We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Inn to your Saves list
Mayan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel would be great for anyone who is there only to party and does not care about their room. While we were there the clothes dryer was down and we could not get clean wash cloths. I had to go buy us some. They only cleaned our room once in our 6 night stay and then did not even remove the dirty towels. There were holes in the door, burns in the blankets, and the elevator was broken for almost the entire time we were there. We were on the 5th floor and had to use the stairs. The location is great though and the AC worked great. That's about the only good things I can say. The room had not even been cleaned well before we got there. Empty bottles in the floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end away from the Ocean Deck next door is quieter. We did not hear them at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
On behalf of the Hotel, I sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced with the clothes dryer and the elevator. I am also very sorry that you were not satisfied with the housekeeping service you received during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the entire staff and we are all working very hard to ensure that every hotel guest receives excellent service. I would like to let you know that both the clothes dryer and the elevator have been repaired! We would consider it an honor if you would be willing to give us another chance to meet your expectations. If you are willing to give us another opportunity to meet your lodging needs in the future, we will do everything we can to deliver the excellent service that you deserve. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    49
    43
    68
See reviews for
90
62
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while visiting friends in the area. By far the grossest place we have ever been! We had this room free from our bank rewards. The elevator smelled of urine and vomit. This should have been a warning sign. Upon entering our room, the towels hanging in the bathroom were dirty and used. The "comforter" had cigarette burns and was disgusting. The carpet smelled and was stained. Needless to say we left feeling disgusting from just walking in the room. So gross! Outdated, not clean, beware! Spend the extra few dollars and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A friend and I (both 25 year old female college students) recently visited Mayan Inn this past weekend and I strongly recommend staying at another property. When we first walked in, I had to kill 2 bugs inside the room. On top of that, the sheets had stains, the carpets had stains, the bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned in years. Our TV didn't work and when we called the front desk about this problem, we were told "well, its late so maybe call back tomorrow and we will see what we can do". It was around 10:30p.m. Our toilet wouldn't flush properly and when I called the front desk about that, we were told "just hold the handle longer and it should work", which this did not work and nobody ever came up to fix this problem. The "continental breakfast" included individual cereal bowls, a gallon of milk and stale bread. We tried to spend the day at the pool and found it was full of unsupervised kids (about 20-30), also one of these kids pooped on the pool deck. When we informed the front desk about this, the maintenance guy came out with a garden hose and squirted it away. No cleaner or bleach was ever applied to the pool deck. We were just trying to have a relaxing get away for a reasonable price but next time we will be spending the extra money to stay at the Hilton next door. It was only about $60 more and clearly would have been worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We came to start our vacation to celebrate graduation. When we arrived the people at the front desk were already arguing with the couple ahead of us. Their room door wasn't closing properly and they were frustrated. When we checked in to our room we found the same exact thing about our door not closing properly. The room was OK. The sink faucet never stopped running. The bathroom door was such a tight squeeze it was very uncomfortable to stay in the bathroom. The view was beautiful, but the patio was rusty and filthy. None of the ice machines worked on any floor. Our room carpeting was completely soaked. The AC smelled but at least it worked. Parking was such a tight squeeze for our vehicles. There were dents on the doors from all the cars parked there. Overall it was a place to stay and a decent time. This place is in dire need of major renovation., possible removal of the building and start over from scratch.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Expedia whilst we were in Orlando for our road trip up the East Coast. Read the reviews, which are mixed, however decided to give it a chance for a night because of the cost. When we arrived alarm bells started ringing as although on the beach front the location seemed rather run down. We pushed on and checked in but the room wasn't ready. We decided to have a walk whilst we waited and but when out and about was a little nervous of walking down the side roads near to the hotel. We returned to get our key from a very pleasant lady on reception. One of the lifts wasn't working and when the other arrived it had rubbish and some sort of broken crockery all over the floor. On the ascent the entire family was looking nervously a each other; 1 because the lift had seen better days and; 2 fearing what was install for us in the room.

Our fears were confirmed. The room was tired and dirty, the lock on the door was broken, as was the safe and it smelt of cigars even though a non-smoking room was booked. We turned around, we had seem enough and decided to go elsewhere. Rather than take the lift we went down the stairs and these were also filthy and I half expected to see used needles at the bottom it was that bad. When I left the keys at reception the receptionist smiled and wished us well, it didn't appear to be the first time that this had happened.

Summary: You get what you pay for; don't know who can write a positive review about this hotel?; filthy; possibly dangerous; Avoid.

Finally, my wife says I am not being harsh enough about the Mayan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Do not go. Spent 3 nights & and had to fight for basic things like coffee, towels washcloths, no water pressure. We had to change rooms because Maintance could not fix showerhead and just left & left grease everywhere and never came back. Changed room and shower had very little cold water, no wash clothes,towels, coffee or ashtray for smoking. Breakfast was a joke. Only had cereal & toast to eat. Carpets you do not want to walk on because they are nasty. They lied about everything. The elevator was broke and we were told it would be fixed next day. Well, it was a lie, cramed in with as many as 8-9 people. It was very ruin down. Overall the working staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Mayan Inn for 2 nights. Had a great time! The rooms were clean, although a little outdated (sitting on balcony during the day was VERY hot). No problems with the shower, toilet or sinks etc. We did have to struggle occasionally to close our front door, but we worked with it. Fully stocked kitchen with full size fridge was an extra bonus. Kitchen could have used glasses though.....especially wine glasses.
You can’t beat the oceanfront views! We watched fireworks right from our balcony (every Saturday)! Beach is just steps away with access right from the pool area. Enjoyed the entertainment from the Ocean Deck next door (could see it from our balcony as well). The sound late at night didn’t bother us, but may bother some.
Everyone was very friendly (Lira & Toni). Complimentary Continental breakfast was OK but just basic. The whole place inside & out could use a remodel, but our unit wasn't dirty. We will definitely stay there again. And thanks Theresa for all your help getting this booked!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#71 of 110 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
3.0 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#41 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#57 of 110 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#62 of 110 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Daytona Inn Seabreeze
#46 of 110 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.