We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Save Saved
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Crownsville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff. Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 7 nights there, 3 on our way to WDW and 4 on the way back in early October 2012. The wife and I find that we can casually unwind from our Disney trip at Bahama House.. I don't believe you can find a friendlier group of people working in a family owned hotel...

Room Tip: Always select ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    159
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
285
241
30
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BH Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

GREAT!! Approximately 25 of us stay there every October and have a golf outing with the Bahama House as out home base. We love it! Great location, always clean, and GORGEOUS views!!
Continental breakfast is provided, which is varied and good quality. My suggestion would be that the management add a batch of scrambled eggs. Delicious and hot, they would add so much benefit for anyone wanting quality protein or a hot breakfast, while being very economical to make.
Thanks to Bahama House again for making our stay a fantastic one!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the very best to see the sunrise, but the ocean view gives you almost as much to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We at the Bahama House love our groups and we're happy to hear that you love us too! Although the Bahama House doesn't have a kitchen, we are glad that we are able to provide a Deluxe Continental Breakfast to our guests at no additional charge. Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to hosting this group again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Using the star rating system of most reputable travel publications, the Bahama House would be a solid 3-star hotel on an outstanding beach with a very friendly staff that makes your stay extremely pleasant without being intrusive. I rank it four stars at TripAdvisor in comparison to similar properties, but this rating should not make anyone believe that this is a 4-star hotel under a standard rating system. This is a boutique hotel, a bit aging, but a great value and probably better than many in this city. There are not many luxury hotels in Daytona and many properties are older than what you'd find in other Florida beach destinations.

The rooms are large and comfortable with balconies facing the ocean. The hotel is very clean, although they need to closely monitor and better control the unauthorized smoking by some guests. On our floor, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke permeating the hallway the entire weekend, but the smell was not noticeable inside the room. Not upsetting to us, but may be bothersome to others.

The hotel management and staff do the little things that make you feel welcome, like offering a free happy hour every afternoon, cookies at the front desk, free continental breakfast and lots of smiles. And, what an ocean view from each and every room. It's simply fantastic.

When it comes to Florida travel, Daytona Beach does not rank as a top destination for nightlife, fine dining, shopping or cultural events. The city seems content with catering to race fans, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, except that it limits its economic potential as a travel destination when racing is not taking place. But, if you want to relax and enjoy the beach without breaking the bank, Daytona is a good place to visit. Unfortunately, the city leaders and the tourism board have done a poor job of attracting new investment and they don't seem to realize what a gold mine of a destination this place could be even when there is no racing.

Drive 7 to 8 miles north to Ormond Beach where the sand has a golden color and experience a different beach scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We appreciate your positive comments and hope that you will make us your home away from home each time you visit Daytona Beach. Our staff makes an extra effort to give our guests the hospitality that make up a special and memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is still a favorite location for our family. Everyone that works here is so friendly and helpful, especially Laura and Bill. They took the time to talk to us about all sorts of things to do up and down the beach. They turned us on to a hibachi restaurant that the kids LOVED. Our room was clean, bright and comfy. The tvs were updated since our last stay :). As usual, we enjoyed the pool and being right on the beach. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Daytona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only had one night to squeeze in at the ocean on a busy road-trip weekend. We wanted a clean, comfortable place right on the ocean, at a reasonable price. Bahama House delivered. The continental breakfast was pretty generic, but that was the only drawback. I wished I had more than one night. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As I was looking for a competitively priced location in Daytona Florida, I came across the listing for Bahama House. Due to the competitive pricing I decided to make it my destination. It ended up being a great decision. The room was very spacious and very clean. The access to the beach was extraordinary. My family and I were treated like the only guest's at the resort, which in my eyes in extremely important. The pool was clean and entertaining and the free breakfast was great for the entire family as well. The next time I visit Daytona Beach, The Bahama House will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our family likes to vacation at the beach in Florida now and then. Ever since we started staying at the Bahama House in Daytona Beach, we've never stayed anywhere else! This hotel is great. It is right on the beach. The staff is BEYOND friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Being just a walk from the beach is very nice and allows us to go out as a family and experience the waterfront at night. The rooms are very clean and spacious. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Daytona!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.