We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Insulation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2225 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor Insulation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and had a room on the second floor (well first floor as we know it in the UK). The room was spacious with 2 Queen Beds and overlooked the swimming pool.

The first night we were kept awake not only by the noise of people going along the corridor (the door to the corridor from the room didn't fit well) and a fridge in the kitchenette area that sounded like it was going to explode.

We spoke to reception in the morning who immediately sent a maintenance man who tapped the inside to stop it making the noise but by the time he'd reached the lift (3 rooms Along) the noise had started again. We told Reception again as we were going out for the day and when we returned the fridge had been changed, with the small amount of food we had inside moved to the replacement fridge. Sadly the two freezer drinks were not transferred over and the replacement fridge wasn't very clean.

The hotel advertises an Olympic sized swimming pool, it's a 25 metre pool (again in the UK an Olympic Size Swimming Pool is 50 metres). About a third of the pool at the Aku Tiki Inn, the shallow end has a narrow rope across, which is common in most American pools.

The whole lack of insulation in the rooms both from the bad fitting door and the vents in walls between rooms because of the kitchenette spaces made the noise from other hotel guests very noticeable and intrusive at times, especially late nighters returning.

We found the hassled breakfast space not welcoming and not enough space to seat everyone, similar with the happy hour, both of which we went to once only; there are many nicer more welcoming comfortable breakfast places available nearby.

Having said all this the hotel is well placed and also has an over 25 policy which avoids the younger of the Spring Breakers. If you know the hotel and ask for a room higher up away from smokers on the terrace and also at the beach end of the hotel so late nighters are not passing your room then the hotel offers clean spacious rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    125
    22
    14
    15
See reviews for
185
109
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The ONLY negative thing about this hotel (but it is a BIG one to me) is that they use Styrofoam and polystyrene (#6) plastic, especially for their breakfast. They even serve the breakfast in a restaurant, so there is no excuse to NOT use real plates, etc. and wash them. I would give them a 5-star rating if they would stop using styrofoam products.

The happy hour was a nice bonus we didn't expect, but they should let the kids have pop instead of just lemonade. The rest of the hotel was FANTASTIC! We have stayed many times in Daytona Beach, and this hotel is as good as they come.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side for better view or the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Over this spring break, we went to Daytona Beach for a little getaway and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is at a great location and is right on the beach (the beach is about a five minute walk from the hotel). Also, a very large outdoor mall with many shops, restaurants, a carnival, and a movie theater are a ten minute drive from this hotel. The hotel was very clean, and there were always maids cleaning the rooms on every floor. The rooms were very spacious and each room had its own kitchenette, refrigerator, and it's own private balcony. The service here was excellent. Everyone here was nice and friendly and gave us good advice on where to eat out and what to do during our stay. The breakfast was delicious. Most hotels only give you a muffin and orange juice for breakfast, but not this hotel. When we walked in for breakfast for the first time, we were astonished. We had eggs, sausage, pastries, and cinnamon rolls on one side of the buffet. Then on another side there was oatmeal packages, toast with jelly and jam, and drinks. Then you sat wherever you liked and enjoyed your meal. Throughout the meal, waiters and waitresses came by to make sure we had enough food and that the food was good. Oh, and did I mention this was all complimentary? Also, in the evening the hotel offered a complimentary cocktail hour! I mean, who doesn't love free drinks? I don't believe that there was a spa here, but they did have a small workout room with equipment. We slept wonderfully. Despite being on the beach which was always busy, we didn't hear any noise. The price of the hotel was also relatively cheap, considering the location and amenities offered here. If you are planning on staying in Daytona and are looking for a great place to stay, the Aku Tiki Inn is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony and is spacious, so any room you choose is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A great place to stay in Daytona Beach is the Best Western Aku Tiki! This place could easily be overlooked but what a gem! We stayed there this winter and will never stay anywhere else when we go back to Daytona. The staff is so welcoming and helpful. They gave us great advice on restaurants and attractions near by. All were wonderful, including their own full service restaurant on site. The pool is huge and spotless. The rooms are terrific and super clean. It's a mini resort, including a delicious breakfast , and happy hour. Full work out room, ping pong, basketball court, baby pool. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. Had no complaints. Once again, the people there are so wonderful. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: pool view room or ocean front , but all rooms view the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Owner at BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. The staff at the Tiki is pleased that you enjoyed yourself and appreciate your comments. It's good to know that you were able to take advantage of our amenities, all of which are included in your room rate, such as the hot breakfast and the cocktail hour. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with nice quiet location. There is a pool for adults and small pool for todlers. Breakfast is not good so we small kitchen came in handy. Beach is paradise for bicycle riders, gets windy but its ok. Ocean front room can get expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have an oceanfront room that is spacious, clean and has a balcony! Quite frankly, what more do you want in Daytona but to be on the beach! We love Best Westerns and the service is consistent, they don't charge extra for parking and free wi-fi/breakfast is included. This hotel is central and you can't beat the view. Who doesn't love the sound of waves crashing lulling you to sleep?

Room Tip: Ask for the oceanfront - definitely worth the few $$ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here, probably 7-8 times, and enjoyed every stay. We normally use it as a base for the 'Turkey Rod Run' at the track. The restaurant is good, the staff are great, and the views are amazing. Just fall out of bed onto the beach, or into the pool! We stayed somewhere else last time, and really missed the Aku Tiki!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Owner at BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review! When guests stay at the Tiki and feel this way, we know we are doing our job. From the time you check in, we strive to give you a relaxing and enjoyable vacation! We hope to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn

Address: 2225 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this family owned and operated Daytona Beach, Florida hotel located on the "World's Most Famous Beach".Welcome to the newly-renovated Daytona Beach, Florida hotel located directly on the white sand beaches of Daytona Beach. This family friendly hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be conveniently near the Ocean Center Convention Center, Daytona International Speedway and the Embry Riddle Aeronautical University. The BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn proudly offers 132 spaciously appointed guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television with HBO®, microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy dining at Traders, the onsite full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aku Tiki Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Aku Tiki Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.