bridge, but the elevator was out of service the first couple of days making it difficult to load stuff in and out.

You can use valet if you don't come and go a lot, but it is $10 more per day plus tips. An attendant mentioned that valet parking is free for hybrids.

When I made the reservation, they mentioned a $50 pet fee. They didn't mention that was per day. Pets aren't allowed in patio/tiki bar area or anywhere except rooms and lobby coming and going. They will allow pets to stay in room unattended (in crate) but we don't like to do that. There's a nice city park next door for walking the dog, and there are nice dog beaches at Ponce Inlet and Smyrna Dunes.

This hotel was originally a Hilton years ago, and was featured in the NASCAR movie Days of Thunder. It was fabulous back then, and the nicest on the beach. The new owners have maintained it very nicely, the "king suite" rooms are a bit on the small side but if you get one with the spacious wrap-around balcony the views are awesome. Staff is friendly and provides great service.

It's a very relaxing, fairly luxurious and romantic place. Probably not great for business travel, especially if you need wi-fi. The bar is pretty nice, skip the restaurant. Try Porto Fino just a couple of blocks down the street for passable American/Italian, or Blackbeard's in New Smyrna for fresh grouper or prime rib.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    255
    117
    79
    52
See reviews for
271
413
35
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I had stayed here back at the end of March with my husband, and this time came with a friend of mine. Everything was wonderful. We had an oceanfront room with a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Although room service was slow as it was back in March, the food was delicious. The restaurant Azure is fantastic. We sat outside each meal to a great view. We both had massages at the spa as well. The spa area is very small and doesn't have any facilities to use before/after an appointment like a sauna or jacuzzi, but the massage was great. A little expensive, but very relaxing.

I only had a few small negative things to say about my stay back in March, but I really don't have anything but praise for this visit. The Shores is definitely on my go to list for any stay I have in Daytona. There really isn't anything more you can ask for at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Very nice great staff only drawback was Azure restaurant which was pricey and food just OK. Hats off to trip Advisor, used your search & got a three day for two deal thru Expedia. Thanks, Bob & Mona

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra for oceanfront w/balcony, fun to watch the cars ont beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Once again the Shores Resort in Daytona Beach Shores delivered on being the finest hotel in all of Daytona. We stayed over the 4th of July for 3 days and it was excellent. I had my wife, my 8 year old daughter and her friend, and our 1 year old baby. Our room was beautiful with a king bed and pull out sofa. We also had a balcony looking out onto the pool deck and beach. The pool and jacuzzi were great and we even purchase a cabana on the last day and loved it.

What sets apart the Shores is their service. The front desk staff is the best in the business and were always accomadating when we had a question or request. I highly recommend The Shores as the only place to stay in Daytona.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor ocean front if you have kids, it's very convenient for access to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

very clean, exceptional staff, great location, beds where very comfortable, had a large group over the july 4th holiday, everyone wants to come back next year. The size of the resort was perfect, plenty of room around the pool area. Perfect for family or group

Room Tip: ask about balconies on ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Me and my husband just stayed here for our 3 year wedding anniversary. It was just a one night get away. The service was excellent . Everyone was so nice and very helpful. Our room was beautiful we had a ocean front with a balcony. If i could give this 10 stars I would. Best place in Daytona for sure. And I live here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Use the tiki bar for lunch and dinner,and the restaurant for super breakfast.Evening use the dining room more sparingly as can be relatively expensive but excellent.The rooms were lovely and the overall service amazing.Everything was spotless and staff very efficient,nothing was too much trouble.I could easily have stayed here for the two weeks without going out and about,it was so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shores Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Resort & Spa is a luxury boutique resort located on a quiet stretch of beautiful beachfront property in the town of Daytona Beach Shores, Florida. A short five minute drive from Downtown Daytona Beach, The Shores Resort & Spa is the only AAA Four-Diamond luxury beachfront hotel in Central Florida. Our amenities include waterfront rooms with balconies, oceanfront dining, full service spa, spacious sundeck with swimming pool, oceanfront firepits, Tiki Bar, jacuzzi, private beachfront cabanas, and much, much more. The only way to experience the luxury is to visit The Shores Resort & Spa today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Resort Daytona Beach
Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.