We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN FOR EVERYONE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Viking Lodge to your Saves list
Sun Viking Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FUN FOR EVERYONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We loved it! Had a great time on the slide with my kids. Rooms equipped with a full small size kitchen. Saved a lot of money. Felt like home! Easy access to the beach from the pool/tanning area. We received a complimentary beach at check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. So happy to hear that you also enjoyed our popular waterslide – smiles for all ages! Many of our guests would agree with you and they too love the convenience of having a fully equipped kitchen; it does save a lot of money and the time needed to run to a restaurant for every meal. As you know the kitchens are fully equipped so even if you don’t want to cook a full dinner, breakfast and lunch are a breeze!

Thank you again and think of Daytona Beach when you use that beach towel; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    106
    27
    20
    11
See reviews for
287
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I stayed here in the month of June for 1 week. We love the clown "Diamond Jim" as part of the kids activities, he was great. We love to see many of the same faces there too both employees and return guests. The slide and the other wonderful activities Sun Viking has to offer as Barbara (Owner) will reiterate to everyone when responding to my comments were great too. I'm sorry to be a bit picky on this one but the smokers are everywhere. They're on the breezeways outside of the rooms, they're by the undercover patio area by the snack bar, they're even on they're balconies inside the indoor pool on the 2nd floor. It just seems to us that in the years past it hasn't been like it was this year with smokers everywhere and ashtray cans were everywhere as well. You know those little #10 empty coffee cans filled with sand? Kind of gross for a non smoker..... Still was a nice experience just gross to see cigarette cans and cigarette butts in those cans everywhere.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive a review by a repeat guest and to read that this family enjoyed their return visit; it is truly appreciated. Although we are not an upscale property we are fortunate to enjoy a great reputation for family accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere.

As a non-smoker myself, I was very concerned and certainly understood this guest’s comfort regarding the other guests that were smoking outdoors. Several years ago we decided to make all our accommodations non-smoking. At that time, although many our repeat guests who were smokers were upset, they were very gracious and did make adjustments to their new smoking outdoor locations. Outdoor balconies were included in areas they could smoke. However, our second floor rooms overlooking our indoor pool do not allow smokers to smoke on these balconies; we will certainly look into enforcing this policy right away.

We do provide many ash containers for smokers to use for disposal of their cigarette butts. These ash cans, filled with sand, help prevent cigarette butts from ending up in the grass, pool decks or sidewalks. Most times, we only have a small number of smokers; unfortunately, there is no way to know how many smokers will show up at the same time. We can go for weeks with no smokers at all or then, like in this example, several may all come at once.

We would like to thank this family for their loyalty and kind words and we look forward to welcoming them back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where they are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This 3 bedrm cottage was nice and clean and enough room for all 6 of us, and had 2 pull out sofas. It is a house across the street from the actual hotel, very private. Nice big back yard and 2 car parking.
The only con was only 2 TV's in the house. It rained a little 2 days so with 3 adults 2 older teens and 1 child waiting the rain out, 1 TV was for the youngest and the other for the oldest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are happy to read that this guest found our 3-Bedroom vacation cottage clean and large enough for their family of 6. Many of our guests appreciate how close these cottages are from our oceanfront hotel and also enjoy the privacy these cottages offer. We were also glad to read you enjoyed the large back yard.

I certainly understand the need for a 3rd TV – we will take this into consideration as we do renovations during the slow season.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages across the street from the main hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful the entire time.

The cottages are a great deal if you are traveling with others - in our case, teens - and want some privacy as they always want to stay up way later than we do.

My first thought when we arrived at the cottage was that it was very nice to have a private drive, and that the yard was nicely kept. There was a small patio off the master bedroom, and a grill and some rather worn lounge chairs out back. The door needs a coat of paint, as does the interior, but it was all clean and neat, if a bit dated, and the small front room and kitchen area in the 1-bedroom were bright and tidy.

The 1 bedroom had a large and comfortable king bed (which would benefit from some newer linens and a softer comforter of some kind) and the bathroom is surprisingly large and bright (it has skylights), although the ceiling is very low - watch out if you're extra-tall! There was a small room in the back where we could put our suitcases that also had extra linens.

The kitchen is nicely equipped; a roll of paper towels and salt and pepper shakers would be a nice addition, as would some kind of a scrubbie for the dishes - it's hard to clean a stuck-on pan with a dishcloth! Some dish soap was available; that was great. The icemaker did not seem to work; there is ice available across the street and an ice bucket in the kitchen. I appreciated that the oven pans had clean foil on them.

On the downside was the pull-out in the living room. It was horribly uncomfortable; I resorted to placing two blankets under the sheet to try to make it livable for our teens. Teens can usually sleep anywhere, but the mattress on this was very thin and you could easily feel the springs. I felt bad making the girls sleep on it for several days.

The other major knock on the cottages is the lack of WiFi. It just does not make it across the street. With the common use of smartphones, laptops, electronic readers, etc. dependent on WiFi, this is a problem that needs to be rectified by placing a router in each cottage (or maybe just one that reaches the three cottages.) I run a business, and not having easy access to answer e-mails, plus using up large amounts of our data on our various devices as we had no WiFi access - remember we had two teens! - was a real issue for us.

