We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Bahama House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bahama House to your Saves list
Bahama House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Bahama House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

The wife & I stayed Dec 13th & 14th. Everything was as advertised, but the heated pool wasn't warm enough to swim in and the hot tub ONLY has two jets working <= from talking to the maintenance man, this has been and continues to be a problem with NO scheduled resolvement. We moved to the Sun Viking with an indoor pool and a fully functioning hottub. We'll be "trying" the D'Beach Islander Hotel in March 2008.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast & evening Happy Hour!
  • Disliked — Pool & Hottub
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBSL, Owner at Bahama House, responded to this review, January 9, 2008
Our pool heater has been replaced and is working perfectlyl! Today is January 9, 2008 and it's 80 degrees and sunny. The pool was 84 degrees when we took it's daily temperature earlier today. We did have a pool heater die in December. When the replacement came, it was faulty so we had to have second replacement sent. The pool heater was out of order for about 10 days. I'm sorry the employee who spoke with this guest was unaware of our efforts to get the pool heater replaced. The Hot tub was 103 degrees when we took it's temperature earlier today. All 4 jets are working well according to the three guests who were enjoying themselves in the hot tub. We appreciate the positive comments from this TripAdvisor guest and apologize for our temporary pool/hottub problems. As always, we continue to strive to make Bahama House the #1 hotel in Daytona Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    197
    48
    22
    18
See reviews for
323
284
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Good hotel, clean and comforable. Staff were friendly. They do have some larger rooms so if you are travelling with teenagers, ask about these rooms. The only drawback we found was that we had to drive to find a "nice" evening meal. Kitchenette was ideal for making light meals. This would be our choice for staying in Daytona Beach again.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious & friendly
  • Disliked — Lack of resaurants/nice bars close by
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I agree with all the good things that people have said about this hotel. The staff are very welcoming and our room was pretty good although the Atlantic view was sideways. When a large golfing party had left we were able to transfer to a top floor room facing the ocean., which was great, although I had forgotten how noisy waves can be! The hotel said that I would have had a better room if I had booked direct and not through hotels.com and charged us another $50 a night for the move.
Our refrigerator broke down at about 8pm one night and within 30 minutes the guy had replaced it with another. Bearing in mind that it was a big one and we were on the tenth floor that was good service.
We were able to check their fire alarm out when some lunatic set it off at 3am and we were evacuated (well, most were, some slept through it). A woman was eventally led away in handcuffs by the police.
Our party consisted of my brother and myself and we were there to race at the Speedway so needed to leave early each morning and the lady in the dining room (Linda?) kindly allowed us to take some breakfast before the appointed time. When we left she also gave us invaluable advice about which way to get to Orlando airport (we had got lost driving from Orlando to Daytona!
There were about 40 other Brits in our group but they all stayed at the Best Western Mayan Inn and complained about it miserably.
I suppose the only down-side is the area which is quite run-down. After happy hour you can't really drive anywhere and the only place we found to eat within walking distance was called the Festhaus, next to the Winn-Dixie, about half a mile South. They do good sandwiches and have an amazing variety of beer. Don't be put off by the "bikers welcome" sign in the window.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The area
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

We just returned from a stay here and were very pleased with the Bahama House. The hotel is very clean and well cared for. Housekeeping did a nice job of servicing us with fresh towels when needed. They also made the beds and stacked all of our daughters' stuffed animals at the top of her bed. She loved this! The rooms are big and spacious and it looks as though every room as a nice view of the ocean. Our room was not oceanfront, (in other words, no view of pool...) but we could still see the ocean. The people here are so nice and really attend to your every need. The breakfast is okay, just a standard hotel breakfast and we didn't go to the "cocktail" hour.

Things to know before you go:

1.) The rooms do not have a "FULL" kitchen as the website advertises. (Well, some might, but ours did not...) It has a kitchenette...which is 1 sink, a micro, a full size frig, and a two burner stove. There is no oven, no dishwasher, and very minimal cooking utensils. It was fine for us, b/c we only stayed for a couple of nights, but if you are used to staying for long periods in a condo or similiar surroundings, as we are, this might not be the best situation for you.

