We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Viking Lodge to your Saves list
Sun Viking Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Christmas destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sun Viking will easily meet a families needs. The outdoor pool with slide along with the indoor pool and being right on the beach for walks every morning makes it easy to keep everyone engaged at a leisurely pace for reasonable prices. The play structure also gives another activity for kids without leaving the property. The rooms were clean quiet and allowing us to cook when we wanted to or bring food back with kitchen facilities makes it the ideal vacation destination.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    99
    22
    19
    11
See reviews for
253
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found SVL on tripadvisor based on the high rating, low price and great reviews. We had high expectations as we trust TA, but it was even better than we anticipated. The pool was the highlight for the kids, especially given the waterslide and warm water in each of the pools. Hot tub was great and the beech was nice.
The room was great, clean and the staff was wonderful. Definitely worth a stay if you are in the area. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: We got a "no view" room in the older, 2 story section of the lodge and it was well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
It was certainly an honor that this guest found the Sun Viking Lodge on Trip Advisor and selected us “based on the high rating, low price and great reviews” and we are happy to read, the Sun Viking Lodge “was even better than we anticipated”. Thank you for the high ratings and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Most of our guests love the waterslide especially the kids! We do heat both pools so they always offer warm water making our pools popular year round! Our oceanfront hot tub is also quite popular! We were happy to read that you liked our beach and found your “room was great, clean and the staff was wonderful”.

Just like your family, many of our guests stay in the 2-story building which offers comfortable accommodations, reasonably priced and just steps from our pools and the beach!

Thank you again for taking the time to send in your review – we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place for a quick visit or to spend several days in the sun. We loved our room and everything exceeded our expectations. All too often beach rooms have a smell which is a combination of smoke and mold. Not here. Our room was great and everything was very clean. I really liked the swim-safe wrist bands to open doors. Well be back soon.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to send in your kind review.

We are happy to read your comments saying “we loved our room and everything exceeded our expectations” and “our room was great and everything was very clean”.

Thank you again, we too look forward to your return visit and wish you a great 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been coming to Daytona every 2 to 3 years since are 17 year old was 1 and by far the best place to stay if you have kids is the Sun Viking. It has lots of things to keep the kids occupied. We drive down from Canada and when we stay it is usually for 2 to 3 weeks. The one thing about staying at a hotel for this long is that if it has flaws they will come out and your stay will be the last one. So what brings me back is consistency. Always clean rooms, friendly staff who go out of the way to help you, and a activity co-originator that runs kids activities throughout the day and never forget the famous bingo for young and old. The owners are always trying to do something each year to maintain and update the hotel rooms. So with every visit things are a bit different and a bit better from tube television's to flat screen, from older style kitchens to updated, things are always changing. What this show's me is pride and caring. This hotel is not a big chain name but when I am away from home, thousands of miles I feel like the Sun Viking is a home away from home. From repeat guests that come back every year, to a staff that care, to a owner that keeps his hotel inviting. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. Young and old this place has something for you. So if your passing by Daytona Beach you might want to stop by and give this hotel a try and I think it might be one you visit time and time again. Thanks Sun Viking Sam, Julie and my 3 Sons.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I would like to send a great big thank you to this family who has been vacationing here for years and we are happy to read that you feel that our Sun Viking Lodge is “the best place to stay if you have kids”. We are also glad you feel we offer “clean rooms, and a friendly staff who go out of the way to help you”.

Most of our guests would agree with you and they too find that our free Activity Program is well liked by all ages!

Thank you for noticing many of our recent improvements – such as new pavement on our parking lot, new concrete surface for our basketball goal area, new re-surface on our indoor garden pool, new tile entry into our 8-story building and re-surfacing the roof of the 2-story building.

We are so happy that you feel, “when I am away from home, thousands of miles, I feel like the Sun Viking is a home away from home” – that is one of the nicest compliments we could receive.

It is an honor to receive such a nice review . . . we all look forward to your next visit and to welcome your family back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 6 night stay in one of the cottages at sun Viking lodge was great! the place is spotless inside and out, very friendly staff and great location to beach, movies, and shopping. the boys loved the pools and wore themselves out on the slide.

Room Tip: Large families or family with the grandparents go for the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review and for rating us so high in the categories of Rooms, Cleanliness and Service.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our vacation cottages. These cottages, located across the street from the Sun Viking Lodge are very popular, especially with families that need a little more space.

We are glad you found your cottage “spotless inside and out” and found our staff “very friendly”.

As you know, our pools are located on our oceanfront property, just a short walk from our cottages; it sounds like your boys may have found our 60-foot waterslide was their favorite amenity.

Thank you again for sending is such a nice review – we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start by saying that this is an old hotel, built in the late 70s or early 80s so it shows some age but like a bottle of wine it is ageing well.
Our first time to Daytona Beach and we wanted to stay somewhere nice with a view and that won't cost the earth, this is the place.
We started over the Thanksgiving, Black Friday week so prices are high but we still had..
Ocean views from the 8th floor.
Two queen beds
Full kitchen (a real full kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, full sized fridge)
Large Bathroom with a second sink
Large TV with Disney
And access to all of the hotel facilities (two pools, inside and outside, pool slide, basketball area, spa, bbq area, kids playground, access to the beach and all he activities )
As well as the local paper which was nice as I like to see what the locals are up to.
So for less the. $200 per night on one of the busiest weeks in the US it was great value (other better known places were up to and above $300+)
This is by far one of the most enjoyable placedps we have stayed and great for families..

