We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise at the Mayan Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Save Saved
You added Mayan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise at the Mayan Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had read so many negative reviews on here about this hotel and was a little worried about staying there. We booked a cheap last minute air/hotel package through Allegiant Air. We arrived early in the day on Thu and checked in with no problems to find we had been upgraded to a king ocean front room. The lobby area was bright, and clean the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor with a balcony and beautiful view of the beach and water. It had a king bed, flat screen Tv, pull out couch, mini fridge, and microwave. The bathroom had a shower/tub and toilet in a very small room. The small sink area was separate. It was also very clean and the cleaning staff does an excellent job. The hotel is a bit dated but the room was nice and certainly worth the great price we got. Also the location is great and close to the boardwalk, lots of good restaurants, and the Ocean Deck next door. The elevators are dirty, and they are very slow. The lounge is nice and was a great place to hang out and watch the college football games and meet other guests. The bartender was great. For the price, the location, and the great service we would stay at the Mayan Inn again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    39
    26
    61
See reviews for
70
44
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I went to Daytona Beach on Oct.26th thru the 28th and stayed at the Mayan Inn. I went for the Richard Petty ride-along. We have stayed there 4 times and were very pleased. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and we liked the rooms we stayed in. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away.Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed each room. The last 2 times we stayed on the 8th floor. It was a side view, but you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The staff is amazingly sweet. Don't be discouraged by bad reviews. You most definitely get what you pay for. They bumped us up to Ocean view no charge. We left a Hilton hotel to stay here and didn't regret it for one second.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed in this hotel 3 different occassions and when i was going again this year I almost blew the whole vacation by reading some aweful reviews that this hotel does not deserve. Just returned from 4 days it was as clean and comfortable as always. The service aone the pool great and the room as clean and roomy as always. The price is great and so is the location. Please if you need a great place with great service this is it. One note: breakfast could use some up grading.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for Oktoberfest Bike week, our phone didn't work, TV remote didn't work, bathroom tub was like surfing all bucket up, with under it,Stains on the curtains of god only knows,and step on a piece of small glass in the room... Our friends stayed next door and had to get a new Air-conditioner,also had killed several bugs in their room. Place needs a HUGE renovation!!!!!
Staff was the only nice accommodation they have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Mayan inn


What can I say!!?...... After all I read on trip advisor I was so paranoid about our stay for two nights at the weekend.....but I was amazed, happy and totally pleased with our stay.
We checked in no problem and had a front room with full ocean view (602) this room was clean, roomy, had a microwave and fridge and a good shower and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The housekeeper, Toni, was the best! She was always on the go and kept everywhere clean and during breakfast she was always there making sure we had plenty. She was helpful in every way and is a diamond :) the breakfast was continental and good basics of toast, cereal etc. we didn't go hungry.
Yes the hotel is old and well worn, but it is also well loved and if it was all refurbished and made plush then we would never be able to afford to stay here. It is not the Ritz and if that is what you want then it is not for you, but it is warm, friendly and a happy place to stay. The view from the balcony was awesome. We were there for Wings and Waves and my husband had a big smile on his face with the view. Only minor criticism is that the wifi was not so good. even reception couldn't help, but it wasn't too much of a problem, nice to switch off for a while. We will definitely be back next year and I cannot recommend this too highly to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer Tn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although the rooms are older and could be updated, they were clean. We had a beautiful view of the ocean with private balcony. The service was exceptional. When we arrived we wanted to change to a different room and that was handled with no problem and with the utmost courtesy. When we would leave or enter the inn, the front desk help always was friendly. Our maid service was top notch and extremely nice. We asked our maid for extra towels etc... she handled our request with courtesy and quickness. Again, very friendly staff here which is a nice change when dealing with people in customer service. The service here is above average!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. Located next door to Ocean Deck restaurant and beach club. ALERT - Currently undergoing renovations to exterior which may cause pool and bar closings. Alternative amenities will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.