We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great staff, loved the happy hour & breakfast. Freshly baked cookies, pool is clean& heated! You can go for a swim at the beach or walk. Mostly great ocean view! We were so pleased we stayed another night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We appreciate such a great review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in November. A lot of our guests enjoy the heated pool especially in the cooler months. We hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    181
    47
    22
    17
See reviews for
313
264
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MARYVILLE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our second visit to the Bahama House. We were satisfied in 2011 and that is why we came back. This time it seemed better. The staff was very attentive and they were very fast in responding. The evening cocktail hour was very nice and the breakfast adequate. I had to go down to the front desk for ice which is a little inconvenient. The balconies facing the ocean are a definite plus. The kitchenette was great to have also. All in all, a great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review. I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy Biktoberfest week with us. It's also great to hear when guests come back to visit us. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the area! Don't forget to check out our website for our specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We traveled to Daytona Beach for work and were excited at the prospect of staying in an oceanfront hotel. Upon check in, we were greeted with less than friendly Front Desk Coordinators. The lobby of the hotel is deceiving, with pleasant smells and updated aesthetics. We went up to our rooms (on the 7th floor) and in stepping out of the elevator, we were immediately hit with foul smells - but thought we would go into our rooms in case it was just in the hallway. We could not have been more wrong! The room, while it looked clean, had an overwhelming smell of must, mildew, and mold. We immediately started becoming congested. We opened our doors to get some fresh air into the dank rooms and it did not help. In addition, when sitting on the chairs in both rooms, they were wet!! We have NEVER encountered a room that no matter if the air conditioning was on, or the door with FRESH AIR was opened, that it still maintained the awful smell. We went to see if we could change rooms, thinking perhaps it was our rooms or the floor and they allowed us to check out 2 other rooms. These rooms were on the 5th floor and even worse!! We tried to talk with management to cancel our reservations only to be spoken to VERY RUDELY and as if we were being unreasonable. Luckily, through our company that we booked our hotel reservation with, we were able to cancel our reservations. Certainly if we had stayed there, we would have become very ill. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!! This establishment needs to open their eyes and noses and realize their rooms ARE NOT as in good condition as they think and I am baffled by all of the positive reviews on this site. It is because of the reviews on this site that we had made reservations here and we were beyond disappointed. Do not be fooled by these reviews - this is one of the WORST hotels in Daytona. I WOULD STAY VERY, VERY FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
At Bahama House we have high standards for cleanliness and customer service and always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. We did our best to accommodate this guest, by offering different rooms for them to inspect. We communicated with their company by phone trying to resolve their issues. When they expressed a desire to leave and stay elsewhere, we gladly refunded their money and allowed them to check out. We are as disappointed in this review as they were in our hotel. We stand by our 20 year reputation of providing quality accommodations to visitors of the Daytona Beach Resort Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first time to Bahama House, though we have stayed in other hotels at Daytona Beach before. This was a clean and updated hotel, with parking both on the surface and underground. The check-in clerk was helpful and welcoming, including having cookies available at check in and a bottle of water at check out. They had a "cocktail hour" (drink and popcorn) and a continental breakfast (coffee, juice, etc; toast, bagel, pastry; cereal and milk; some kind of fruit). There is a nice small (heated, I assume, as the water was not frigid in October) pool and a spa, and beach access from the pool deck. The room was clean and comfortable with a small balcony. Hotel is ten stories. I would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in October. Our staff really tries to make every guest feel at home on their vacation, and I'm glad that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been visiting Daytona for more than 4 years. This is the cleanest and most cozy hotel! The staff is very helpful and cheerful. Rooms are immaculate. The complimentary breakfast is good and also the daily happy hour. Absolutely one of the best hotels in Daytona.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in October with us. It's always nice to hear from returning guests! We strive to provide a family-friendly environment that makes it easy to relax and enjoy the beach! We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Daytona Beach Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From my understanding, there have been issues with odors coming from the AC in some of the rooms and we certainly found that to be an issue in our room. Instead of moving us to another room they changed out the AC unit. There was still foul smelling air coming from the unit. They finally brought up and installed a brand new unit which solved the problem.... at eleven o'clock at night. We were so exhausted after a day of activities all we wanted to do is go to bed! And no, I do not have a hypersensitive nose. One of the staff confirmed to the person in charge that others had made the same complaint recently.

The room was clean. Nice carpet. The bed - adequate. Would I go back? No, there are too many other places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. We value your business and appreciate the feed back on the issues you encountered. I have discussed with the staff what occurred and we do have a record of receiving a call concerning the AC unit that had to be replaced. We will use this incident to better train our staff on how to handle the rare occasion when something like this occurs. At Bahama House we do our best to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are sincerely sorry that we failed to meet these expectations. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is nice; however management team needs a reality check.. Local to the area and paid for what was presented as oceanfront. When speaking with the manager didn't care about our experience, future referrals, or most importantly trying to make his guest happy. We work VERY hard for our money and will ensure that we don't refer anyone to this establishment. Folks say we're in a recession; however this manager clearly doesn't appreciate his guest!! Very disappointing!!! To think this stay was to support an under privileged children's organization makes it even more impactful!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Director of Sales at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Bahama House often donates gift certificates to various not for profits such as the Kiwanas, Rotary, Easter Seals and others for use in their fund raising efforts. The wording on all gift certificates is standard in describing the room type offered. This guest paid (or made a donation to) a local not for profit for a Bahama House gift certificate that included “3 days and 2 nights accommodations overlooking the ocean”. All rooms at Bahama House have a view of the ocean from the northeast, the southeast or due east. This guest was reserved in a King Suite which is an upgraded room type and features a northeast view of the beach and ocean from a private balcony. She was very disappointed when she was told that there was not an oceanfront room available for her stay, nor was that what was reserved. For over 20 years we have been donating gift certificates to local charities and never before have we had some one mistake our offer for an oceanfront room. We will change the wording on future gift certificates to clearly state that the purchaser is not guaranteed a particular room type or view and we will encourage our non-profit partners to make this very clear when they use these certificates in their fundraising efforts. We are proud to be able to support many local charities with donated rooms. We will continue to do so with a tweak to our procedures so that all are clear on what is being donated, awarded or purchased. We’ve been committed to supporting the local community for almost 40 years and we look forward to continuing our commitment in years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.