We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and good location on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sun Viking Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great pool and good location on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here just for one night, so we didn't get to enjoy as much as I would have liked. The hotel rooms were fine - the one we stayed in had a little kitchen area, which would have been nice if we had stayed longer. The bathroom was tiny, but it had everything you needed. Overall, I would say you can tell it is older, but everything was clean and in working condition, so I would go back.
The pool looks like a lot of fun. They have a slide for the kids and they give you bands when you check in so nobody from outside the hotel can use the pool (keeps it from being crowded, although when we were there, it was pretty empty anyway). We didn't have time to play in the pool (beach won out), but it would have been great if you have a few kids. Instead, we went to the beach, which is right off the pool. Nice area, easy to walk to.
The only real negative I have is that smoking is allowed outside the rooms, and we were in the building where the room doors go to the outside. That meant if your neighbor was smoking on the balcony, you could smell it.
Overall, I would stay again - for the price we paid, it was a good deal. (Staff was friendly also.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such a nice review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your first visit with us and that you plan to return. Yes, we agree, the beach and ocean are always a wonderful choice.

Hopefully, when you return, you will be able to extend your stay and enjoy our 60-Foot Waterslide and our many other free amenities. In addition, you might also enjoy the addition of new flat screen TV’s in all rooms, new kitchen cabinets in our 8-story building, new granite bath vanities and new drapes and bed throws in our 2-story building.

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    95
    20
    18
    10
See reviews for
236
50
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We first came to Sun Viking in 1979. We had to come back. We came back in 2009 and kept coming back every year since. We are booked again for 2014. Why do we keep coming back, it is a very relaxing place for a months vacation. Weather has been cooperative, come back home with nice tans. Meet the same people every year. We also have pictures from the 1979 visit, which we bring with us to show new guest, and new staff what it was like in1979. The rooms are very nice, and now have flat screen tv's. We recommend it very much. The staff is very friendly. We like Daytona alot. Michele and Joe from Chicago

s

Room Tip: We like the first floor in the two story building. We park if front of our room. It is great for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It is so nice to read this review from a loyal repeat guest and sincerely thank you for ranking us so high in all the different categories.

Wow, when I think back to 1979, the world has certainly changed. But what does not change, is a relaxing vacation with old friends. Memories of the many happy times spent together with family and friends, is what grounds us and reinforces values that are so important to pass down to our kids and grand-kids.

Many of our guests who stay a month or longer actually see the real Daytona . . . a lazy, relaxing experience that restores the soul. We are glad you were able to see old friends and that you enjoyed the new flat screen TV – we are almost done – soon they will be in all rooms.

Thank you again for your kind review and for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had been years since I had been here and it's still a great place to stay!! Wonderful accommodations and the best staff around!! Nice to see we still have American owned and operated!! The pools are very nice and the great thing is going on beach and have fresh water at steps to clean all the sand off!!

Room Tip: Ocean front with a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and ranking us so high in all the different categories.

What a pleasant surprise to read, that this guest from years past, came back to visit with us at the Sun Viking Lodge. As time passes and we all go our separate ways, there is something refreshing and reassuring about connecting with pleasant memories of the past.

I was glad to read that this guest enjoyed the return visit, our accommodations, pools and our beautiful beach. We certainly agree with this guest, our staff is great; many of them have been here 20 years and more!

Thank you again for taking the time to send in such a nice review. We all look forward to seeing you again – and . . . don’t be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Put valuables and money in the safe. Came back from walk on beach and they were gone. Sun Viking management could/would do nothing about it. Will never stay there again.

Overall, the motel is okay. Once the trust is gone, it makes it difficult to stay there. The management seemed clueless.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I was sorry to read of your experience; to be honest, I am not sure how to respond to your comments.

Since this happened a year ago, it is difficult to address this issue in a responsible way. As far as something missing from the room safe, we don’t have a record of any room safe being broken into. Did you or our Management report it to the police so a police report could be made?

We have owned the Sun Viking Lodge for over 42 years and I can tell you it is extremely rare that a guest is missing something. When a guest occasionally reports a missing item, many times, after they return home, they call us back to inform us that they found the missing item when they unpacked from their vacation.

