We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sun Viking Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sun Viking Lodge for a long weekend in February. We stayed in the large story building. The suite was great for our family. The balcony facing the beach was private and great. The place had a nice little kitchen and living room and two great beds in the bedroom. The staff was awesome and we all loved the heated indoor and outdoor pools. The water slide was also a great surprise. We loved the fresh coffee in the office every morning too. The only complaint for us would be they really need new pillows. The pillows they have a about an inch thick and old. Otherwise, we will defiantly stay there again. The location is wonderful too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
First I would like to thank this family for their review and for the nice ratings in the different categories. We are glad you liked our location and are happy to read you will return.

Everyone loves the private balconies that face the ocean . . . nothing is more soothing than watching the ocean, seabirds and a beautiful sunrise over the Atlantic! We are glad your family found the kitchen, living room and bedroom nice and comfortable.

We agree with you, our employees are awesome! We hear this compliment all the time and we are very blessed to have such wonderful employees.

It was also nice to read that you enjoyed our heated indoor and outdoor pools and found the waterslide a great surprise; everyone loves the waterslide!

We are sorry to read that you did not like the pillows in your suite. I can say that ALL pillows are 3-6 months old. With 91 rooms, it is possible we skipped the room you were in, so we will go back in every suite to make sure they all have our newest pillows. For an owner, pillows and beds have always been quite the challenge. The reason is that everyone enjoys different comfort standards. The various likes are for soft, firm, thick, thin, curved, foam, feathers, non-feathers and the list goes on. We end up buying the “most popular” pillow that our hospitality vendor sells to most mid-range properties. I will share something we do personally when we travel; whether we drive or fly, we bring our own pillows, this way we always get a good night’s sleep!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    91
    20
    18
    10
See reviews for
222
49
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

So my mom, husband and I needed a place to stay for one night while visiting my aunt; we didn't want to spend a fortune for one night. I read MANY reviews online and settled on Sun Viking. I am glad we did. I will be honest- my family tends to be "snobbish" when it comes to places we stay. I guess there is a stigma in our minds that we don't like to stay places where the "doors to our rooms are on the outside" as opposed to entering from an enclosed hallway. Sun Viking crushed that with our stay, the rooms are dated, but very well kept and clean. Fridge, Microwave, etc. were all included in the room (just missing a coffee pot!). We didn't utilize the pool(s) but saw many kids/adults doing so. They were spotless and I did dip my toe in the indoor pool and wish I had my suit as it was nice and warm. We ended up having a very nice breakfast at the cafe in the morning; everything was cooked to order and was a great value. There was super easy access to the beach which is wonderful; it was really nice to be able to sit outside, have breakfast and watch the waves. Overall, we were very happy for our one night stay and will be sure to stay here again on our next visit to see my aunt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very thankful that this family needed a room for one night this past February and selected the Sun Viking Lodge for the first time. It is nice to see that they ranked us so high in all categories and found their room, our property and pools clean.

We are also glad to read that they enjoyed themselves at our poolside Viking Kafe, finding their meals were cooked to order and also a great value. Many of our guests have also made the same comments; enjoying their meals in a casual oceanfront atmosphere while watching the ocean.

I don’t get the impression that these guests (in their words), are “snobbish” at all! Although we are not a luxury resort with upscale services, we offer clean, comfortable accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere. Our rooms, which can be viewed on our website, allow the viewer to see in advance, the cozy atmosphere of the room interiors. Our room photos are less than 1 year old, so they are an accurate representation. More importantly, we feel our guests will long remember their time together at the beach and remember little of our room décor.

Hopefully this family will bring their swimsuits on their next visit as both pools are heated including our oceanfront hot tub! Maybe they will even get a quick slide on our 60-foot waterslide . . . fun for “kids” of all ages!

We certainly look forward to their return visit to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where they are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had stayed at the Sun Viking last year, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so when we made plans to come to the Daytona 500 this year, we went ahead and booked rooms then. We were seldom in our rooms with all the races, and the only reason I gave it a four instead of a five this year was because our room had several small things that added up to make it less that a five. The shower knob was stuck, and wouldn't allow you to turn it off and on, and the wood around the door had been bathroom damaged by someone probably just picking the wood off. Other than that, it was clean, and enjoyable. It's a great location, and the maids do a good job. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
First I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to send in this review and for staying with us again this year.

