We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bahama House and absolutely loved it! For the price, you will not find a better room in a better location with better amenities. The happy hour every night was an added bonus and we really enjoyed the spectacular views of the ocean from our large balcony. The staff were pleasant and the parking was not an issue. When we come back to Daytona Beach, this is where we will stay again! Thank-you Bahama House!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Owner at Bahama House, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! Our staff works to receive compliments like this. As you discovered, the Bahama House is guest-oriented and our goal is to have our guests come back year after year! See you next time you visit Daytona Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    176
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
306
256
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great place to stay! This was our second time and will go back again. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and big thanks to Linda what a great person to have greeting the guests with an excellent breakfast away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wasn't disappointing at all. They need to do a little updating but it is clean, convenient (right by the beach ramp) and a great view. We were able to watch the New Years fireworks off of our balcony. Yes it is a walk to the pier but well worth it.

Room Tip: Book through Google and there is usually a discount better than calling the hotel. They never seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Bahama House from January 1st to January 4th. Our room was very spacious and included a kitchenette. All rooms have amazing views of the beach and large balconies. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The entire hotel is extremely clean although the cleaning products they used smelled very strong. The decor is somewhat outdated but everything is very well kept. The swimming pool and spa are right on the beach and surrounded by a large patio with beach chairs. The continental breakfast was good and had something for everyone. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel but they setup a small bar for happy hour with unlimited free cocktails daily between 5:30 to 6:30. Plenty of bars and restaurants can be found within a short distance. The only other negative is the only one of the two elevators was working but it did not ruin our vacation by any means. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Bahama House and would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms feature ocean views and balconies but not all rooms have kitchenettes. We had the kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from our second 3- day visit in one year to The Bahama House. When we stayed last Spring it was just a lucky break that we stopped in to check rates, As soon as you walk in the lobby, it's very appealing. It smells so nice and clean and you can see right through the lobby, dining area and to the Beach. Lovely. We stayed both times in an oceanfront room and the view is spectacular...worth getting up early to take pictures of the sunrise ! The continental breakfast is nice and allows for a savings toward a nice lunch in one of the oceanfront restaurants up and down the beach. Happy Hour is also a nice plus if you'd like a drink before going out for dinner. The biggest asset is the people. Jane at the front desk is AWESOME !!!!!!!!! She always has a smile for everyone who walks by and she is helpful and friendly beyond compare. Evie would benefit in taking a few lessons from Jane. We almost walked out this time because when we walked in Evie was at the front desk and as we stood there for a few minutes, she never even looked up to acknowledged us...(just saying "I'll be with you in a minute would have sufficed)..poor customer relations for sure. But Jane came out of the back office and took over and we are so glad we stayed. It was lovely. I will say that Evie worked the Happy Hour on our last evening and she was more friendly, which was nice to see. We also had Rose for a chambermaid....she was excellent and did a beautiful job in cleaning our room and leaving nice, fluffy towels. We definitely will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: We love the oceanfront rooms, but this time of the year the side rooms on the south side would also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your great comments on your recent stay at the Bahama House. We are happy that it turned out so well and hope that you will come visit with us again.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service; we know that our employees are what sets us apart from the competition. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible and keep you coming back year after year. As we strive to achieve that goal, be assured that your comments will be used to improve our customer service for future guests. Your comments will be shared with Jane, Rose and Evie so that, on your next visit, you will see an overall improvement from all employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just stayed again for 2 nights this past week. Our room was awesome as usual. Very spacious and a wonderful view of the ocean. My only disappointment was that instead of booking online, I called in July and booked over the phone. My rate was supposed to be 109 per night and they charged me significantly more stating that was the agreement. If I would have booked online my rates would have been locked in and prepaid so they couldn't argue with me. Other than that, it was good as usual.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Front not ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the great comments about your room and the view, we appreciate it.

I do want to assure you that, whether you reserve your room by calling the hotel directly or by making a reservation on a website, whatever rate you are quoted for the specific room type that you reserve, is the rate you should be charged at the hotel. We do have seven different room types, each with different rates and different amenities. It is our practice to confirm all direct reservations in writing so that our guests have a record of what we are reserving for them and at what rate.

I apologize if there was any confusion about room rates or room types at any time during your reservation or check-in process. I do hope that you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I picked this hotel because of the reviews and price. I picked the cheapest room they had and was pleasantly surprised with the awesome view from the balcony. They had good cookies, gave us water at checkout (even though I will say I would have prefered it at check in), and had good access to the beach. They also had a happy hour, but my husband doesn't drink so we didn't go to that. It was a nice stay and if we came back we would recommend it, the only problem was that it was farther from the boardwalk and all that, but no biggie. We got our exercise. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.