We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LaPlaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added LaPlaya Resort to your Saves list
LaPlaya Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Astor, Florida
1 review
“We will be back again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

While worried about the past reviews, my husband and I stayed June 28-30 could not have asked for a better place to stay. All employees at resort were excellent, view was excellent, rooms were remodeled and were great. The Tiki Bar was by far the best time we had in a long time. The DJ played great music all day and night, the Bar Manager made sure everything went smooth and everyone was happy!! And the Bartenders ROCK. We will be making this place our monthly getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at LaPlaya Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words about our staff and property. Even though the hotel is still under renovations we hope to be completed very soon. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We hope you make the La Playa Resort your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    40
    53
    112
See reviews for
129
89
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading these reviews I was leary of what it would be like. This is no palace but it's not horrible either. If you are coming to the beach for the beach it's great. If you are a person that hangs in your room all day don't stay here. The parking does stink but once again if you don't mind walking around the building its fine. All the reviews about the carpet are done. ... they are in the process of replacing it and renovating the hotel. Our room had brand new carpet. The convienence was nice everything was close and the beach and pool here are great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was a tad leary after reading the reviews but we had a BALL! Best tiki bar around, Cara & Chrissy, the bartenders are great! DJ played such a wide variety of music & kept everyone at the pool moving :) We had a 6th floor oceanfront suite & it was very nice! Very large balcony. The hotel is convenient to EVERYTHING! We're already making plans to go back!

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators! Although convenient, the hallways echo so you hear EVERYONE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everything was perfect! I stayed with my best friend for 8 days in March. We spent a lot of our time on the pool deck and on the beach. There was always some activity going on, music playing and everything was kept so very clean! The room was phenomenal, the cleaning service did such a wonderful job and they also made sure we were stocked with everything we needed. The front desk service was so helpful for check in and check out or if we needed a cab called. I met some of the most wonderful people who are still my best friends to this day at LaPlaya. Restaurants are really close if you don't want to do a ton of driving, or there are wonderful places on the board walk right now the road! If you are planning on going to Daytona Beach LaPlaya Is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever been too. Thank god I was only there for 2 days. The kitchen is revolting. There are nasty stains on the marble kitchen floor and its just gross. The hotel is just gross generally.The bedroom was ok but the TV was like from the 90s. The only decent part of my stay was the beach and room service.and there are drunks.in the parking lot at night and u can hear them screaming. I HAD A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE HERE I ALMOST CRIED WHEN I WENT OUT THERE. WORST HOTEL IN DAYTONA BEACH DO NOT GO I REPEAT DO NOT GO U WILL REGRET IT!!! I WOULD RATHER STAY ON THE BEACH!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

well, i will say that the staff were nice, but the hotel could use alot of work. They only had one elevator in the lobby which was a no no with all the traveler's in. After waiting so long for the elevator, i decided to use the stairs. The resort luggage rolling cart wheels were terrible. Our room had a lizard and a cockroach running in it. The carpet was filthy, when you walk on it without socks it felt gummy. The balcony slide door didn't close all the way. The balcony itself had cracks everywhere. The pool was nice, but it felt like i was swimming in ice water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

When I made reservations I was pleased with the price for the ocean front suite that I booked. It seemed to good to be true but I asked questions to make sure we were on the same page. When we checked in the first thing we were surprised by was the difference in the pics from the website to the actual building. Secondly they had no rolling carts for our luggage (a family of five with lots of bags) then were told to park across the street. After dragging all of our luggage to the eight floor making our kids carry bags too, we get to our room and find that its just a basic double bed room. No couch or Murphy bed like we were told. Plus the room was out dated and dirty. Called the front desk and was told that all the suites were booked and that they were sorry for the confusion. Needless to say we checked out and are now staying in a beautiful suite room at Perry's Resort. It was a waste of our time and started our family vacay off bad. I would not recommended staying there unless you like to party.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at LaPlaya Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you feel deceived in the difference of our website photos and being on property. We feel our photos are true to the overall property. Sorry for the inconvenience of not having any luggage cart available at the time of check in. During busy hours of arrival;s carts are normally in high demand and at times hard to have easily available. We apologize for the booking error for your room category. Our front desk staff are trained to do a full reservation read back to all guests prior to giving out the confirmation number and finalizing the reservation. Was your reservation booked via direct hotel or online? We are in the process of laying new carpet in all of our guest rooms and we do invite you to come back and stay with us in the future and try to erase your initial thoughts of our product.

Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LaPlaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaPlaya Resort

Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LaPlaya Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your LaPlaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaPlaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.