We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Inn to your Saves list
Mayan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel needs updated badly...I will not stay here again!!! Our window had a piece of plywood over it and our air conditioner did not keep our room cool. I was not happy at all but to late to find a new hotel during race week. I will say that our housekeeper did a good job but the overall cleanliness of the hotel was poor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    40
    35
    64
See reviews for
78
51
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk Island, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when we came to check Daytona out. It's old, worn, not very clean and situated next door to a bar that plays loud music - didn't bother us though as we partook in bars festivities till late anyway (nothing else to do). Room was smallish with a balcony overlooking Daytona Beach where the view was ok. You get what you pay for right? One morning I came out and there was spew all over the elevator and floor from someone who'd obviously had a big night out on the drink - it had been there for a while too. Staff were pre-occupied most times it seemed - no big deal though for us as we came and went as we pleased. Don't know if I'd stay here again though as I wouldn't prolly stay in Daytona again - it was ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been staying at the Mayan for several years and have had some issues with visits, but they are trying to improve and now the last two times we have been here, are very friendly. Yes, there is a bar next door that plays live music and is very loud and stays open til 2am, but this is a beach town and this is right near main street and the peir and all the fun things to do, so you need to expect that if your going to stay if, if loud music is not for you, they you should go down the road a litlte piece, and also, this is older and not 5 star, its a lower priced place right in the middle of things, but not a fancy place, so if your wanting 5 star, go right down the street to hilton, and pay double or thriple the price, but you do get all the bells and wistles, this is a come to go to the beach and go out walking around town hotel,,,,we will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The bar next door has live band every night sometimes on the beach. The band did not stop playing until 2am! We changed rooms (we had 2) to other side of building hoping for better experience. None of the rooms were clean, bedspreads were nasty, found socks, food and liquid in drawers..Leftover sunscreen from last guest and I stepped on a piece of glass! The microwave did not work, no trash cans in either room, missing tv remote in one of the rooms. The door to balcony did not close (had no hardware or latch) we had to ask for new chain so we could keep door closed. The chains to outside doors were broken. The breakfast room did not have fresh items. The bread was stale and the juice was out for two days. The staff was helpful and kind but there were just too many problems. They really need to do some updates!

Room Tip: Rooms away from bar side are better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodak, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Mayan Inn and upon arriving check inn was suppose to be a 3:00 we did not get into our room until 4:30 because the rooms were not ready. When we finally got to our room it was disgusting. There were no towels, toilet paper, the floor had not been vacuumed, the tables were dirty, the microwave was dirty had food all over inside, and the most disgusting part of it was there was a butt print on our mirror yes I said butt print. I was not expecting a 5 star hotel but sure was not expecting to have to clean my room before I stayed in it. Another problem is the parking. We were not able to leave and drive around for the first couple days so we did not loose our parking spot because there is not enough parking for the hotel when they run out you have to pay 10.00 a day to park in public parking and that is only good til 11 pm. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

As a repeat customer of the hotel we were very disappointed with this stay. We got 3 rooms, one with a kitchen. Kitchen was not set up for cooking, not enough silverware, dishes and other items. Pans need to be thrown away, peeling and got chips in food. Not toaster fo use for one breakfast. .Upon checking in one of the rooms had urine on the toilet and on the floor. No face cloths in bathroom. Staff said they would bring as soon as washed. Received them after Ij took my shower to go out to dinner. During most of our stay we did not receive face cloths until late in the afternoon. Need to purchase more linen. Staff was friendly and needs more to work with. The breakfast bar did not have apple,orange juice, muffins and coffee 3 of 6 days we stayed there. Staff said they ran out and would have more the next day, none next day. It was
difficult to feed 6 people in our party, what with nothing in the kitchen to cook with and nothing on the breakfast bar. I heard all around the hotel people complaining about no linens and nothing on the breakfast bar.Also many saying they are checking out and would not be back. We are some of those people, bringing family to your hotel and to have them go through that. Very disappointed and will not be back. Past visitors to your hotel.

Room Tip: ask more questions / check out past reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband, my 7 year old daughter, my mother in law and myself stayed there. It was a little loud but we expected that. Very close to everything. We walked everywhere. The Ocean Deck is right next door. We really enjoyed it and will be going back for another stay.
The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. However the bartender was very rude. She had a terrible attitude. I would definitely consider having a heart to heart with her. Her terrible attitude had us going to the Ocean Deck just to get drinks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. Located next door to Ocean Deck restaurant and beach club. Be advised that live music is being played nightly and may be of concern for some of our guests. Please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.