We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay, wonderful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3135 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Elizabethtown, Indiana, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family stay, wonderful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was our third stay at the Hampton Inn in Daytona Beach Shores. The location is great, right on the beach within 5 minutes of the Daytona boardwalk, and 10 minutes of Ponce Inlet.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean with the usual amenities that Hampton Inns provide, including a free hot breakfast buffet in the morning from 6:30 to 10:00 and warm fresh cookies in the evening after 7:30. They also have complimentary popcicles for the kids, and on Saturday afternoons there is a pool-side cook-out and karioke with a DJ and some of the best burgers and hot dogs around, along with soft drinks for the kids and rum punch for the parents. Outstanding.

The swimming pool is large, with a 3' shallow end and 5' deep end. No diving board or kiddie pool, but plenty of relaxation and fun for everyone. The hotel provides pool and beach toys, and folding beach chairs in storage lockers at the pool, just grab what you want and go play. Our kids (5 and 2) had as much fun at the pool as on the beach, and it's a great way to unwind after a day in the surf. There is also a small hot tub, but with the temperature in the 90s and the pool feeling like bath water already I couldn't imagine hopping into the hot tub. Maybe in November.

The beach is just a few steps below the pool deck, down the stairs and you're on the beautiful white powder sand that Daytona is famous for.

The hotel itself is not a new building, and from the front could easily be passed by as nothing special, but a closer look tells a different story. The design is "L" shaped, with most of the rooms ocean-front. The rest have an great ocean view to the left and a beautiful view of the Halifax river to the right. There is ample free parking on site and across the street. We never had to park across the street, but it's a short walk.

The rooms are very nice, kept in good condition and very clean. Everything works, everything is comfortable. There is an in-room safe, free WiFi, a dorm-size refrigerator and microwave oven, which are wonderful for quick meals in the room when the kids are more ready for a nap than lunch. I could only find one negative to the room and that is the airconditioner, which is a wall unit, common to many hotels. The ones here are new and in good condition, but like all of their kind can be a bit loud. I usually set the fan to run at low speed on this type of A/C unit at night to make it easy to sleep, but these do not have that option, and cycle on and off. It didn't keep me from sleeping, but I'd have preferred a steady fan at night.

There is little more I can say about the hotel except that it is a credit to Sandy, Donna, and the entire staff who truly love what they do and do an outstanding job, often going out of their way to care for their guests. It's a great feeling to be recognized and welcomed back after a 2 year hiatus due to our newest being born. We already look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    127
    55
    19
    13
See reviews for
256
237
33
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We arrived to check-in on Friday and met the manager, Sandy, who was very friendly and made sure to let us know about the Saturday festivities. Our room was a double Queen Oceanview on the 6th floor. Parking is free. While it is about 5 miles from the main tourist attractions on Daytona Beach, this hotel is still right smack on the beach and likely has a very mixed clientele, especially during spring break, I expected in to be a bit rough at the edges. No big deal. Our room was perfect for what we had planned...a lazy weekend at the beach, pool and wherever else we would rest and relax. The most important things were there...a clean bathroom, wonderful Hilton style comfy beds and a balcony overlooking the beach and pool. We were also glad to see the larger sized mini-fridge which made room for some of our own goodies. They still have older TV's that work fine with no extra cost movie frills. Who wants to stay in the room and watch movies? There's free HBO so that should be fine for everyone. The Saturday party at the pool was fun and entertaining with free burgers, hot dogs and drinks. Later there was Karaoke, hula-hoop contest, JELL-O shots and watermelon. This pool party happens from Memorial Day to Labor Day. There is a free breakfast every morning with basic items although we ventured out for breakfast each day. There is free wireless internet which worked fine. There isn't really a 'business center' but there is a free computer you can use in the lobby area. Since there is no restaurant on site there is no room service which we very rarely use anyway. The only downsides to our stay was the coffee in our room. Not sure the brand but it was pretty awful so I went downstairs and got us coffee. Also, the elevators are pretty slow so don't be in a hurry to go up or down. Both are very minor criticisms. We received a free newspaper every day and there is fruit and fresh cookies in the lobby on ocassion. We would definitely come back here in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The hotel experience was wonderful. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. My wife and I had an ocean front view and it was worth it. We stayed for five days and we were very pleased: the room is spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathrooms are spacious and clean. During I time there were rented a scooter from rent-a-scooter. That was a lot of fun and their prices are reasonable. We also visited the Ponce Inlet, which is right down the street from the hotel, and climbed the lighthouse - be ready for a workout. The only con, if you can call it a con, is that parking on the premises is at a premium. However, they do have parking right across the street. Overall the hotel is great, you have beach access, the complimentary breakfast was very good, on Saturdays they have a cookout for residents and they bake fresh cookies every night. Next year, Me and my wife are going to take the kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was our first trip to Daytona. The hotel was fantastic!
Very clean, the staff was great and amenities were awesome!!
First floor room with 2 queen beds and sleeper sofa. Just a few steps to the dining room and pool. From the pool, just step down the stairs and you were on the beach.
Free breakfast every morning and cookies for a snack at night.
We will definately come back here.
Wouldn't even try another hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is a great hotel! Clean, quiet and well maintained with a hot breakfast, warm cookies and a friendly and professional staff. The location is wonderful with the beach just steps away from the lobby. The Saturday pool party was the best thing ever!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed in the Hampton Inn in Daytona Shores Fl. last week and I would like to share our experience. The hotel was extremely well run, very clean and a very hospitable feel. Primarily due to the excellent job the manager Sandy executes. We had our daughter and two teenagers with us for over a week and at no time did the kids get restless. They loved the fresh baked cookies every evening, the variety of breakfast goodies every morning, and in particular, the wonderful barbecue and karoke on Saturday. It was a lovely way to meet the other guests and staff , very entertaining, and lots of fun. We will definitely be back! Dee Hudson

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Everything from the hospitality, cleanliness, friendly staff, and convenience helped to make our vacation stay so memorable and enjoyable. The breakfast was convenient and delicious. The karaoke party on Saturday was so fun and above and beyond what we would expect from the hotel staff. Thanks to all the Hampton Inn staff that helped make our stay so great!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront

Address: 3135 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning ocean views, free WiFi and hot breakfast daily in our recently renovated hotel in March 2014. Our Hampton Inn Daytona-Shores Oceanfront hotel features 110 comfortable guest rooms with microwaves and mini-fridges, heated oceanfront pool, whirlpool and fitness center. We are located close to Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Lagoon Water Park, Kennedy Space Center, LPGA International and many great local attractions for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.