We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible horrible filthy disgusting ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mayan Inn to your Saves list
Mayan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible horrible filthy disgusting ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We came to start our vacation to celebrate graduation. When we arrived the people at the front desk were already arguing with the couple ahead of us. Their room door wasn't closing properly and they were frustrated. When we checked in to our room we found the same exact thing about our door not closing properly. The room was OK. The sink faucet never stopped running. The bathroom door was such a tight squeeze it was very uncomfortable to stay in the bathroom. The view was beautiful, but the patio was rusty and filthy. None of the ice machines worked on any floor. Our room carpeting was completely soaked. The AC smelled but at least it worked. Parking was such a tight squeeze for our vehicles. There were dents on the doors from all the cars parked there. Overall it was a place to stay and a decent time. This place is in dire need of major renovation., possible removal of the building and start over from scratch.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    40
    29
    61
See reviews for
73
47
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Expedia whilst we were in Orlando for our road trip up the East Coast. Read the reviews, which are mixed, however decided to give it a chance for a night because of the cost. When we arrived alarm bells started ringing as although on the beach front the location seemed rather run down. We pushed on and checked in but the room wasn't ready. We decided to have a walk whilst we waited and but when out and about was a little nervous of walking down the side roads near to the hotel. We returned to get our key from a very pleasant lady on reception. One of the lifts wasn't working and when the other arrived it had rubbish and some sort of broken crockery all over the floor. On the ascent the entire family was looking nervously a each other; 1 because the lift had seen better days and; 2 fearing what was install for us in the room.

Our fears were confirmed. The room was tired and dirty, the lock on the door was broken, as was the safe and it smelt of cigars even though a non-smoking room was booked. We turned around, we had seem enough and decided to go elsewhere. Rather than take the lift we went down the stairs and these were also filthy and I half expected to see used needles at the bottom it was that bad. When I left the keys at reception the receptionist smiled and wished us well, it didn't appear to be the first time that this had happened.

Summary: You get what you pay for; don't know who can write a positive review about this hotel?; filthy; possibly dangerous; Avoid.

Finally, my wife says I am not being harsh enough about the Mayan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Do not go. Spent 3 nights & and had to fight for basic things like coffee, towels washcloths, no water pressure. We had to change rooms because Maintance could not fix showerhead and just left & left grease everywhere and never came back. Changed room and shower had very little cold water, no wash clothes,towels, coffee or ashtray for smoking. Breakfast was a joke. Only had cereal & toast to eat. Carpets you do not want to walk on because they are nasty. They lied about everything. The elevator was broke and we were told it would be fixed next day. Well, it was a lie, cramed in with as many as 8-9 people. It was very ruin down. Overall the working staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Mayan Inn for 2 nights. Had a great time! The rooms were clean, although a little outdated (sitting on balcony during the day was VERY hot). No problems with the shower, toilet or sinks etc. We did have to struggle occasionally to close our front door, but we worked with it. Fully stocked kitchen with full size fridge was an extra bonus. Kitchen could have used glasses though.....especially wine glasses.
You can’t beat the oceanfront views! We watched fireworks right from our balcony (every Saturday)! Beach is just steps away with access right from the pool area. Enjoyed the entertainment from the Ocean Deck next door (could see it from our balcony as well). The sound late at night didn’t bother us, but may bother some.
Everyone was very friendly (Lira & Toni). Complimentary Continental breakfast was OK but just basic. The whole place inside & out could use a remodel, but our unit wasn't dirty. We will definitely stay there again. And thanks Theresa for all your help getting this booked!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place has to be the worst I have been in . Oh the lobby is nice and very friendly front desk staff ; then the nightmare begins. Stopped in the restroom in the lobby. Filthy and no toilet paper, the elevator is a joke. Walked up the stairs which smelled so bad. Our room had a crawl space cover over the shower that fell 4 separate times. Had service man fix it 4 separate times. The service man also reattached the shower nozzle to the wall, which still didn't work.The tv didn't work, service man came in to look at it. Food left in the microwave. Mold on the walls in the bathroom. The carpet, disgusting. The beds noisy, sagging and just gross. Paid for a rollaway bed, asked 3 times for it, finally the front desk took the price off my bill for my trouble. Thank goodness for that. I wouldn't let my grandson sleep on that filthy thing. Now for the plus side, the location is wonderful, the building needs to be torn down. Needless to say I will never go back there

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel needs updated badly...I will not stay here again!!! Our window had a piece of plywood over it and our air conditioner did not keep our room cool. I was not happy at all but to late to find a new hotel during race week. I will say that our housekeeper did a good job but the overall cleanliness of the hotel was poor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Island, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when we came to check Daytona out. It's old, worn, not very clean and situated next door to a bar that plays loud music - didn't bother us though as we partook in bars festivities till late anyway (nothing else to do). Room was smallish with a balcony overlooking Daytona Beach where the view was ok. You get what you pay for right? One morning I came out and there was spew all over the elevator and floor from someone who'd obviously had a big night out on the drink - it had been there for a while too. Staff were pre-occupied most times it seemed - no big deal though for us as we came and went as we pleased. Don't know if I'd stay here again though as I wouldn't prolly stay in Daytona again - it was ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. Located next door to Ocean Deck restaurant and beach club. Be advised that live music is being played nightly and may be of concern for some of our guests. Please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.