Again, I am sorry for your experience. Should you return to the Daytona Beach area, I feel sure you will be able to find another great hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had 5 rooms booked over Labor Day weekend for a family get together. This place was awesome...an indoor pool area, an outdoor pool with a large water slide, a children's playground and it is locatedright on the beach. There are gas grills to use, free of charge, you just have to reserve one in advance. There was planned activities. The balloon clown was not only entertaining for the children, but the adults as well. There was a misunderstanding when I checked in, with vehicles, but once I went down to the office and gave more details, the situation got solved quickly. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and we had a few good laughs!!! The family that we went with have gone there every year for Labor Day, for years. This was our first experience...We will DEFINITELY return!!!! We had an awesome time!!!!

Room Tip: They all seemed to be good rooms. We prefer ground level rooms, they do have one building that is 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
First, let me thank this guest for sending in such a nice review and ranking us so high in all categories. It was even more exciting to read that as this new guest vacationed with their friends, they enjoyed their first stay with us so much, they plan to return.

We are glad to read that you felt the Sun Viking Lodge was “awesome” and that you and your family enjoyed our many amenities, pools, waterslide and activity program. All our guests love our balloon clown and they too find him very entertaining.

We are so happy that you had an “awesome time” and we all thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to your new “home away from home”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We love going to Daytona and staying at the sunviking.we enjoy the pools the kids love the waterslide and the activities. The staff is nice our room was ready.we stay there every summer. Great views and seeing some of the same familys from last yr.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
How nice to read this review from a loyal repeat guest, thank you!

We appreciate your compliments and are happy to read you had a great vacation. Many of our guests see other families that return each year at the same time, forming life-long friendships.

As always, our waterslide is fun for “kids of all ages” and our free poolside activities are designed for everyone.

Thank you so much for rating us so high in all categories and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I made a reservation for the Sun Viking Lodge the morning we were to stay, so it was "take what you can get". We were able to get the main item on our wish-list...a beach-facing balcony. The rate was higher than I wanted to spend for one night at the beach, but as I said..it was last minute. Having said that, the room was a great bargain for a family, but way more than my husband and I needed. The room had two queen beds, a full sized sofa, an armoire, a dresser, a desk, two armchairs, a mini fridge/freezer with a microwavve on top, and two nightstands---and there was plenty of room for all of that. A family of 4-6 could be very comfortable in this room for a few nights. The room furnishings, although obviously well-used, were also well maintained, and seemingly a high level of cleanliness has been practiced. We didn't spend as much time on the balcony as we would have on a longer visit but the view was excellent; this isn't one of those places that advertise "ocean view" and what they mean is "you can see the ocean if you lean out waaaay far". There is an indoor "garden" pool and an outdoor pool with a water slide for the kids. Let me emphasize that: for the kids. Not for the 300+ lb guy who insisted on going down it and actually displaced water from the pool upon splashdown. During the same visit to the pool a group of tweens decided to make a competition of seeing who could spit pool water the most distance. The winner made it about four feet; unlucky me, I was about three feet away at the time. My one complaint about this hotel would be the lack of supervision of kids at the pool. The kids who were acting up either didnt have parents with them or had parents who didn't care. I don't mnd getting splashed (it's a pool, after all), I draw the line at being spat on. There is a pool attendant but he turned a blind eye apparently. When we escaped to the indoor pool we found others who had left the outdoor pool for the same reasons we did. There is also a small playground, shuffleboard, and hot tub on the premises and it's a short walk to the beach. The only other quibble I have is the lack of a coffeemaker in the room. Next time I'll know to bring my own. I'd give it 4.5-4.75 if that was possible!

Room Tip: We got a room in the "high rise" which seemed to be a little better maintained than the ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
It was nice to read your review and I was glad that you found your room was “a bargain for a family” and that it provided you with plenty of room. Most of our rooms offer full kitchens with coffee makers but unfortunately, rooms without kitchens don’t include them. However, if requested, we do have spares and we would be happy to loan one to you on a future stay.

Thank you for saying that our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping our rooms clean. All our guests would agree with you, that they love the views from the oceanfront balconies.

Regarding the incident of the tweens spitting pool water; I can assure you, we do not rent to singles under age 24 unless they are with their parents. Unfortunately, in this case, it sounds like the parents were “missing”. However, we will certainly speak with the pool attendants and make sure if this behavior is observed in the future, it will be addressed.

Once again, thank you for your kind words – we sincerely appreciate your thoughts and comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Viking Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.