2.) There is a laundry facitlity on the 2nd floor. We didn't use it, so I can't comment on it.

3.) The pool area is nice (towels are provided without hassle) and the pool was always sparkling clean! It was heated at night to a nice warm temp., which our daughter loved! We didn't use the hot tub, so again no comment...It looked nice. Only two negatives, no kiddie pool and no ramp to the beach. There are two sets of stairs, but no ramp for wheelchairs, etc. If you are taking a stroller to the beach, it can prove very difficult.

All in all this is a nice clean place with a very friendly atmosphere! I would stay here again if I was only planning to stay for a couple of nights. If I was planning to stay for longer than 4-5 nights, I probably would not, just because I am used to staying in condos and like the convenience of in "room" laundry facilities and a completely full kitchen.

However; this is no fault of the hotel. For a hotel, it is a good value and I would recommend it to friends. :)

Just a note: We travel to Florida quite frequently, but it has been a while since we have visited Daytona. (Spent lots of time in the area as children/teenagers). Daytona is still a somewhat seedy place, but it is undergoing a great renovation. We saw lots of positive changes!

  • Liked — The very friendly staff, the cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — Kitchen not a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

The hotel itself is clean with nice amenities such as a free coctail hour and continental breakfast. The room was nice and clean with a great view of the ocean from the attached balcony. The air conditioner (wall unit) ran loud all night with the fan kicking on and off. I rather stay in a room with it's own thermostat and vents vs. a window unit. The refrigerator in the room was working fine until 2:00 am when it starting making an obnoxious ear piercing noise. I told the front desk when I checked out and she didn't seem to care and said she would send a maintenance person to check on it. She handed me a bottle of water and sent me on my way. Also, don't park outside in the south lot, the water spriklers will come on and make a mess of your car. If I was informed that there was an underground parking lot when I checked in, I would have taken advantage of it! There isn't a lot of nice hotels anymore in Daytona, so I would say this is a nice place to stay for your money.

  • Liked — Balcony, ocean view
  • Disliked — Window A/C unit
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed at the Bahama House for a week on August 19th 2007. We arrived to a very clean and beautiful lobby area. One thing that did scare my travelling partners was a very large grasshopper in the parking lot! I go to Florida every year but in September and I have never seen these things before! Must be the season - they are huge but they don't bother anyone and I had fun watching them!

Anyway, the lobby was very nice and check in was a breeze. The elevators are a little slow when it's busy but getting to our room was easy. We had a partial ocean view - our balacony was on the side of the building. It was still a great view of the ocean and of the moon on the water.

The room itself was very nice. Very clean and comfortable. We had a small kitchen with microwave. They provided all silverware, plates, etc. They also provided dishwashing soap which was nice.

At 5:30pm there is a happy hour - free drinks and popcorn. They also had an elderly gentleman there doing magic tricks. He was alot of fun and very good.

In the morning they provided a small breakfast - coffee, juice, cereal, danish, and some other items. Very good - and fresh! After breakfast, the front desk has fresh cookies for free! They were so YUMMY!!

Our whole week was very enjoyable and I would recommened this hotel to anyone. The staff are great and always had a smile.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We only spent 2 nights in this place but it was the best 2 nights we ever spent in ANY hotel ANYWHERE!! Great big spacious room with a kitchen, great balcony, oceanfront view, great pool and spa! Besides the amenities, the staff was great! Very friendly, went out of their way & the welcome was fantastic!! Complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast! Close to downtown shops. Great experience there.... will only go back to Daytona if we can stay there again!!

  • Liked — the room and the view
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama House

Address: 2001 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bahama House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect location for your Daytona Beach vacation. Located directly on the ocean and built with our guests in mind, we offer all the amenities you need for a perfect beach getaway. All over sized rooms have fantastic ocean views, most include full kitchens. Great value rates always include daily deluxe continental breakfast, cocktail reception, newspaper and fresh-baked cookies. Wi-fi Internet access and parking are always free and we never charge Resort Fees. Families love our Oceanfront pool,Jacuzzi and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama House Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Hotel Daytona Beach
Bahama Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.