We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahama Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Save Saved
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bahama Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Bahama House with the inlaws and family who were in from Delaware. Checked out the website and rates were comparable, location good, so we booked. Layout was great and very easy to navigate around the property. Middle of July so as you can imagine, it was hot and pretty crowded, but the pool was cool and happy hour drinks were cold! Overall, great experience and I'd recommend, but next time no inlaws, lol.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    169
    46
    21
    15
See reviews for
300
252
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'll start by saying that everyone was so nice and helpful - Jane at the front desk helped me find my way around town, and by the way, what hotel have you ever stayed at that keeps fresh chocolate chip cookies at the front desk? :) My room was actually bigger than I'd expected, clean and breezy. This was a business trip, and my first time in Daytona Beach. If I come back, I'm staying at Bahama House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view, but try to get an oceanfront room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the second I got to check-in at the hotel, the entire experience was flawless. The cleanliness and comfort of the rooms were pristine, and the friendly staff was very accommodating. The size of the room was above average, and the location cannot be beat. My next pleasure trip to Daytona (as this was for business) will be at the same location. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments. This is what the Bahama House staff strives for . . .that all of our guests' stays are flawless from beginning to end. Thank you again, we look forward to a repeat performance on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are reasonably priced and the hotel sits on the beach. The hotel is older and could use a little redecorating but the rooms were clean and spacious. They offer happy hour and a free breakfast with the basics of bagels, cereal, pastries, coffee, and juice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downfall is that any shopping, eating, or other attractions have to be driven to.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamaHouse32118, Manager at Bahama House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to send in a review. The Bahama House in in the process of doing some updating...our rooms have been equipped with flat screen televisions, the lobby was recently renovated and redecorated. Next time you visit, we hope you will like those and some of the other changes you see here. True, there are not many places within walking distance, but fortunately, most are a short drive; grocery store wthin a half mile, restaurants and gift shops a few blocks either north or south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I came back to the beaches of Daytona as I am thinking this will be the place to retire. When I came, I stayed at Bahama House again with some friends from Port Orange. I had plenty of space in my room for the flock of us to play rummy and when our constitutions called for fresh air and Florida sunshine, we gathered by the pool and could see the Atlantic just right there. We never went down to the shore save once, because we loved all the attention we got at the pool from the staff what with the fresh towels and drinks and whatnot. The younger girls had fun in the pool, but I don't own a bathing suit myself so I sunned. When I purchase my cottage in Daytona, any visiting friends will be directed to stay here. They always treat me so well here and now know me by name!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Whenever I take my family to Daytona Beach, we stay at the Bahama House, and it is always a wonderful experience. This past weekend was no exception. The rooms are CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN and comfortable. The staff is super friendly, making you feel welcome and helping you with everything. The pool is clean and refreshing, and the beach access is convenient. I absolutely LOVE this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The front desk were great help. Loved their happy hour, drinks and some snacks. Hotel room looks clean, there was a full kitchen which was great. The bathroom looked okay. The bedspread was horrible, flat didn't feel welcoming and I got fungal infection on my arms. I don't know from where the bed or pool but it was nasty.

There were BUGS everywhere. In the pool, around the pool, a rat jumped on my mom in the jacuzzi, grasshoppers everywhere. In the parking deck there were more bugs.

Liked the price at the beginning but at the end wished I stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine L, Owner at Bahama House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I am delighted that this guest found our front desk staff helpful, our prices attractive and enjoyed the complimentary drinks and snacks during happy hour. I am sorry that we failed to meet their expectations in other areas.

We do our best in Florida to live with “Mother Nature” and all of her creatures. Grasshoppers present a real challenge. They are seasonal and as adults, they have no natural enemies and there is no pesticide that will eliminate them. They love our beautiful Calla Lillies which line the north and south sides of our hotel. When grasshoppers are swarming, they are everywhere in town. The same goes for love bugs which were present for a few daysearlier this month. They visit seasonally and are literally everywhere – they come and go with changes in the wind and usually coexist with people pretty well. If you aren't accustomed to them, they can be a bit disconcerting.

We don’t show any record of this guest sharing their concerns while at the hotel. I am sorry we didn’t have a chance to try and address their issues while they were here and apologize to them in person for their inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.