As it rained most of the time we were in Daytona, we had little chance to try any of the other facilities. The grounds were nicely kept and it seemed like a very family-friendly place. It's really aimed at families with younger kids; our teens were farther than they would have liked (about 2-1/2 miles) from the popular beach area, and they were not really into the various kid-friendly options on-site. They checked out the fitness center and said there were a couple of treadmill or elliptical devices, but no weight machines, and that it was hot. I wish more places would invest in weights for visitor use, but no big deal.

We did use the on-site laundry. It's reasonably priced and they have soap available in the front office, which was great. I ran the dryer twice, and the clothes were almost as wet as when I took them out of the washer, so that was kind of a problem as we had to then pack very damp clothes.

Overall, I think this is a decent place for families; they have a number of on-site activities and everyone we saw seemed happy. Just don't select a cottage if WiFi and a comfortable pull-out matter to you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay in one of our vacation cottages. Most guests agree with you and feel the cottages are reasonably priced and offer a lot of room.

I was glad to read that you found the cottage location convenient to our hotel property, where you have full use all amenities including our pools, waterslide, hot tub, and beach access. Thank you for complimenting our staff, in saying they were helpful and very nice – we agree!

Our cottages are very popular and are offer vintage Florida charm. The ceilings are average for the traditional Florida homes built in years past, unlike newer homes built with much taller ceilings. Our guests would agree; skylights allow some of our beautiful sunshine to brighten up your day! As we approach our fall season, we schedule maintenance projects such as painting and renovations, so we will certainly review your recommendations.

We are happy to read you found the kitchen nicely equipped. I am not sure if you reported to the office that the icemaker was not working properly – we will check it to see if we need to replace it. Salt & Pepper shakers are not provided, since we cannot leave unused product in them; they would have to be washed each time and would remain “damp” inside, making them not practical.

We agree that most all sofa beds are not as comfortable as normal beds – generally the mattresses must be thin to fold back into the frame to provide seating. We do offer larger 2 and 3 bedroom vacation cottages which provide extra traditional bedding in the bedrooms in addition to the sofa beds in the living rooms.

Free Wi-Fi is offered in our hotel property rooms, all outdoor public areas and on our pool deck; we will look into offering this at our vacation cottages; hopefully, we may have this solved by your next visit.

We agree, there is much for adults and children to do on our property. Many teens that stay with us like to surf, boogie board, play free Wii games and compete in some of our free poolside activities however, we certainly understand your teen’s interest in the extra entertainment offered near the Boardwalk area of our city. It was nice to read that your teens used our free Fitness room; actually, we do offer weight equipment in our Fitness room, it is a Nautilus 5-station weights machine with “attached” weights. Unfortunately, because of possible abuse and for safety reasons, free weights are not possible to offer in an unsupervised Fitness room; for this reason, free weights are not usually offered in most hotels.

Thank you for notifying our front desk about the issue with the dryer, the repair was addressed quickly; with 3 guest laundry rooms, unless a guest brings an issue to our attention, it would go unnoticed.

I would like to thank this guest for their suggestions and want them to know we look forward to their return to Daytona Beach and hopefully, the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where they are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Yet another fantastic stay! If u want a nice, clean, family place....Sun Viking is it! My teenagers are in heaven here and so am I! The staff is so friendly, the rooms are perfect and the amenities rock! Just wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
First let me say that it is so nice to read of a review from a returning guest – that certainly makes our day!

Our guests are the best; many of them have met other retuning guests who, overtime, become friends for life as they watch their kids grow up together, year after year!

Thank you for rating us so high in each category. We are happy to read that your teens loved it here and found our amenities “rock”! We too wish you didn’t have to leave but you can always “dream” about being back at the beach on your next visit!

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family just got back from the most enjoyable vacation. Daytona was never my first choices of places to go. We went to to see Daytona and to see family. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised by the Sun Viking Lodge. My daughter and son ages 9 and 12 took advantage of the family activities such bingo and adveteasements. My father also took in a game or two of bingo. My husband and I enjoyed the morning coffee club. Everyone loved both pools. We watched the ocean at sunset from the pool patio. The location was perfect for morning walks on the beach. Our room was perfect size for our family. The staff was frienly and helpful. Our rooms were always cleaned. We will go back to Datona! We look forward to visiting the Sun Viking Lodge. Thank you for a great vacation
The Fiscjer and Brooks Family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
First let me thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review with high ratings in all categories. It is always encouraging to read that we had a small part in making a family vacation a great experience.

As most of our guest’s would agree, their kids love our waterslide and of course, it’s designed for “kids of all ages!” Our complimentary guest recreation program is also designed for all ages; encouraging families, in a fun way, to reconnect as they compete in different game competitions including poolside Bingo.

Thank you again for you kind words. We all look forward to their return visit to Daytona Beach and the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where they are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lithia springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Another wonderful stay @ SVL! The hotel has gone through some great renovations, and the place was as wonderful as ever. My family & I enjoyed the pool, easy access to the beach, the activities, and the nicest people ever to take care of any needs. There are never enough words to express how amazing it is to go back there year after year and still be happy w/ the place.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms in the high rise are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First I want to thank this repeat guest for their loyalty and for staying with us again. The best part of operating our motel is that our repeat guests are the best. Over the years we look forward to their return and hopefully they enjoy seeing us too. In addition, many times our guests form long-term friendships with other guests who vacation at the same time each year and look forward to seeing them as well.

We receive many compliments about our staff and we would agree, we are blessed to have a great staff and the many wonderful vacationers that stay with us throughout the year.

It was nice to read that this family enjoyed their return stay with us, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Viking Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.