We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Save Saved
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Bahama House was beautiful. It was clean, the room was spacious. It was a beautiful setting right on Daytona Beach. The only thing we did not like was the room we had was on the south side facing the run down buildings. We arrived at 3 for check in and hoped for a room facing the north, but the girl at the desk flat out said no. We could have paid more for a "water front" but "water view" was fine, but I don't think it would cost more getting a room facing north rather than south. You can't specify north or south until check in and this girl at the desk felt it was their option, not the customers. I did not get her name, but she needs more people skills to work in the position that she does. This person also ran the "free" happy house and was sure not to unleash one kernel of popcorn prior to 5:30. The happy hour consisted of people bringing their kids for Shirley temples and a line that went out the door.
Other than that, our 3 day stay at the Bahama house was a nice stay. We got our own wine and drank it on the patio. Beautiful water views and a peaceful beach. We will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    160
    47
    22
    15
See reviews for
283
240
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Oceanfront room with a kitchenette was awesome. Staff was super friendly & very helpful. Really enjoyed the free social hour which allowed us to meet many people from all over the US & Canada. Underground parking is also a plus!

Room Tip: Oceanfront room with a kitchenette is awesome! Staff & location was wonderful! Would definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We use to stay here a few times a year and loved it but the rooms have become to expensive for what they are. Most staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Great access to the beach and it even had a food vender right out on the beach for a picnic on the beach. Happy hour was great, it was good time to relax just before going out to dinner. Would love to stay there again but the room price would just need to come down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. At Bahama House we try to provide a great value to all of our guests. Rates always include a deluxe continental breakfast and family friendly happy hour, free parking, free WIFI, and a local newspaper delivered to your door each morning. We offer freshly baked cookies in the lobby each morning at no charge and we never charge a resort fee. Room prices at Bahama House do vary based on type of room reserved and also on the time of year you visit. We offer periodic specials and sales for those who sign up on our website to receive our monthly e-newsletters. We always try to work with our guests to find an option that suits their needs and do hope that you’ll call the hotel directly in the future if you need assistance with your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location, right on the beach. Sunning area down at beach level and up at pool level. Nice pool and hot tub. Great staff. Lola serviced our room. She was very accommodating and helpful. No long waits for the elevator. Nice continental breakfast to start the day and the happy hour was a nice start to the evening. Appreciated the fact that the majority of the guests were families or mature couples. Even though we had a side facing room, we had a good view of the ocean and beach. Ample parking. Air conditioner had a slight musty smell but nothing some fresh air and an air freshener couldn't solve. Would enjoy staying at Bahama House if we return to Daytona Beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Bahama House 3/17/2013 thru 3/19/2013. Checked in late Saturday night around 8:00. Upgraded room. The view was wonderful. Ocean view to die for. I didn't want to tell the world about this place as I plan to go back but I promised Jodi I would. The people are just so friendly and nice. Breakfast in the morning and happy hours with snacks and drinks in the evening. I don't remember who checked me in but very friendly and professional. Not a 4 start place but well worth the price. Would definitely stay there again and plan to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bahama House from August 13 to August 17, 2012. My husband and I and our 2 kids. We had never been to Daytona Beach before and were a little worried about finding a nice place to stay. Thanks to tripadvisor, Bahama House was the logical choice. We were not disappointed. The staff was great and very helpful when we were trying to navigate the area. They gave great suggestions on things to do in the area and answered all our questions. The room might be a little dated, but it was clean and very large with plenty room for us to hang out during the lovely 2 hour storms that seemed to hit everyday at about 2pm. The underground parking was great; we were able to load and unload our things and take the elevator to our room. The breakfast was exactly what I expected, continental, so I was not disappointed. I don't generally stay in 5 star hotels because honestly, their not usually worth it, I did stay in a 5 star while on this vacation and was much happier with the Bahama House than that other hotel. The price of this hotel was actually better than most of the hotels I priced in the area at this time, I tried to get a better deal at a couple other places and Bahama House beat them all. Clean, friendly staff, easy beach access......The Bahama House is where we will be staying for any future trips to Daytona Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed the1st weekend of bike week. Two couples.The room was nice, very clean. The continental breakfast was fair. However, our "oceanview" was roadside you could "see" the ocean from the balcony, and we booked (by phone) over 2 monthes in advance and were told by the hotel that they had ample room where we could park our bike trailer and had a spot reserved when we got there not only did we find out it was 3 miles away, but IT was full. The lot then charged us another 30 dollars and we had to go another ten miles down the road. The lot told us "oh they (the hotel) will tell you anything to book you a room. Upon checking out we complained and were told glibly,"oh you should have called us ahead ". Duh ? We did 2 months ago! I didn't feel like I had spent the weekend in a 500 dollar for 2 nights hotel. We had a blast and the room itself was nice. I was just disappointed at the "oh well, we got your money now" attitude. Next year, we will go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Owner at Bahama House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us. While we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and deliver extraordinary customer service, we failed in both regards during your stay. Our policy regarding Bike Trailers is that we can’t allow them to be parked on property. We just don’t have the space. We do refer a few nearby parking areas but we do not make any reservations for Bike Trailer parking. We leave that up to each guest. I apologize for any miscommunication from our staff regarding parking arrangements. We do offer rooms with Northeast or Southeast views of the ocean and others that face the ocean and beach with a view due east. We are in the process of putting photos on our web sites that show the views for typical rooms to help guests in choosing the room and view that best suits their needs and budget. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodations at Bahama House and will use your comments to improve how our staff communicates with guests in the future. Our family has owned and operated hotels in Daytona Beach for 3 generations. We’d love to have you give us another chance to show you true Bahama House Hospitality on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.