We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawaiian Inn to your Saves list
Hawaiian Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spring Break Central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

So the first thing is that we rented a condo - part of the place but not run by the hotel - it's all a bit confusing but nonetheless...

The accommodations were great, the pools are nice, the beach is magnificent, the staff helpful and polite. Problem...?

It's called Spring Break - a million drunk and noisy kids descend on Daytona the first week of March and stay for six weeks (I understand the actual kids don't stay the entire time...). We found this out the hard way - not really the hotel's fault, and they tried to keep the noise down, but they were fighting a losing fight.

So if you really need to stay in Daytona during this time, ask if the places you're considering do Spring Break. Unless you're a college kid looking for a good time, in which case, join the fun. I did 30 years ago and was glad I did. Not so much the past few days...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenient noise you faced during your stay with us. This is a situation that we experience for a short time each year, and is often hard to control. We are happy to hear, however, that you enjoyed your condo, received great customer service, and enjoyed our pool area. We appreciate you being understanding, and hope that you choose to stay with us again during a quieter time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    156
    89
    96
    172
See reviews for
223
162
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I too was a little leary to stay after reading some of the reviews, but this hotel is just fine. We came over the Christmas/New Year's holiday and paid an excellent rate for a two bedroom with a balcony and ocean view. At first glance the hotel may not look that great, but after a short time I realized that it was mainly that the walls were knicked by guest's luggage. The suite itself was clean, and while not modern, it was a very effective base for our family of five adults. There are no flat screen tvs or stainless appliances, and it had a VCR, when all we brought we dvds. Our suite was cleaned daily, and vaccumed, and our housekeeper was very friendly and did speak English as she was an American. They took the dirty towels and delivered clean ones a couple hours later. This is an older resort, and if I had paid $200+ for it, I would have wanted more too, but for what I paid I was pleased. This hotel has seen better days, it looks like it gets beat up by guests each year, and then in the off season a fresh coat of paint and attention sustains it's life for another round of abuse. They were working on painting the outdoor corridors while we were there. It is a shame that the breakfast cafe and the tiki bar were not open daily, both were nice and ran by nice employees. We did not do the Luau because I did think it was a little pricey. This is not the Ritz Carlton, but if you are looking for a decent place to take your family on the beach this place worked for us!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Before I booked I read all the reviews about the Hawaiian Inn. Was a little concerned before my arrival but because it was race weekend there wasnt much left. I was very impressed when i walked into my room. Sure some of the furnishings are a little dated, but you got to remember that you arent staying at the Hilton. Saw some rooms under construction which is a good sign. The staff was very helpful. Housekeeping was actually a pleasure(and they spoke english). We stayed on the first floor with a walk out into the pool area. Used the shuffle board and mini put. Would defiantly book the same room again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossiter, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just got back from Daytona and i must say this resort(????) is not the place to stay. Anybody who likes this place has very low expectations. two days in a row i had to go to front desk to ask for wash cloths and the second time i got NONE. Can you believe this?? And to top this off Alex the guy at the front counter gave us two bath towels and told us to use them for wash cloths, what kind of place is this?? The water pressure in the shower was so low you almost had to stand right under the shower head to get wet. House keeping has no idea what a vacum sweeper is .The floors were never swept while we were there .The fridg was all frosted up and needed defrosted when we got there . Y ou would think for allmost 200.00 a night they could atleast have a clean place and give you wash cloths. LIKE THEY SAY "BUYER BEWARE" This place is NOT worth the money. DON'T STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Good luck on finding a good room , My tipis to stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and truly apologize that you experienced these issues during your stay. We will be forwarding your comments to the appropriate department so we may improve for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we drove into daytona looking for a place to stay and were lucky to come onto this wonderful place. it had ample parking. the rooms are variable in their decor. the staff were wonderful in accommodating us. we planned on staying 2 nights but landed up staying 6 nights. the view from the rooms of the ocean were wonderful. really enjoyed our daily beach walks. we will only stay here when we travel to daytona

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re so happy to hear that you ended up staying with us four more nights than originally planned! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wow what can I say. Have always counted on reviews with trip advisor & this time decided to chance it even though the reviews werent the best Booked this place months ago. Did receive king suite with an ocean view but so poorly maintained. When we complained they let us look at 2 other rooms. They were in worse shape then the one we had. Come to find out these rooms are owned by individuals and are rented out. None of this is mentioned on the Expedia web site we booked through
When we asked how to get out of rental we were told by the front desk we would have to go through Expedia to get our money back what the heck??? I could go on & on but trust me this place is so poorly kept. We were told some of the rooms are nice if that particular owner has renovated their place do it would be my advice to check this out On a positive note. Pool & tiki bar are nice but they are managed by a different group
Cafe is NOT good. Don't bother there either

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay us. Your feedback is very important, and we will be sharing it with the appropriate departments. We were glad that you enjoyed our pool, tiki bar, and the view of the ocean from your room. We hope that you will decide to come back and give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Pros: looks nice from outside, view from beach side rooms, gift shop owner is cool, television channels/ wifi were good,

cons: rooms straight up out of the 70's. Poorly maintained/decorated. Horrid water pressure, leaking everything, nothing is clean, towels that are 30 years old, horrific beds, no ice, housekeeping is non existent, bar and food is silly. Don't bother complaining about anything, the "hotel" staff just blames everything on homeowners association, yet they take your money....

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your beachside room and the wifi! We do apologize, however, that you found your room outdated and that you received poor customer service. We hope that you decide to stay again so that we can show you the true Hawaiian Inn experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaiian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Inn

Address: 2301 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawaiian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Say "Aloha" to this family friendly resort located on the "World's Most Famous Beach"! Perfect accommodations include executive guest rooms or one and two bedroom suites most with balconies overlooking the ocean. Enjoy the island atmosphere as you stroll along the miles of white sand beach. Amenities include Olympic sized pool next to the Tiki Bar & Grill, heated indoor pool, 9 hole mini golf course, shuffleboard, and much more. Nighttime brings the renowned Polynesian themed Luau Dinner Show!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Hotel Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.