I sincerely apologize to this guest because of the trouble they had with the shower knob; hopefully they reported it to the Front Desk and it was corrected. Although it is our responsibility to make sure everything is in good working order, unfortunately, some small needed repairs can go un-noticed unless a guest brings it to our attention; this can happen at any resort.

We do have a policy where every room on our property is inspected by a Manager, every month. We will make sure the repair to the bathroom door was done since this guest stayed with us.

Again, thank you for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have booked in Daytona previously and been disappointed with rooms
Travel time had us in Daytona Beach area and thought I would try again
Very happy with the hotel and would recommend to anyone Did not book directly with hotel and photos online did not do justice
Room very clean Check in very friendly Travelling with grandchildren and pools both inside and outside were warm and clean

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was a pleasure to read that this family enjoyed their stay with us and I would like to thank them for rating us so high in the different categories.

As this family found out, we are not a fancy, upscale or luxury hotel; the Sun Viking Lodge offers casual accommodations in a relaxed beachfront atmosphere. Our flip-flop ambiance welcomes families and couples to enjoy our beautiful beach and encourages them to appreciate their time spent together . . . memories that will last a lifetime. When children remember back on their family vacations, they will place little weight on hotel room décor and will better remember their time spent enjoying family fun!

We look forward to their next visit and I want to thank this guest for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this beachside hotel from Wednesday Jan 23rd to Sunday Jan 27th 2013 while my wife and I attended the Rolex 24 hours at Daytona. We booked directly from the hotels website and chose the hotels choice room option to receive the lowest rate. At checkin we received a nice free beach towel and a coupon to publix which was convient since we were going to take our own food and drink into the track. The front desk staff were friendly and helpfull. We were put into a room with a king sized bed, a fridge, and microwave. The room was allways clean, and cozy and we will be staying at the sun viking for all of our trips to daytona for fishing and for attending the races

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
First I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review along with the high ratings in all categories.

We hope these guests enjoyed the wonderful weather we have had recently including during this very popular Rolex 24-Hour Race. Many of the couples and families that stay with us enjoy the free welcome gift given at check-in to those staying 3 or more nights. We are happy to read that the room was found clean and cozy.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back for another race or just relaxing doing some fishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family just loves this place. We have probably stayed here 10 times since 2001.

It has a family atmosphere, and we've never encountered drunks or parties that were what we'd consider out of control.

We love that its a on the beach, we love that they have activities for the kids, we love that there is breakfast and lunch available in the cafe, we love the location, and we love the price.

We are going back this June 1st through the 7th -I am a little bothered that the repeat customer code I used online gave me a much cheaper rate than calling in did, but I couldn't book online because I needed 2 rooms next to each other and had to call in but it doesn't bother me so much that I would go elsewhere.

The cleanliness is what you would expect in a hotel of this type - its clean, comfortable, and has the problems any beach hotel will - sand, salt water damage, etc - but again, expected.

We've never had problems with staff or housekeeping as far as I can remember, and if we did, it wasn't big enough of a deal to remember.
I do vaguely recall once having an issue with having a second vehicle after being told it was okay, but in the end it worked out and we had to park the second one across the street - not a big deal.

We love Sun Viking and every year we consider trying a new city, but always end up back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for ranking us so high in all the categories and for taking the time to send in such kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome repeat guests. Over 90% of our guests are returns vacationers and as time goes by, we have many 3rd and 4th generations that continue to return . . . we are very blessed! Many of our guests make these same comments, such a family-friendly atmosphere with a great beachside location, clean comfortable rooms and nice employees. I will personally check on the comment you made regarding your repeat guest discount code – it should work online.

We soon will start our 42nd year here and it is guests like these who make our business a pleasure. We thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you in June 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The kids loved it!! The view of the ocean was beautiful! Heated pool inside and outside. Kiddie pool, water slide, located directly on the beach, you could go for walks on the beach any time ...............
Will for recommend to others...............
Needs coffee in room though. Basketball goal and playground for kids ,, the people where very friendly.game room to
o, shuffle board, hot tub!!!!!!!!!!!...…loved it loved it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing such a nice review. It is so nice to read that this family enjoyed their stay at the Sun Viking Lodge. A Christmas get-a-way at the beach is a perfect location to re-connect, something we feel is truly important in our fast paced world. Many of our guests with children find out that there are plenty of things to do here on the property that keeps the kids busy and which makes everyone happy!

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Viking Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.