Room Tip: Bring your binoculars
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
First let me thank you for taking the time to send in your review and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Daytona Beach and also found the Sun Viking Lodge “by far one of the most enjoyable places you have stayed” thank you!

During the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, many visitors came to Daytona to enjoy several large events including the popular Turkey Rod Show featuring antique and classic cars. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed spending precious time together which will be your most valuable vacation memory.

It was nice to read that you found our rooms, facilities and service up to your standards, thank you! We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

My family has been coming to this hotel on our family vacation for about 24 years. We love this hotel. But I must say, this year was a huge disappointment. My entire family couldn't come this year so my husband and I decided to make the trip ourselves and bring our almost 2 year old for a relaxing and fun get away. I didn't know we were coming during construction week. Huge disappointment. I was greatly looking forward to some quiet time sitting in the sun by the pool….but that wasn't possible with all the noise going on. While we were there, the slide was closed one day for electrical work, the blacktop for the basketball court was being torn up and replaced, a door right by the outdoor pool was being replaced, the roof on the motel building was also being redone, along with some tile on the outdoor pool being replaced. There were air compressors running all day, backhoe and skid steer demolishing the blacktop, a compactor, wood saws on and off all day, a concrete truck….you get the point. Nothing but a lot of noise from 8am-5pm. Not to mention the blacktop pieces scattered around the outdoor pool that you had to avoid stepping on when the slide was reopened. Nobody ever said anything to us about the construction. Had we known ahead of time, we could have chosen to make alternate plans or we at least would have KNOWN what we were getting into. We understand that these things need to be done and we probably would have stayed there anyway just for the waterslide. There were only a few other guests there that week, so definitely slow time for them. However, would it have been appropriate for the hotel to offer something as a means to recognize that all the construction is a huge inconvenience? Yes, along with informing us when we made reservations that they had construction work scheduled so we could decide if it was still worth staying there. Makes us wonder what the management was hoping would happen….If we don’t say anything, maybe the customer won’t say anything. I guess next year we should consider other options. Other complaints: indoor pool was colder than I remember it being in the past (two year old shivering after being in the water for 10 min) and the 5th floor dryers don’t work…when front desk was informed they didn't work, they were surprised to know that there were indeed two instead of just one dryer on the 5th floor. I wish I had a better review to write, but unfortunately, this year the Sun Viking Lodge did not live up to previous standards.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
It was an honor to read that you and your family have been staying with us for about 24 years and we are glad that over the years, you loved our Sun Viking Lodge. We are truly sorry that we disappointed you this year. I can assure you, we do value your loyalty.

As you might guess, there is no good time to do outdoor upgrades and renovations so we always try to select the slowest time of the year. Usually when this affects our guests, we try to inform them of the situation prior to their arrival.

Unfortunately, we too were caught by surprise on several of the issues you mentioned. For some time now, the resurfacing of our asphalt parking lot has been, and is still scheduled December 1 – December 12, 2014; this is and has been posted on our home page of our website and we called all existing reservations to inform them of this repair.

Just prior to your arrival, we were called by the company working on our parking lot; with almost no advance notice, they wanted to come the next day to resurface the area under the basketball goal with the concrete section, so it would cure for several weeks prior to the December 1st asphalt install. Because of the last minute notice, there was no time to inform our guests in advance.

Although we do offer an oceanfront, quiet grassed area with lounges away from the noise and the basketball court area, it is not located next to the outdoor pool, so it may not have been useful for you.

The electrical issue that closed our waterslide for a day was not anticipated either, although this is rare, it can happen and it is always occurs without advance notice.

Our new roof started long before your arrival and had the weather held out, it would have been completed prior to your arrival. One factor we cannot control is weather. When there are days of rain, you cannot do roof work – then you must wait a few days for it to dry out to complete. Sadly, it overlapped your stay.

The reason nobody said anything to you in advance was because we also did not know in advance – these issues occurred at the last minute. At the time you scheduled your vacation – no construction was planned, so there was nothing to inform you about. As mentioned above – the schedule of these repairs changed at the last minute.

We are very sorry to hear you found our indoor pool was colder than you remembered – did you report it to the office? We keep it at 86 degrees; however, on very windy days, sometimes the wind can blow out the flame of the heater, so we have to restart it which may take a little while to bring the temperature back to 86 degrees.

I can confirm that our Maintenance Supervisor did check the 5th floor dryers when your reported it. Both dryers were in fact working. What may have happened is, when the selection of cycle desired is picked and the coins are inserted, you still must push the “start” button to start the drying cycle. He did not find any problem with either dryer after testing them.

We are truly sorry we did not live up to your previous experiences with us. As owners, we sincerely sympathize with you for all the noise and aggravation that you were subjected to and apologize for your recent experience.

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review – perhaps, the 24 years of good visits will help outweigh this most recent stay. Should you decide to give us another try, we all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Viking Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.