We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIP OFF ALERT !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Acapulco Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Acapulco Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2505 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“RIP OFF ALERT !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked my room at The Acapulco Hotel on Priceline, pre-paid. The Hotel Clerk asked for my credit card upon check in. I asked her why and she said it was just for incidentals. When I got home and checked my credit card, they charged me %45 of my bill for nothing. They said it was a resort fee, an energy fee, a safe fee and they also said there was additional taxes. Tried to complain to management, but no manager on premisis. Management team is listed as 'Daytona Six" there is NO record of this LLC on the Florida Division of Corperations web site. This seems to be tourist trap big time and there are MUCH better places to stay in Daytona Beach. Worst encounter with a Motel EVER!!!

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you like being RIPPED OFF and treated like dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631Associates631, General Manager at Acapulco Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
September 28, 2012

Dear Drumbeaterdoug:

Thank you for the feed back concering your recent stay with us.

We are truly disappointed that we failed to fully explain our resort fee and hotel credit policy, during the check in process. In addition, it is our resort policy for each customer to sign our registration form, showing they agreed with our policy.

Your comments Drumbeaterdoug, will be shared with our team . Should your travels bring you to the Daytona area in the future, please contact me directly, as we would enjoy hosting you as our guests.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    133
    90
    63
    76
See reviews for
198
125
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I wanted to find an affordable hotel directly on the beach in Daytona and this hotel was just that. The room was pretty spacious and had a balcony directly overlooking the pool and ocean, it also included a small fridge, microwave, and 2 burner stove. The decor was a little out dated and could use some updating but other things like the counter tops and TVs had already been upgraded. The staff was very friendly and saw to all my needs and despite the hotel being pretty full it was quiet. The rate I got with a special was pretty great as well. The hotel was a pleasant surprise and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631Associates631, General Manager at Acapulco Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
September 23, 2012

Dear Pint Size:

Thank you for taking the time to post these kind comments about your stay at our Acapulco Hotel & Resort.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests about their expereinces, and delighted and pleased when we receive such wonderful feed back.

It is always appreciated when you share your comments with your friends and family.

Again, many thanks Pint Size, we look forward to your return stay in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Mangaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Acapulco is a first class hotel. They are very accommodating and provide you with everything to make sure your vacations goes well. They had an excellent breakfast special which was convenient for travelers looking to hit the road early to do there sit seeing. Along with a great breakfast the locations is ideal for anyone trying to see Daytona beach and just 2 miles from downtown Daytona!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631Associates631, General Manager at Acapulco Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
September 24, 2012

Dear AQS:

Thank you for the excellent trip advisor posting, in which you rated our resort as excellent.

Excellence is our service culture and we are so delighted that you were a part of our excellent service. We look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlawn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Dont write reviews much, but this place earned it. Never been to Daytona Beach,drove down for a couple of days with no reservation. Stopped at a few different hotels, Acapulco had the best rates,very friendly staff. So we asked to see the rooms, very helpfully in showing us there rooms. Stayed oceanfront and was very happy we choose this place. If your looking for a 5 star,like some people that gives review, no need to stay here, but if your looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay I would give them a 4 out of 5. My family sure will go back. Keep up the good work Acapulco and Thank You

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we went in April 2012 , was not what I expected pool was marked off by yellow tape for a few days , one hot tub out of two was boarded up and the other was well lets just say i wouldnt go in it !
there is really no food restaurant except the continental breakfast and that is ok................the bar was open once for a few hours ........
the room was ok , except they were varnishing our floor and had fans going that was really sickening , i actually was sick to my stomack from the horrible fumes
our smoke alarm went off at like 330 am in our room maintenance came and dismantled it , we had no alarm for a few days i reminded the front desk a couple times ...........
rugs in hallways were very dirty all the time , elevators have problems as well
could be a very nice place but the management who was new was not upto par at all ............oh well i know not to go there again , had wierd things charges to my credit card 4 months later from this hotel , very strange and not trustworthy at all..........in all my travels i have never seen my credit card be billed for a stay that i left with a zero balance , never had charged anything to my room at all , i had been shocked to see my card used , my trip was bought last summer in full on hotwire , and somehow the hotel billed my card four months after i checked out with a 0 balance , beware go elsewhere ..........

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We decided on the spur-of-the-moment to take our out-of-town daughter to the beach this week. I made several calls to other motels. But I chose the Acapulco because the gal who took the reservations offered me a reduction in standard rates. What a surprise to find this treasure at Daytona. Clean, clean, clean! We got an oceanfront room and enjoyed both sunrise and sunset views. The pool is large and clean clean clean! The only drawback is that all the beds are double beds...no queen-sized beds in the whole motel...but very comfortable. The location is convenient to restaurants and attractions at the beach. There is a new flat screen TV in the room, WiFi, a coffeepot, toaster, refrigerator, and a small stove. The rooms are well decorated as well as the hallways. We will be going back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to the ocean, pay a little more and get an oceanfront room. You won't spend all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631Associates631, General Manager at Acapulco Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
September 23, 2012

Dear DCA874:

Thank you for your delightful posting about your recent stay at the Acapulco Hotel & Resort


From your comments, we can see that you enjoyed your stay and is ready to return.!

On behalf of the entire team, many thanks DC we look forward to your next trip.

A note DC when you return, you will notice some major improvements to our pool area. We are in the process of expanding the pool deck area, and building a larger jacuzzi. Please share the great fun you had, with your friends.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to this hotel in August 2012 during the quieter season. Given that it did not appear to be very busy at the time, our room was filthy! There was a soiled towel left on top of the TV unit (TV was not flat screen), we had to ask for toilet paper rolls, and the coffee machine had used coffee grinds still in it left from the previous occupants!! Did they clean our room at all before we checked in?! No one wanted to turn on the TV because the remote control was filthy and grimy --ew! We had a reservation for 4 nights and checked in late for our first night, so unfortunately we didn't have time to find another hotel and we were forced to stay overnight. We checked out immediately the next morning. The Hawaiian Inn down the street appeared to have many more people staying there and from the outside looked like a much better maintained property. Although we didn't stay there, I would recommend checking that out hotel out instead. The only plus to our stay was the beautiful beach, but you can get that from any of the other oceanfront hotels in Daytona!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
631Associates631, General Manager at Acapulco Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
September 23, 2012

Dear Bambi:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Acapulco Hotel & Resort.

We are truly disappointed that we fail to meet the high standards we have become known for and what our guests would expect when staying with us. Our sincere apologies Bambi On behalf of our entire team, we would like to extend a return welcome to you, whenever you are in the area.

It is our hope that you would give us an opportunity to re- gain your confidence. And , it is our promise you would not be disappointed!!
Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acapulco Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Hotel & Resort

Address: 2505 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daytona Beach Front Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acapulco Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Hotel And Resort
Acapulco Hotel Daytona Beach
Acapulco Resort Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.